Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 7, 2011, 08:11 AM   #1
neo179neo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Mac to PC Home Media Sharing???

I have mac mini in my living room connected to a drobo that has a lot of 720p/1080p Films & TV...

What i want to know is, is it possible to share these files to view through my PC upstairs that is connected to a 40" flat?

If yes, i know that wireless connections wont be able to handle the streaming, so can i create a wired connection using a product like this?

http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/netgea...38843-pdt.html

Have one upstairs connected to my router (which is then wired to my pc) and the other one downstairs connecting into my mac...

Would this work? Or would i need something else???

Would be very grateful if someone could help me!
neo179neo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 08:58 AM   #2
EvilC5
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hanover MD
you should be able to share your itunes library across your network no matter what platform (I think).

for the mac, you hold down the option key when launching itunes and can point it to another library, you can do the same on windows im sure.

I have the netgeat powerline adapter on my setup and it works great. you just cant plug it into any powwer strips or surge protectors, it has to go right into the wall. if they are on the same circuit, even better.

I get ~70mbps with it which is fast enough to have a couple of HD streams going.
__________________
24" iMac 2.8ghz, 17" MBP, 2.66 Mac Mini Server
2 i5 Mac Mini's, 15 inch MBP i7 2.66
2 160GB TV's 5 TV2. 16GB ipad2 white
iPhone 4, 4s, and 5.....the ihome!
EvilC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 09:18 AM   #3
waw74
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2008
to share the files, without iTunes, just to be able to access the folders and such, you need to turn on file sharing on the mac.

go to system prefrences -> sharing, then click options, and make sure "SMB (windows)" is checked.
then add the folders you want to share.
waw74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 09:21 AM   #4
EvilC5
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hanover MD
I guess I forgot to add the non-itunes answer as well...lol

SMB shares should work....
__________________
24" iMac 2.8ghz, 17" MBP, 2.66 Mac Mini Server
2 i5 Mac Mini's, 15 inch MBP i7 2.66
2 160GB TV's 5 TV2. 16GB ipad2 white
iPhone 4, 4s, and 5.....the ihome!
EvilC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 12:08 PM   #5
neo179neo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Yeah well all my files are mainly MKV's so there just stored on the drobo n i use plex to view my media...

So i can bridge the gap with those electric things and use xmbc or boxee on my pc to view files off the drobo...

in a nutshell?
neo179neo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 12:18 PM   #6
EvilC5
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hanover MD
I would think so....I can play mkv's from my mini to my dlna samsung or ps3, so i dont see why it wont work.
__________________
24" iMac 2.8ghz, 17" MBP, 2.66 Mac Mini Server
2 i5 Mac Mini's, 15 inch MBP i7 2.66
2 160GB TV's 5 TV2. 16GB ipad2 white
iPhone 4, 4s, and 5.....the ihome!
EvilC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 12:55 PM   #7
neo179neo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Ok so i got the electric netgear products and they work...

Have managed to access my mac and view its shared folders (My drobo and all me media)

The 720p Plays great... the 1080p Stuff is buggy... Im not an expert on networking systems and maybe this post isnt in the right thread anymore but what i want to know is...

How to solve this?

Can i give more bandwidth to the electric ports? Or do i need a more powerful router? Or anything else?

Ideas n advice would be massively welcomed!
neo179neo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 01:23 PM   #8
EvilC5
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hanover MD
did you install the netgear utility to measure speed across the powerline converters?

that would be a good place to start, or you can look at the middle light on it, if its yellow or green you shouldnt have problems, if its red, that means its running dog slow or theres an issue.


I would say anything above 50mbps "should" be fast enough to handle a 1080p stream....but thats just from my own observations.




Quote:
Originally Posted by neo179neo View Post
Ok so i got the electric netgear products and they work...

Have managed to access my mac and view its shared folders (My drobo and all me media)

The 720p Plays great... the 1080p Stuff is buggy... Im not an expert on networking systems and maybe this post isnt in the right thread anymore but what i want to know is...

How to solve this?

Can i give more bandwidth to the electric ports? Or do i need a more powerful router? Or anything else?

Ideas n advice would be massively welcomed!
__________________
24" iMac 2.8ghz, 17" MBP, 2.66 Mac Mini Server
2 i5 Mac Mini's, 15 inch MBP i7 2.66
2 160GB TV's 5 TV2. 16GB ipad2 white
iPhone 4, 4s, and 5.....the ihome!
EvilC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 02:05 PM   #9
neo179neo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Yeah ive been playing around with it... got a red light on... checked the speeds... its only receiving at about 37Mbps... have tried using the QOS to set the MAC address of my mac mini as priority... some 1080p streams are playing... slighty buggy ever so often... some are still very buggy...

how can i improve the speed? Could it be my router?
neo179neo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 02:18 PM   #10
EvilC5
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hanover MD
its probably the wiring in your home....im sure the speed from the router to the drobo is fast. the bottleneck is the powerline adapter. they say it can get speeds of 200mbps, but thats if and only if you are connecting them on the same circuit within your electrical panel. so age, material, interference, etc will bring the speed down.

you could get a nice long piece of CAT6E and connect it from your router to your mini, or relocate your mini by the router and connect it to a monitor or tv there and see if you get problems still. that will rule out the router, drobo, and mini.

my home is fairly new, and im going across 3 different circuits and getting ~70-80mbps, sometimes faster, sometimes slower. i guess it depends on if the microwave or dryer is on...lol




Quote:
Originally Posted by neo179neo View Post
Yeah ive been playing around with it... got a red light on... checked the speeds... its only receiving at about 37Mbps... have tried using the QOS to set the MAC address of my mac mini as priority... some 1080p streams are playing... slighty buggy ever so often... some are still very buggy...

how can i improve the speed? Could it be my router?
__________________
24" iMac 2.8ghz, 17" MBP, 2.66 Mac Mini Server
2 i5 Mac Mini's, 15 inch MBP i7 2.66
2 160GB TV's 5 TV2. 16GB ipad2 white
iPhone 4, 4s, and 5.....the ihome!
EvilC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 02:37 PM   #11
neo179neo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
I dont really know much about networking...

I just try different things n see what happens...

This is my router...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/NETGEAR-Rang...7280041&sr=8-2

And the plug n play are upto 500Mbps...

My mini is downstairs n connects via wifi to the internet and aswell now through the ethernet... can you change the settings around so it will only use lets say the wireless to connect to the internet and the wired for a computer to computer network?
neo179neo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 02:46 PM   #12
neo179neo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
If only i could squeeze a few more Mbps out then itd be fine... its just the tiny bit buggy... so frustrating!!!
neo179neo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 03:05 PM   #13
EvilC5
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hanover MD
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo179neo View Post
I dont really know much about networking...

I just try different things n see what happens...

This is my router...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/NETGEAR-Rang...7280041&sr=8-2

And the plug n play are upto 500Mbps...

My mini is downstairs n connects via wifi to the internet and aswell now through the ethernet... can you change the settings around so it will only use lets say the wireless to connect to the internet and the wired for a computer to computer network?
I suppose you could, but there would be no point because the wifi goes to the same place the wired does.

802.11G does speeds around 100mbps in perfect conditions, N is faster, but again in perfect conditions. the nice thing about N is that you can run in the 5GHZ spectrum alone where its not as saturated by other 2.4ghz signals.

all this said, wired, you have to deal with the house wiring, and wireless you have to deal with interference from the house. so more or less, the probably lies with the structure.
__________________
24" iMac 2.8ghz, 17" MBP, 2.66 Mac Mini Server
2 i5 Mac Mini's, 15 inch MBP i7 2.66
2 160GB TV's 5 TV2. 16GB ipad2 white
iPhone 4, 4s, and 5.....the ihome!
EvilC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 03:13 PM   #14
neo179neo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
So if i upgraded the router to something like this...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Netgear-Rang...7282083&sr=8-2

It wouldnt make a difference???
neo179neo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2011, 07:11 AM   #15
EvilC5
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hanover MD
it should, but I would make sure that its not something else before throwing more money at it.

what is the total distance between the mini and existing router? like if you were to walk from one to the other.
__________________
24" iMac 2.8ghz, 17" MBP, 2.66 Mac Mini Server
2 i5 Mac Mini's, 15 inch MBP i7 2.66
2 160GB TV's 5 TV2. 16GB ipad2 white
iPhone 4, 4s, and 5.....the ihome!
EvilC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2011, 09:07 AM   #16
neo179neo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Literally down the stairs n into the living room... i dont have a big house...

Yeah i could test with a cable just to see but actually getting a cable permanently connected isnt an option...

I know my current router isnt the greater... just thought something with that little extra oomph might dot he trick...
neo179neo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2011, 10:00 AM   #17
EvilC5
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hanover MD
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo179neo View Post
Literally down the stairs n into the living room... i dont have a big house...

Yeah i could test with a cable just to see but actually getting a cable permanently connected isnt an option...

I know my current router isnt the greater... just thought something with that little extra oomph might dot he trick...
if you plan to run wired (probably least chance of signal degradation), then dont spend money on a new wireless router. the wired part of it is till gig-e im sure.


drag a cable down to it and test, and if its better, then thats the issue. you can take back the powerline kit and run a wire thru the walls....
__________________
24" iMac 2.8ghz, 17" MBP, 2.66 Mac Mini Server
2 i5 Mac Mini's, 15 inch MBP i7 2.66
2 160GB TV's 5 TV2. 16GB ipad2 white
iPhone 4, 4s, and 5.....the ihome!
EvilC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Mini as a home media centre (with Plex) questions karansaraf Mac mini 12 Jan 5, 2014 10:19 AM
Home Media Sharing: Hackintosh vs Freenas vs Reuse MBP lulgle Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Dec 21, 2013 02:29 PM
Mac Pro 1,1 for home media server? scca325is Mac Pro 28 Nov 18, 2013 12:10 PM
Problems sharing screen on office mac from mac at home jkaz Mac Basics and Help 0 Jul 4, 2013 12:52 PM
iTunes Home Sharing, Mac to PC? dbaze540i Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Nov 3, 2012 02:22 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC