Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 11, 2011, 05:42 PM   #1
lPHONE
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Wink Apparently, Apple is now blocking jailbroken/unlocked phones from being restored-1015

I've been doing some research on error 1015- and I have concluded that Apple is trying to brick our phones. Sure, the Apple docs say 1015 is an error you get when trying to downgrade firmware, but I'm finding another story...

Apparently, a lot of people with jailbroken phones have been getting error 1015 from iTunes when they try to do a clean install of IOS from DFU or Recovery Mode... I new it would only be a matter of time until Apple started hacking the hackers.

And now it's happening to me.
lPHONE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 05:55 PM   #2
chr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Cool conspiracy theory, dude, but you're just being ignorant.

It's an error generated when you've edited your hosts file--if you didn't edit it, then it's because you've used TinyUmbrella to preserve your shsh and it edited it.

You can use TinyUmbrella to kick the phone out of recovery or manually edit your hosts file and remove (or comment out) the line pointing to gs.apple.com
chr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 05:56 PM   #3
Kadin
macrumors 6502a
 
Kadin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by lPHONE View Post
I've been doing some research on error 1015- and I have concluded that Apple is trying to brick our phones. Sure, the Apple docs say 1015 is an error you get when trying to downgrade firmware, but I'm finding another story...

Apparently, a lot of people with jailbroken phones have been getting error 1015 from iTunes when they try to do a clean install of IOS from DFU or Recovery Mode... I new it would only be a matter of time until Apple started hacking the hackers.

And now it's happening to me.
If you're getting the 1015 error from an attempt at a fresh install/restore then you've got a software/baseband mismatch issue going on. For example if your baseband right now is 6.15.00 and try to do a simple restore, it's gonna get stuck in recovery mode with that error. This is nothing new.
Kadin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 05:57 PM   #4
Benji222
macrumors 65816
 
Benji222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: So Cal
Send a message via AIM to Benji222 Send a message via Skype™ to Benji222
snip
__________________
iPhone 4, 32GB, iOS5b1 jb.
Benji222 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 05:59 PM   #5
lPHONE
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iphone
"My iPhone's broke. Apple pawn3d me."
Quote:
Originally Posted by chr View Post
"no, you're just being ignorant."

thanks... i guess.

Last edited by lPHONE; Feb 11, 2011 at 06:08 PM.
lPHONE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:03 PM   #6
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
quite the leap you made op when you encounter difficulty and instantly think apple is out to get ya lol
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:05 PM   #7
lPHONE
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukebound85 View Post
quite the leap you made op when you encounter difficulty and instantly think apple is out to get ya lol
that's just me being ignorant.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kadin View Post
If you're getting the 1015 error from an attempt at a fresh install/restore then you've got a software/baseband mismatch issue going on. For example if your baseband right now is 6.15.00 and try to do a simple restore, it's gonna get stuck in recovery mode with that error. This is nothing new.
Is there a solution?
lPHONE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:09 PM   #8
lPHONE
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
edit double post
lPHONE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:09 PM   #9
zenio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chr View Post
Cool conspiracy theory, dude, but you're just being ignorant.
Your approach is very revealing of who you are...

Take a look in the mirror
zenio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:20 PM   #10
Kayan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenio View Post
Your approach is very revealing of who you are...

Take a look in the mirror
The mirror points in your direction too
Kayan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:23 PM   #11
starsmiiles
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
I just recently had this problem, only my error was 1013. If you remove all the lines containing "gs.apple.com" in your host file, it should work fine.
starsmiiles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:24 PM   #12
Kadin
macrumors 6502a
 
Kadin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by lPHONE View Post
Is there a solution?
Well typically you have to update the software with a custom .ipsw which doesn't update the baseband. One can be created via Pwnage Tool or found online...
Kadin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:25 PM   #13
Crystal-RX
macrumors 68030
 
Crystal-RX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by lPHONE View Post
that's just me being ignorant.


Is there a solution?
Use Tiny Umbrella to kick it out of recovery mode and your phone will be updated with the firmware you install.
Crystal-RX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:33 PM   #14
chr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lPHONE View Post
that's just me being ignorant.


Is there a solution?
Did you read my post? I explained the solution.
chr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 06:42 PM   #15
Synergie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Halifax, Canada
Yup I had a similar error when I upgraded to 4.2.1 from 4.1 JB with Limera1n. Except that I got 1013 Unknown Error. It only took me about 15 mins of research to find out about the checkbox in Tiny Umbrella in the advanced tab that allowed the hosts file to point to cydia. Unchecking that and reloading iTunes solved it.

Think about it... if Apple bricked phones that people paid for, that would be illegal I think! Apple does not own the device once you buy it! They may try to stop exploits because of security risks, but in reality I don't think they want to stop jailbreaking completely... because they'd lose a TON of customers (myself included) who feel that the iphone in it's native state is a piece of useless iCrap that needs to be jailbroken just to make it do things that other smartphones do by default!! If jailbreaking were ever completely stopped for good, I'd be gone... probably to Android at this point in time.
__________________
My iToyz: 13" MBP (2.9 GHz Ci7, 8Gb RAM; 500Gb Hybrid HDD; OSX Mavericks) 1Tb Time Capsule iPhone5s 32Gb Space Grey iPad Mini Retina 32Gb Space Grey WiFi
Synergie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2011, 02:01 AM   #16
murdercitydevil
macrumors 68000
 
murdercitydevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: california
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synergie View Post
Yup I had a similar error when I upgraded to 4.2.1 from 4.1 JB with Limera1n. Except that I got 1013 Unknown Error. It only took me about 15 mins of research to find out about the checkbox in Tiny Umbrella in the advanced tab that allowed the hosts file to point to cydia. Unchecking that and reloading iTunes solved it.

Think about it... if Apple bricked phones that people paid for, that would be illegal I think! Apple does not own the device once you buy it! They may try to stop exploits because of security risks, but in reality I don't think they want to stop jailbreaking completely... because they'd lose a TON of customers (myself included) who feel that the iphone in it's native state is a piece of useless iCrap that needs to be jailbroken just to make it do things that other smartphones do by default!! If jailbreaking were ever completely stopped for good, I'd be gone... probably to Android at this point in time.
They don't own the device but they own the software and no software = no device. Still, Apple isn't hacking anyone.
__________________
15" High-Res Anti-Glare Macbook Pro, 2.66 GHz Core i7, 8GB RAM, nVidia 330M 512MB, 120GB Vertex 2
iPhone 4 32GB
Please search before you PM me about Wallpapers/Icons/Themes/etc!
murdercitydevil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2011, 08:21 AM   #17
Aatos.1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by starsmiiles View Post
I just recently had this problem, only my error was 1013. If you remove all the lines containing "gs.apple.com" in your host file, it should work fine.
+1

One can always outsmart Apple if you are a good hacker.

The fanboys can live in denial that Apple is sinister...ha..ha...ha...
Aatos.1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2011, 11:19 AM   #18
nebo1ss
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
As somone else already correctly pointed out this is caused by your host file being edited by Tiny Umbella.

There are more and more threads on this topic every day and personally I think Notcom made a bad decision to edit the host file on exit from Tiny umbrella.

No matter how many times you put your host file back to normal Tiny umbrella will edit it again the next time you run it.

The only permanent fix to this is to go into tiny umbrella and select advance mode and uncheck the box that says change host file to cydia on exit, when you close TU it
will normalise your host file.

It might help a few from accidentally updating their baseband on ip4 but it is preventing those that want to do a standard restore from apple.

I found that even after making this change and unchecking the box if you leave TU open your host file is modified until you close it again.
nebo1ss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2011, 11:29 AM   #19
imac9556
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebo1ss View Post
As somone else already correctly pointed out this is caused by your host file being edited by Tiny Umbella.

There are more and more threads on this topic every day and personally I think Notcom made a bad decision to edit the host file on exit from Tiny umbrella.

No matter how many times you put your host file back to normal Tiny umbrella will edit it again the next time you run it.

The only permanent fix to this is to go into tiny umbrella and select advance mode and uncheck the box that says change host file to cydia on exit, when you close TU it
will normalise your host file.

It might help a few from accidentally updating their baseband on ip4 but it is preventing those that want to do a standard restore from apple.

I found that even after making this change and unchecking the box if you leave TU open your host file is modified until you close it again.
+1 +1 +1 +1
You are absolutely right... I had to send back my iPhone 4 to Apple and completely clear out/restore my phone. I kept on getting error 1013's or whatever after the restore was complete.
That was until I remembered to UNcheck the box about change the host file under TinyUmbrella's advanced settings. It even says UNcheck if you want a "clean restore"
After I did that, I clicked restore again and everything went through smoothly
imac9556 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2011, 11:46 AM   #20
starsmiiles
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebo1ss View Post
As somone else already correctly pointed out this is caused by your host file being edited by Tiny Umbella.

There are more and more threads on this topic every day and personally I think Notcom made a bad decision to edit the host file on exit from Tiny umbrella.

No matter how many times you put your host file back to normal Tiny umbrella will edit it again the next time you run it.

The only permanent fix to this is to go into tiny umbrella and select advance mode and uncheck the box that says change host file to cydia on exit, when you close TU it
will normalise your host file.

It might help a few from accidentally updating their baseband on ip4 but it is preventing those that want to do a standard restore from apple.

I found that even after making this change and unchecking the box if you leave TU open your host file is modified until you close it again.
I wish I would have known this! I didn't realize TU altered the host file and routed it to Cydia. Thanks for point it out!
starsmiiles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2011, 11:46 AM   #21
Mystikal
macrumors 68020
 
Mystikal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Irvine, CA
Send a message via AIM to Mystikal
Quote:
Originally Posted by chr View Post
Cool conspiracy theory, dude, but you're just being ignorant.

It's an error generated when you've edited your hosts file--if you didn't edit it, then it's because you've used TinyUmbrella to preserve your shsh and it edited it.

You can use TinyUmbrella to kick the phone out of recovery or manually edit your hosts file and remove (or comment out) the line pointing to gs.apple.com
Also, DFU mode can be your friend.
Mystikal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2011, 12:20 PM   #22
kre62
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
In case anyone wants to actually know why this is happening, it's because iTunes tries to sign your baseband at the end of the install. Cydia can't save baseband signatures, so if it tries to go out and get the sig, and you have it redirected to Cydia through your hosts file, it cant get the sig and fails. Nothing to do with jailbreaking.
kre62 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2011, 12:39 PM   #23
upaymeifixit
macrumors 6502a
 
upaymeifixit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
It's not that hard a fix. Follow the guide in my signature.
upaymeifixit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 03:13 PM   #24
lPHONE
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
OK, I just tried to restore & update on a brand new pc with a fresh copy of iTunes and STILL get 1015. If Apple is not blocking the restore, then what?
lPHONE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 03:32 PM   #25
kmpoboy2
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Quote:
Originally Posted by lPHONE View Post
OK, I just tried to restore & update on a brand new pc with a fresh copy of iTunes and STILL get 1015. If Apple is not blocking the restore, then what?
What phone are you triying to restore? Model?, iOS?, Baseband?
kmpoboy2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Essentially all Non commitment phones from APPLE are unlocked note235 iPhone 7 Sep 22, 2012 05:09 PM
Unlocked Phones at Apple Store in AM? IpadMania iPhone 14 Sep 21, 2012 02:01 AM
Apple release pricing for unlocked phones cableguy619 iPhone 2 Sep 13, 2012 10:33 PM
Restored, hackivated, jailbroken, unlocked, but no service and unable to restore babotofu iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Sep 12, 2012 06:36 PM
iPhone: Restored a jailbroken iphone 3gs.. stuck on the apple logo, what do I do from here? mbarrett001 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Jul 11, 2012 11:08 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC