Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 4, 2011, 03:25 AM   #1
tom vilsack
macrumors 68000
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
mac mini 1.25 would i notice?

been wanting a mac mini for a while and scored a killer deal today...1.25,512 ram,40 gig hd,wifi (craigs and only $50! beat me why...thing is in mint cond)

it had leopard on it...and also partition of leopard dvd (if i want to reinstall)...was running pretty slow,so i figured maybe because past users stuff ect...so i ran leopard partition and did fresh install + all updates (1.5 gigs later) it was still pretty slow....

so i backed up leopard install partition (using carbon copy) and proceeded to to do a clean install of tiger...big difference now! faster and could get by as is for basic web daily use...

question is:

would changing 512 ram for 1 gig (the max it can use) and replacing the stock seagate 40 gig 5400 2mb harddrive with a 160 gig 5400 8mb make leopard run as well or better then this non upgraded tiger install?
tom vilsack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 03:48 AM   #2
Sirolway
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
IMHO ... no
Tiger will always run faster on that hardware than Leopard because it was designed for it. Leopard was designed for the sort of power that was available on brand new machines when it was released.

I have the same spec mini sitting on a shelf & you've just inspired me to reinstall Tiger & get it back in action. I upgraded it to Leopard while my Dad was using it, but it was pretty slow so I replaced it with an intel 2.0 mini
Sirolway is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 03:48 AM   #3
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Upgrading to 1GB RAM will definitely help, but Leopard is a bit slow on those G4s. An HDD upgrade might help too.
I had once Leopard on a 1GHz G4 with 1.25GB RAM and it was not fun. Tiger is faster on those machines.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 05:59 AM   #4
mabaker
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
There must be something wrong with your mac mini as Leo with a 1GHz+ processor should be able to run comfortably.

What exactly is slow to you?
__________________
„Integrated Intel graphics chip steals power from the CPU and siphons off memory from system-level RAM. You'd have to buy an extra card to get the graphics performance of Mac Mini [..]” - Apple.com
mabaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 06:03 AM   #5
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabaker View Post
There must be something wrong with your mac mini as Leo with a 1GHz+ processor should be able to run comfortably.

What exactly is slow to you?
It is the 512MB RAM I guess, at that Mac is barely touching the minimum system requirements.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 06:49 AM   #6
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
ok everybody has a different opinion about what is slow? and what is acceptable ?and what is fast ?
i have 3 eMac's 1.42's with 2gb ram and i tried leopard on one even bought that disc , and for me it was unacceptable slow , didn't offer classic so i went back to tiger which is now my operating system of choice for all my Mac's really , i find tiger has less flashy eye candy the leopard which in my opinion is just a waste of processing power

but you can make leopard faster ,if you are good in the terminal disable all of the eye candy in leopard
so in my opinion leopard is only good for a second partition if you need to sync your newer iphone or ipod
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 02:55 PM   #7
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
Overclock that mini to 1.5ghz (search for a how to) and max it out at 1gb ram. They go great!!!
I miss my old one...
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"
BUILDING: TB eGPU Sonnet Echo Express + GTX480
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 24" Sony PS3 3D display.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 03:32 PM   #8
tom vilsack
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabaker View Post
There must be something wrong with your mac mini as Leo with a 1GHz+ processor should be able to run comfortably.

What exactly is slow to you?
there is nothing wrong with machine....however the difference between leopard and tiger without upgrading ram and possibly harddrive is there...you can really notice it when using a web browser....

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
,if you are good in the terminal disable all of the eye candy in leopard
so in my opinion leopard is only good for a second partition if you need to sync your newer iphone or ipod
yes i did all the tweaks in terminal (least ones i know)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VanneDC View Post
Overclock that mini to 1.5ghz (search for a how to) and max it out at 1gb ram. They go great!!!
I miss my old one...
i will max out the ram and try leopard again...but as overclocking requires messing with solder...ill pass

http://www.lbodnar.dsl.pipex.com/macmini/

ps: here are some pics of it

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.
tom vilsack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 05:10 PM   #9
coupdetat
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Keep it on Tiger! Leopard on my 1.33ghz Powerbook feels like Tiger on my 700mhz iMac G4. Awesome deal, by the way.
coupdetat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 08:12 PM   #10
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
nah, there is no stuffing around with solder, as you can just flick the resistor off.. (however, if you stuff it up and remove the wrong resistor, then you /will/ have to re-solder them back on)

made a big diff when i had mine, and it ran stable for the whole 3 years that i had it..

also that drive will make a difference
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"
BUILDING: TB eGPU Sonnet Echo Express + GTX480
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 24" Sony PS3 3D display.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2011, 01:26 AM   #11
tom vilsack
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
upgraded to 1 gig tonight....very nice difference :-)

will continue to use tiger for now...
tom vilsack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2011, 04:23 AM   #12
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
guess your problem was ram.
In the other day a friend of mine lent me a core duo macbook with 1gb and tiger,the thing was sloooww,after putting 2x1Gb it doesn't even seem the same machine.
I believe 2x1Gb and leopard you would be fine
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2011, 04:36 AM   #13
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
PPC mac mini has a 1 gb ram limit.
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"
BUILDING: TB eGPU Sonnet Echo Express + GTX480
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 24" Sony PS3 3D display.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2011, 12:26 PM   #14
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
I can tell you from loads of PPC/Leo experience that the main thing holding you back is lack of RAM and a Core Image compatible GPU.

Leo needs a minimum of 2GB RAM to run smooth even though the system requirements say 1GB they mean as a minimum. So with 512MB you had half the minimum needed. As already mentioned though you can only go to 1GB on a PPC mini.

When it comes to GPU Leo really needs Core Image support and the PowerPC Mini has a Radeon 9200 which only supports Quartz Extreme. Quartz only handles simple stuff like expose or window minimizing. Core Image on the other hand is truly at the core of the OS and offloads most of the graphic work to the GPU. Quartz uses the GPU also but not in nearly as rigorous a way and the CI GPU's are also far more capable and faster.

My G4 Sawtooth (11 years old now) with a 1.8GHz G4, 2GB RAM and a Geforce 6200 which supports Core Image runs Leo great.

In my experience on PPC systems Tiger is only noticeably faster when you do not have at least 1GB RAM and Core Image support. On my setup Tiger is seriously only about 3-5% faster.

Last edited by zen.state; Feb 6, 2011 at 12:38 PM.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2011, 07:27 PM   #15
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
hm strange as it would indicate that leopard would have been quiet fast on my eMac 1.42 as it has a ati radeon 9600 which supports both quarz and core image , and it had full 2gb ram , but leopard was really slow ,about 25%slower then tiger and thats a optimistic guess it felt more like half the processing power was gone
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 03:28 PM   #16
tom vilsack
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
zen: great info..thxs

im gonna try a new harddrive in it today (samsung hm160
hc...160 gig 8mb) has more then double the rating of the old default (seagate ST940110A)...time to head out to local comp store...will update latter tonight on how it went.....

here are couple pics of it apart (was easier then i thought using http://www.ifixit.com/Device/Mac_mini_%28PowerPC%29


Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.
tom vilsack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 09:48 PM   #17
tom vilsack
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
all done...was a bit tricky holding main body and reconnecting bluetooth and wifi wires

so quiet now! and really does help overall performance...now what do i use 160 gigs for lol

reimaged tiger to first partition (made 3 partitions) and will try leopard on one of other partitions

so thats about it..ive now maxed out ram to 1 gig and installed this 160 gig samsung 8mb harddrive....think im good to go
tom vilsack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 09:58 PM   #18
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
hm strange as it would indicate that leopard would have been quiet fast on my eMac 1.42 as it has a ati radeon 9600 which supports both quarz and core image , and it had full 2gb ram , but leopard was really slow ,about 25%slower then tiger and thats a optimistic guess it felt more like half the processing power was gone
I cannot speak for emac performance as I have never owned one. My results though are certainly accurately described.

One thing I have noticed over the years is that Apple's consumer systems tend to not perform as well as powermacs even when the consumer systems have a faster bus and RAM.

Edit: Another thought about your video is that it only has 64MB VRAM. When it comes to Macs at least the VRAM is needed more for OS level stuff much more than any gaming you may do. My Geforce 6200 has 256MB VRAM and within 10 min. of a reboot at least 180MB of the 256MB is being consumed. When you combine Core Image, Core Video, Core Animation and Quartz Extreme in a single OS like 10.5+ is you need a crapload of VRAM. Even 128MB isn't enough and that is double what your eMac has.

Those are the only reasons I can think of that your results would be different than mine.

Last edited by zen.state; Feb 8, 2011 at 09:34 AM.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2011, 02:10 AM   #19
tom vilsack
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
ok i installed leopard to second partition i made....

-certainly more usable with this faster hd...still slower then tiger,but not a deal breaker....ill keep both on here now.

might be interesting to see what a ssd ide would be like to really improve speed,but thats over this projects budget...

pretty happy with the results and now have a more then usable ppc mini....

if interested (original mini was 1.25,512 ram,40 gig hd,bluetooth,wifi,cdrw) in really nice shape....
original mini cost $50 (just threw offers on craigs till i got a bite)
upgraded ram 1 gig pc 3200 $25 (again on craigs)
upgraded hd 160 samsung hm160hc $67 with tax (bought at local store in richmond/vancouver)
have all versions of osx so that helped....
tom vilsack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2011, 09:40 AM   #20
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
tom:

Great work on the mini. It's always satisfying to me to make a computer better. The key to being happy with this amazing older PowerPC hardware is to use it within it's means. The people who pee on PowerPC around here are trying to use 5+ year old computers for modern high demand needs.

Some are even sensless enough to equate a computers capability to how well it plays youtube videos. Sad I know..

I had a 1.25 mini myself for a little over a year and found it to be a great machine. I sold it to buy a G4 MDD.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Anyone notice some iOS 7 apps look ugly on iPad mini? Jason1978 iOS 7 23 Dec 30, 2013 11:33 PM
iPad Mini: What I Did Notice Right Away Between Mini Vs rMini Fissure iPad 2 Nov 17, 2013 07:59 PM
iPad Mini: Do you even notice the iPad mini has no Retina Display? Hello... iPad 62 Dec 12, 2012 03:09 PM
Notice some differences while upgrading 2012 Mac Mini vs 2011 Mac Mini albert1028 Mac mini 2 Nov 9, 2012 06:01 PM
Anyone notice their Mini get slower after adding Go Flex Desk Thunderbolt adapter? dvdchance Mac mini 0 Aug 24, 2012 11:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC