Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 8, 2011, 09:42 PM   #1
stirred
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

So I thought all was going well with my new HD install; however, upon OS install, i got stuck on the Install Mac OS X- select the disk where you want to install MAC OS X page... There are no options available... Any thoughts on what may have gone wrong?

Under utilities, the new HD is recognized...

Thanks!
stirred is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2011, 09:46 PM   #2
alust2013
macrumors 68040
 
alust2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the fence
Go into the disk utility and format the drive to HFS+, and it should show up as an option.
__________________
a computer with some GHz and a few GB, some stuff to play music.
-witty comment here-
alust2013 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2011, 09:48 PM   #3
zenio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by alust2013 View Post
Go into the disk utility and format the drive to HFS+, and it should show up as an option.
+1. Yep that'll do it
zenio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2011, 09:51 PM   #4
stirred
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

In disk utilit, should I go to erase, format options? (ie mac is extended etc)

Last edited by stirred; Feb 8, 2011 at 09:53 PM.
stirred is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2011, 09:54 PM   #5
alust2013
macrumors 68040
 
alust2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the fence
Quote:
Originally Posted by stirred View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

In disk utility, I don't see the format options...
They are in the Partition tab.
__________________
a computer with some GHz and a few GB, some stuff to play music.
-witty comment here-
alust2013 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2011, 10:00 PM   #6
stirred
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Ok.. So the volume scheme confused.. 1 partition, correct? Forgive my ignorance! lol... I thought this WD 1tb drive would be a plug and play!!!!!
stirred is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2011, 10:11 PM   #7
alust2013
macrumors 68040
 
alust2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the fence
Quote:
Originally Posted by stirred View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Ok.. So the volume scheme confused.. 1 partition, correct? Forgive my ignorance! lol... I thought this WD 1tb drive would be a plug and play!!!!!
Yep, just one partition
__________________
a computer with some GHz and a few GB, some stuff to play music.
-witty comment here-
alust2013 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2011, 10:12 PM   #8
stirred
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Just slapped myself.. lol.. Thanks guys!
stirred is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
16 GB RAM Upgrades for New MacBook Pros Now Available MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 127 Mar 20, 2013 03:49 PM
Old Apple HD Cinema Display on Macbook Pro? veo321 MacBook Pro 3 Sep 26, 2011 08:14 PM
What is highest-capacity internal HD for 2007 Macbook Pro? dudleybrooks MacBook Pro 6 May 7, 2011 05:06 PM
Snow leopard upgrade for new MacBook Pro AdamLikesMusic Buying Tips and Advice 1 Jul 14, 2009 06:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC