Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 5, 2011, 04:50 AM   #1
rssfed23
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
Facetime charges appearing on bill?

Hi guys,

Bit of a weird situation here - I've spent the last month in the USA from the UK, and naturally took my iPhone with me (..although with cellular data disabled and Skype fully updated!)

While out in the states, I Facetimed an American person from my iPhone 4 to their AT&T iPhone 4 - just to see if it worked really as never used the feature before!

I initiated the call using the facetime button while we were both connected to wifi, so by my understanding no GSM call should of been made and no minutes/calling charges used/incurred.

However, upon checking my O2 bill on my return, I see the following:

date time destination country code duration cost
12 Jan 11 13:31:36 07595****** USA 00:00:27 0.180
12 Jan 11 13:31:36 7802091*** USA 00:00:27 0.900
24 Jan 11 23:41:50 07595****** USA 00:00:14 0.090
24 Jan 11 23:41:50 7560895*** USA 00:00:14 0.900
24 Jan 11 23:42:52 07595****** USA 00:00:12 0.080
24 Jan 11 23:42:52 7560895*** USA 00:00:12 0.900

The 07595 number is my own mobile number! - I have never heard of the 7560 number before - couldn't find any reference of the sort in my phone book!

However, those times and dates correspond exactly with when I made a facetime video call, although each time the facetime call lasted many minutes!

My question is if anyone else has experienced similar charges to these? - Also if you look at the 2 different numbers apparently I made 2 outgoing calls at 13:31:36 for 27 seconds at exactly the same time - not sure how that one works!

No other calls appear on my bill (....that's why Skype was invented after all!)

Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts?

Thanks,
Rob
rssfed23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2011, 05:23 AM   #2
jdavtz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kenya
Give O2 a call, their customer services have been decent the few times I've contacted them.
__________________
iMac 27" i7 ('12), MBA 11" ('10), iMac 24" C2D ('08), BlackBook ('07), iMac G5 ('05)
Fuji X100, X-E2, 14, 35, 60
Hablo español
jdavtz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2011, 06:09 AM   #3
Mr Mot
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
To me, that looks like voicemail divert charges..

With your number being one of them and then a number you don't know, being your voicemail box number, that's my guess.

Did you disable VM before you went away?..
Mr Mot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2011, 12:25 PM   #4
rssfed23
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
Voicemail direction as in people calling myself?
I didn't receive any calls while away as had call forwarding enabled to a SkypeIn number.

It just baffles me that the calls are exactly the same date and time as the facetime calls are (going by the iphone call history)


I did call O2 - they said they would investigate the issue as they had no record of me making any outbound calls during that time and would get back to me - as the previous poster said they were very helpful and understanding as well!

£3 isnt much, but I will be going away a lot more soon due to work so don't want re-occurrences of it!
rssfed23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2011, 08:56 PM   #5
eastercat
macrumors 68040
 
eastercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX
IIRC, facetime initiates the call with phone charges, but I could be wrong.
__________________
64 GB space grey iPhone 5S (AT&T); 16 GB space grey iPad retina mini (Verizon with T-Mobile sim); 2014 rMBP 2.8 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Nvidia GeForce GT 750M
eastercat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2011, 09:19 PM   #6
CBR900RR
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Middle of Pacific
Send a message via ICQ to CBR900RR
I believe you can initial facetime with either a phone number (might cost money overseas) or with an email address.
__________________
Free FXsound ringtone
CBR900RR is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2011, 09:22 PM   #7
cootersgarage6
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
It's the Phone Company

It's the phone company trying to charge you... Because FaceTime can't even work over 3G... so you should talk to them about it. If they do't fix it, they can be charged with over charging!(:

Last edited by Doctor Q; Jul 25, 2011 at 07:41 PM.
cootersgarage6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2011, 09:58 PM   #8
weisjt
macrumors 6502a
 
weisjt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Pines, North Carolina
as far as i know i thought that when you face time it only uses wifi to transmit the video feed while it still uses normal phone services to make the phone call and audio. thats how i thought it worked but i could be completely wrong
weisjt is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Tags
bills, facetime, international

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: FaceTime calls all FaceTime ID's iOS 7 Komrad808 iOS 7 5 Sep 19, 2013 10:01 PM
AT&T Charges for FaceTime on Tiered? vt2067 iOS 6 2 Dec 25, 2012 03:05 PM
Can't use FaceTime, it's not appearing in settings. youradhere4222 iOS 6 2 Nov 10, 2012 12:59 PM
FaceTime calling machine where FaceTime isn't running WilliamLondon OS X 3 Oct 20, 2012 05:38 PM
AT&T CEO Acknowledges Rumors of Cellular FaceTime Charges, Says 'Too Early' to Discuss MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 192 Jul 19, 2012 01:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC