Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 6, 2011, 10:32 AM   #1
Mary22
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
G5 with power only using cinema display to macbook

I have a g5 that where power only turns on -- no chime. At this point, I just want to continue to use my 20" cinema display with my macbook. I thought maybe the powered up g5 would be a power source for the display, but not so. Any ideas? I'm not a techie. thx.
Mary22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2011, 10:38 AM   #2
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mary22 View Post
I have a g5 that where power only turns on -- no chime. At this point, I just want to continue to use my 20" cinema display with my macbook. I thought maybe the powered up g5 would be a power source for the display, but not so. Any ideas? I'm not a techie. thx.
You need a ADC-DVI adapter, and a Mini-DVI to DVI adapter (Apple made one, and I believe Dr. Bott still does).
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2011, 10:17 PM   #3
Mary22
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thanks. i have that tho and it worked fine when my g5 was working. but g5 only turns on and does not actually start (no chime). maybe i should just start asking about how to get the g5 working again. i tried a couple of things but no help. have you got any suggestions for me on that?
Mary22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 02:37 AM   #4
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
you need a mains powered dvi to adc adapter in order to get your cinema display to show something coming from your MacBook
DVI to ADC monitor adapter which allows Apple monitors featuring their proprietary ADC connector to be connected to any computer with a standard DVI port. The adapter is mains powered and also connects to the host computer's USB port. The image signal, power and USB are then all passed to the monitor via the ADC connector.
because the studio display gets its power from the adc

cost about 70 to 160 depending on shop
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.

Last edited by MacHamster68; Feb 7, 2011 at 03:00 AM.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2011, 12:10 PM   #5
Mary22
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
My monitor is different from what you displayed. It has a squid cord -- three cords. the base isn't see-through, it's metal. I got it with the G5 and I'm wondering if it's only good for that, which would really annoy me. thanks for any help.
Mary22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2011, 03:32 PM   #6
d88co88
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MN
Oh, you would only need a DVI adapter then for your MacBook, what version MacBook do you have? I'll point you to some links.
__________________
A bunch of Macs, some audio equipment, and an iPhone.
d88co88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2012, 01:42 AM   #7
hunter6690
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Try This

Try resseting the PRAM. My mac was doing the same thing and i reset the PRAM and did the chime and then i also think you should delete any new files. ( and i know there isnt viruses for mac)

Here is how to reset the PRAM:
1. Turn off your mac

2. Turn it on and quickly press these keys on your keyboard (Command, Option, P, and R)

3. Then it should reboot and do the startup chime

4. When it reboots release the keys

I hope i helped
hunter6690 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Cinema HD Display Power Adapter Makwak Mac Peripherals 8 Feb 2, 2014 10:36 AM
Any ADC Card will Power 23'' Cinema display SimonUK5 PowerPC Macs 17 Oct 11, 2013 09:38 PM
Best uninterruptible power supply (UPS) for MacBook Pro + Cinema Display? umbilical MacBook Pro 5 Jul 15, 2013 12:06 PM
23" Cinema HD Display power issues dulo117 Mac Peripherals 0 Jan 9, 2013 09:58 AM
LED Cinema Display power off? mobile23 Mac Peripherals 1 Jul 30, 2012 08:42 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC