Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 14, 2011, 08:59 AM   #1
Chansenj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Unhappy imac powerpc G5 problem

Does anybody know what's going on here? This is the G5 model just before the one with the built-in camera, it's probably about 5 and a half years old now.

This is if I'm lucky and am able to boot it up in safe mode. Also I can only see this if I'm putting it through my LCD tv....meaning I can't see anything on my monitor at all! I've opened up the back and all the capacitors are fine. The bootup chimes chime but then it comes up with this. If I don't use safe mode it comes up with a purple screen. I've also done the hardware / system checks with the LEDs in the back and the three that should light up, light up! I am totally confused!

I want to just buy a new one, but my wife is insisting I find out whether we can get this one fixed first....

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mac2.JPG
Views:	63
Size:	45.6 KB
ID:	271340  

Last edited by Chansenj; Feb 14, 2011 at 09:15 AM. Reason: Information I forgot to put in
Chansenj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2011, 09:33 AM   #2
DSPalpatine
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Just to clarify- it boots fine, but then the display on the iMac itself isn't working and when you try to drive an external monitor, you get this on your external display, correct?

My vote is a failing/failed video card. The video card is soldered onto the logic board, so replacement isn't really an option. You could -try- blowing dust out of it if it's clogged, but otherwise, not too much else you can really do.

You could try to run the diagnostics disc that came with the computer to see if perhaps you can isolate a bad component, but your problems seem display-oriented.

Blown caps usually results in booting issues. Since your machine boots fine, but then has a messed up display, and given that you've done a visual inspection, you could probably rule out that as a problem.

I think you can safely tell your wife that this iMac is destined for the great recycling bin in the sky (or at your local electronics retailer).
__________________
MacBook (white) 2.0 GHz C2D, 4 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, Nvidia 9400m; 17" G5 iMac 2.0 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HD; 16 GB iPhone 3GS (black); 80GB iPod Classic (black)
DSPalpatine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2011, 09:45 AM   #3
Chansenj
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSPalpatine View Post
Just to clarify- it boots fine, but then the display on the iMac itself isn't working and when you try to drive an external monitor, you get this on your external display, correct?

My vote is a failing/failed video card. The video card is soldered onto the logic board, so replacement isn't really an option. You could -try- blowing dust out of it if it's clogged, but otherwise, not too much else you can really do.

You could try to run the diagnostics disc that came with the computer to see if perhaps you can isolate a bad component, but your problems seem display-oriented.

Blown caps usually results in booting issues. Since your machine boots fine, but then has a messed up display, and given that you've done a visual inspection, you could probably rule out that as a problem.

I think you can safely tell your wife that this iMac is destined for the great recycling bin in the sky (or at your local electronics retailer).
Thanks for the reply.
It boots only in safe mode, and actually I've noticed when I look really hard at the computer display I can faintly make out, although very dimmly, what is being displayed on the TV.

I think it's time for a new one anyway since apple stopped supporting OSX tiger for PowerPCs a while ago! I can't even get itunes 10!
Chansenj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2011, 09:50 AM   #4
walterwhite
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: South Central PA
Send a message via Yahoo to walterwhite
Bad Video Card... Get your data off of it and get a new or different Mac that works... This one will be expensive to fix
__________________
 Mac PRO 2006  MacBook Pro(a few)  MacBook  PowerBooks  Apple TV 1st Gen  MacMini Server  Gateway PC, XP 
walterwhite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2011, 10:25 AM   #5
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
+1 on the GPU
there are still parts inside that can be made into cash , not much but ..every little helps , the optical drive, the speakers , the hdd(if you dont want to keep it ) the powersupply,even the ambient light sensor , the case if its in good nick ( the single parts bring likely more then the whole lot ), should bring you half way towards a PowerMac G5 dual processor model which at least runs leopard just fine and itunes 10 runs under leopard
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2011, 05:40 PM   #6
rtrt
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
how good are you at diy on computers......

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...6#post11926466
rtrt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2011, 10:20 PM   #7
Chansenj
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thanks for the link, but I'm probably about as good at comp DIY as I am at walking on water!

Thanks to everyone for your advice! We've decided to buy a new iMac. I live in Japan, so the prices are pretty damn reasonable.
Chansenj is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac Powerpc G5 8,2 jlrathke PowerPC Macs 7 Dec 20, 2013 10:27 PM
PowerPC iMac G5 Gaming problem Warrior2K17 PowerPC Macs 5 Nov 5, 2013 01:32 AM
PowerPC iMac g5 Krlscaballero PowerPC Macs 3 Aug 23, 2013 08:23 AM
Transfer data between PowerPC iMac and late 2012 iMac BA Baracus iMac 4 May 25, 2013 05:38 PM
PowerPC G4 (7447A) iMac chibiterasu PowerPC Macs 5 Dec 16, 2012 07:05 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC