Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2011, 08:11 PM   #1
ansabakhan
macrumors 65816
 
ansabakhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
how to load 4.2.1 without upgrading baseband?

i deleted every thing from my phone by doing ERASE ALL , not i am stuck on apple logo , by reading different threads i know i deleted my ios.

not i was on 4.0.2 with unlockable baseband , is there any way i can load 4.2.1on my phone without upgrading baseband?
ansabakhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2011, 08:42 PM   #2
Norcalchavo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Santa Clara, California
wondering the same thing, is there a way to upgrade to 4.2.1 without upgrading the 01.59.00 baseband?
Norcalchavo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2011, 08:43 PM   #3
hackthatphone
macrumors 68000
 
hackthatphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
You have to dfu restore to get out of that erase mode. Hope you have SHSHs on file for anything lower than 4.2.1. Restore to 4.1 or lower then come back up to 4.2.1 to save that baseband.
__________________
Writing Mac tutorials for the iPhone since June '07. http://modmyphone.us
hackthatphone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2011, 09:02 PM   #4
Gizmotoy
macrumors 6502a
 
Gizmotoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackthatphone View Post
then come back up to 4.2.1 to save that baseband.
That's the part he's asking for directions for. How to update to 4.2.1 without updating the baseband. Unfortunately OP, I don't have an answer for you.

I suspect this may still work, but I couldn't say for sure:
http://www.dkszone.net/update-ios-41...nd-15900-21004

Last edited by Gizmotoy; Feb 3, 2011 at 09:12 PM.
Gizmotoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2011, 09:35 PM   #5
eastercat
macrumors 68040
 
eastercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX
Using blobs to preserve bb only works for iphone4. Otherwise, you have to use custom firmware.
__________________
64 GB space grey iPhone 5S (AT&T); 16 GB space grey iPad retina mini (Verizon with T-Mobile sim); 2008 MBP 17" 2.5 GHz Penryn, 4GB RAM, 250GB HD 5400 rpm, 1920x1200 matte LED
eastercat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2011, 09:42 PM   #6
silverblack
macrumors 65816
 
silverblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimzotoy View Post
That's the part he's asking for directions for. How to update to 4.2.1 without updating the baseband. Unfortunately OP, I don't have an answer for you.
Go to his site (his signature) for detailed instructions on how to do it - hackthatphone
silverblack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2011, 10:43 PM   #7
hackthatphone
macrumors 68000
 
hackthatphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Appreciate that, but my newer jailbreak/unlock tutorials are members only, which is why I never post and link to those on forums. The great majority of my site is accessible to all however.
__________________
Writing Mac tutorials for the iPhone since June '07. http://modmyphone.us
hackthatphone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2011, 10:58 PM   #8
Shanewilliams
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1086025
__________________
16GB iPhone 4S(made it!);16GB Black iPhone 4(gone to a new home) iBook G4 1.2 1.25gb ram 250gb; Mid 2011 Mac Mini i5
Shanewilliams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 09:23 AM   #9
ansabakhan
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
ansabakhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shanewilliams View Post
I am not sure what SHSHs i have saved .. i installed cydia almost a month back , so i believe i might have 4.2.1 shsh saved altleast...but i didn't notice what SHSHs it showed me as saved so this is just a guess .... is it necessary for me to restore to 4.1 before jb 4.2.1 in order to have unlock baseband?

or should i wait for pwnage tool to release where they have the option of not upgrading the basband or it doesn't matter in my case ? as i have already deleted the ios and have to get in 4.1 or lower before any thing ?
ansabakhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 11:33 AM   #10
bripab007
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
First off, you should probably start following notcom on Twitter, as he's the creator of Tiny Umbrella: http://twitter.com/#!/notcom

He mentioned in a tweet earlier that he updated the instructions on his website on how to upgrade an iPhone 4 while preserving BB: http://thefirmwareumbrella.blogspot.com/
bripab007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 11:55 AM   #11
ansabakhan
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
ansabakhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bripab007 View Post
First off, you should probably start following notcom on Twitter, as he's the creator of Tiny Umbrella: http://twitter.com/#!/notcom

He mentioned in a tweet earlier that he updated the instructions on his website on how to upgrade an iPhone 4 while preserving BB: http://thefirmwareumbrella.blogspot.com/
on his instructions

http://thefirmwareumbrella.blogspot....nd-update.html

4. Plug in your device and save SHSH (make sure 4.2.1 SHSH were saved, if not don't bother continuing)


i m in DFU mode and i dont think i can save SHSH while its stuck in DFU due to 'erase all' i did on my phone
ansabakhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 02:56 PM   #12
coasterswim
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ansabakhan View Post
on his instructions

http://thefirmwareumbrella.blogspot....nd-update.html

4. Plug in your device and save SHSH (make sure 4.2.1 SHSH were saved, if not don't bother continuing)


i m in DFU mode and i dont think i can save SHSH while its stuck in DFU due to 'erase all' i did on my phone
Do you know your ECID or have you used TinyUmbrella before? You can either create a manual device with your ECID or select you device under Recent Devices and save all SHSH's without having to connect your phone.
__________________
27" 2012 iMac ― 13" 2.13 GHz Air ― 16GB Wi-Fi 3rd Gen iPad █ ― 64GB iPhone 5s █ (AT&T)
coasterswim is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 03:41 PM   #13
labman
macrumors 604
 
labman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mich near Detroit
Iclarified have some assume and free tutorials and YouTube has some great ones too if your the video type and again free.
__________________
IP4+Hackintosh Pro Joining AT&T PM me get $25 Dev-Teams Blog My TwitterCan I JB/UL my device Click here
labman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2011, 10:20 PM   #14
ansabakhan
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
ansabakhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
when i did ERASE ALL i was on 4.0.2 and now if i try restoring (with custom file) to get on 4.2.1 i get 1601 error ? cant i go to 4.2.1 ? as i dont have any iOS on my phone .. i am confused
ansabakhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2011, 10:28 PM   #15
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Give it a shot.
Follow this tutorials below:
Windows: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/comm...commentsanchor
Mac: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=13789
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 08:28 AM   #16
ansabakhan
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
ansabakhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
after i did earse all and stuck on apple logo , Umbrella is not detecting the type of device and its firmware, basically its not showing any device connected.

has any one else had any luck with reading SHSH after erase all ?
ansabakhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 09:17 AM   #17
lapocompris
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
What is the current (latest) base-band associed with i OS 4.2.1?
My current base-band under iOS 4.1 is 02.10.04, do I need to preserve it?
lapocompris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 09:47 AM   #18
Steven Jobson
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lapocompris View Post
What is the current (latest) base-band associed with i OS 4.2.1?
My current base-band under iOS 4.1 is 02.10.04, do I need to preserve it?
You can't unlock it so don't even bother continuing.
Steven Jobson is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: How can I update a 3GS with iOS5.1 to 6.1 without upgrading the baseband? Alvi Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 35 Feb 19, 2013 02:19 PM
iPhone: Using Sn0wbreeze to preserve baseband while upgrading 4.3.5 --> 6.1 bcblade Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Feb 7, 2013 09:08 AM
iPhone: Help Upgrading a Jailbroken iphone 3gs preserving baseband ! Vic-E Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 11 Jan 4, 2013 02:17 PM
iPhone: Upgrading iPhone 3GS to 5.1.1 Preserve Baseband benbense Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 17 Oct 29, 2012 02:43 AM
Can I unlock iPhone 4 baseband 04.10.01 when upgrading to 5.1.1 Paulhf Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Jun 19, 2012 08:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC