Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 10, 2011, 06:01 PM   #1
redvettez06
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Too good to be true?

I was casually browsing CL this afternoon and stumbled on this "2 month old" iMac 21.5' i3 for $620 (weird number, huh?). I was originally waiting until this summer to buy a 27" not that I really needed one that big but because I would like it Anyways, this piqued my interest and the price seems really good. For those of you who have bought used macs...what should I look out for (serial number, etc.). Is there a way to check if it is hot or not? Any other tips?

Here's the listing (don't swoop in on me )

http://anchorage.craigslist.org/sys/2203390011.html
redvettez06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2011, 06:45 PM   #2
ngenerator
macrumors 68000
 
ngenerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USG Ishimura
Don't do it, this is an email I got back from another "two month old" i3 seller in the Milwaukee, WI area:

Quote:
Originally Posted by douchey craigslist seller
Hi, I am getting back to you regarding the 21.5-inch iMac from Craigslist
>
> My name is Arianna and I am now in Wolverhampton, United Kingdom.
> I am selling the iMac for $600 USD. I have attached some pics with it to this email.
> The iMac is still available and I hope you are still interested. The iMac was bought brand new from Apple a couple of months ago.
> About the iMac I can say it's in perfect shape, as I used it only for a few weeks. Included in the $600 price is everything that came with the iMac.
> The iMac is here with me.
> I tried to be as thorough as I could with the presentation so you can have all the info if you decide to go ahead and buy it.
>
> Please get back to me and let me know if you like the iMac if you're really interested in buying it.
>
> Thanks,
> Arianna
If anything, just string them along with bs emails, asking specifics, like what are the physical dimensions of the processor in centimeters, decibel levels of the screen, speakers, etc. The best way to get back at them is to waste their time. Or send them a virus, but only if it turns out to be a scammer
__________________
4 // Itchy. Tasty.
ngenerator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2011, 06:50 PM   #3
redvettez06
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Ah.....I figured as much. Occasionally people are desperate or really don't understand the resale value of Macs (especially if they have resold PCs) so I figured I'd give it a looksey. I will proceed with caution. Thanks!
redvettez06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2011, 06:52 PM   #4
MacDawg
Demi-God (Moderator)
 
MacDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: "Between the Hedges"
The rule of thumb always
If it sounds too good to be true... it is

Caveat Emptor
Buyer Beware
MacDawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2011, 06:53 PM   #5
ngenerator
macrumors 68000
 
ngenerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USG Ishimura
My brother lives near Anchorage too, and he's also in the market for a Mac, probably an Air. He'll probably wait till he visits in July to buy it, then take it back up with him. He took one look at craigslist postings around there and laughed. Plus, he doesn't really know what he's looking for, so he needs his big brother's help, lol.
__________________
4 // Itchy. Tasty.
ngenerator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2011, 07:00 PM   #6
jbrenn
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Its a scam warranty is spelled wrong.
jbrenn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2011, 07:36 PM   #7
redvettez06
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ngenerator View Post
My brother lives near Anchorage too, and he's also in the market for a Mac, probably an Air. He'll probably wait till he visits in July to buy it, then take it back up with him. He took one look at craigslist postings around there and laughed. Plus, he doesn't really know what he's looking for, so he needs his big brother's help, lol.
Your brother knows an Apple Store is coming here this fall right?
redvettez06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2011, 08:26 PM   #8
dh2005
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Anybody called 'Arianna' living in Wolverhampton, selling an iMac for £400 and writing in broken English is an Eastern European prostitute mixed-up in organised crime... or maybe just an Eastern European crime lord pretending to be a prostitute. For yuks.

iMacs cost lots of money. Even used ones. If an iMac's nearly-new and going cheap, it's either stolen or simply doesn't exist.

Craigslist. T'chuh...
__________________
13" early-2011 MacBook Pro (2.3GHz i5, 128GB SSD, 8GB RAM)
dh2005 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 04:05 AM   #9
ngenerator
macrumors 68000
 
ngenerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USG Ishimura
Quote:
Originally Posted by redvettez06 View Post
Your brother knows an Apple Store is coming here this fall right?
I think his version of "near Anchorage" could very well consist of an 8 hour round trip to the city
__________________
4 // Itchy. Tasty.
ngenerator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 12:28 PM   #10
redvettez06
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ngenerator View Post
Don't do it, this is an email I got back from another "two month old" i3 seller in the Milwaukee, WI area:



If anything, just string them along with bs emails, asking specifics, like what are the physical dimensions of the processor in centimeters, decibel levels of the screen, speakers, etc. The best way to get back at them is to waste their time. Or send them a virus, but only if it turns out to be a scammer
LOL, I got the same email this morning.
redvettez06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 02:58 PM   #11
ngenerator
macrumors 68000
 
ngenerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USG Ishimura
Quote:
Originally Posted by redvettez06 View Post
LOL, I got the same email this morning.
Step one: ask how big of a hard drive the PS3 that she's selling has
__________________
4 // Itchy. Tasty.
ngenerator is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Friend wants to buy "Canon EOS 450D Digital Rebel XSi Package," too good to be true? Krafty Buying Tips and Advice 10 Apr 16, 2009 09:11 AM
I found this site to buy cameras. Too good to be true? ghking Digital Photography 9 Sep 7, 2008 12:39 PM
Good deal, or too good to be true? Pumpkin King Buying Tips and Advice 6 Oct 12, 2007 08:06 AM
Too good to be true? but is true? wako Buying Tips and Advice 18 Jun 3, 2006 10:56 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Privacy / DMCA contact / Affiliate and FTC Disclosure
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC