Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 15, 2011, 04:48 PM   #1
Hexakosioi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
What is wrong with my Internet: "Server not found"?

Everything was just fine yesterday until midnight, when I got back home Internet browsers could not connect to servers (Firefox, Safari & Google Chrome). I just keep getting "Server not found". I'm on wireless connection. I've restarted both laptop & router multiple times. I then tried connecting through ethernet, still nothing.

I called my ISP early morning today, I was on the phone with him for 15 min and he was more puzzeled than I. As he detects Internet traffic from my place and it shows that I am connected.

I was however able to use Skype perfectly with excellent connection.

I also typed http://74.125.43.106/ in the address bar, and Google succesfully loaded. So I am connected apperantly, I donnu whats up. I reald somewhere it could be a DNS issue, therefore you could flush it or something. I did that, yet no progress.

I am using a MacBook Pro OS X 10.6.5

Oh on a side note, there was a somewhat strong wind storm last night I thought that could have the cause of connection loss, but I kinda doubt it.

Any help?

Last edited by Hexakosioi; Feb 15, 2011 at 04:49 PM. Reason: Spelling
Hexakosioi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2011, 05:00 PM   #2
Hexakosioi
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
DNS settings

I just tried opening a radio app on my laptop I have, and thought I'd see how it would respond, I clicked on a station and it said "a domain could not be resolved. Please make sure your DNS settings are correct"

So I guess it is a DNS issue? What should I do?
Hexakosioi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2011, 05:26 PM   #3
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Try changing your DNS Servers (System Preferences -> Network) to 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 (Google DNS) or 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220 (OpenDNS). They may be more reliable than your ISP's, and will at least help you diagnose this issue.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2011, 08:31 PM   #4
Hexakosioi
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I've tried all of the above still no success.

I tried this command I found : sudo changeip -checkhostname

and I got a command not found

This is so frustrating! And what the heck could of caused this?!
Hexakosioi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2011, 08:34 PM   #5
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
changeip is not a standard command in OS X Client (it's only in Server).
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2011, 08:47 PM   #6
Hexakosioi
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Oh I see. Hmm so what should I do next?
Hexakosioi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2011, 09:00 PM   #7
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Do you have another computer (or phone over Wi-Fi) that you can try on the same connection?
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2011, 09:24 PM   #8
Hexakosioi
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
No, this is the only computer. I am posting on here from my iPhone 3G network

I don't think I'd be able to use wifi from iPhone as i don't remeber the pass for the network I created it is automatically signs up in my computer.
Hexakosioi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2011, 09:28 PM   #9
chasemac
macrumors 6502a
 
chasemac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In a house.
Send a message via AIM to chasemac
Contact your ISP again. You need them to come out and fix the issue.
chasemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2011, 09:32 PM   #10
Hexakosioi
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I just did, they I should take it to tech guy or apple store.
Hexakosioi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2011, 09:52 PM   #11
POHeerwig
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
"Server not found" - check router settings

It sounds like it can't sort out where it should connect, in which case it might be worth checking the following:

1. Are you using DHCP or a static address to connect? If you are "not" using DHCP - changing to it might help. If you are using a static address, check and make sure it's the correct address.

2. If you are using wep or wpa/wpa2 security, it might balk because it is unable to connect and wants your user/password information. (If you are uncertain, I'd go into your router and determine what your settings are. The router address is determined by the manufacturer, typically something like 192.168.1.1. If you've never set the password it "might" be open to you, otherwise you might be able to google the standard password) Since you seem to be unable to connect using a cable, my bets are on this!

Either way, getting into your router (with a cable) will give you a good headstart towards troubleshooting the issue.

Good luck!
POHeerwig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2011, 10:04 PM   #12
chasemac
macrumors 6502a
 
chasemac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In a house.
Send a message via AIM to chasemac
What about this. Plug directly into your modem via Ethernet and test your connection. If you can get a connection then you know it is your router. Then just reset your router to default settings and go from there.
chasemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2011, 12:36 PM   #13
Hexakosioi
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Umm I went to Futureshop and it couldn't connect to their network, same thing. They said they never seen anything like it and could not even diagnose the problem. I am gonna take it to the apple store, I mean they oughta know better.
Hexakosioi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2011, 06:55 PM   #14
Hexakosioi
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Shhh ok I got it working haha. It was Hands Off, an app like little snitch, it was for some reason blocking connection. I don't remember using it recently, weird.

Anyways, thanks everyone for your time & help.


Ciao
Hexakosioi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2014, 02:35 PM   #15
sevmusic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
My solution

I had the same issue. Only a few random sites would not work and gave me a "Server Not Found" error. I fixed with:

going into System Preferences > Network

select Wi-Fi from the left

click the Advanced... button

select the DNS tab

I had 2 entries here 4.4.2.2 and 4.2.2.2 (or something like that). I removed them with the "-" button at the bottom. Then I was able to connect to the websites I was getting errors on.
sevmusic is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: "The requested URL was not found on this server." NickyLanzz iOS 7 1 Mar 9, 2014 08:56 PM
"The operation cannot be completed because the original item for "HD" cannot be found disasterdrone OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Jan 24, 2014 02:45 PM
"The requested URL was not found on this server." s4steve23 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Sep 7, 2013 11:51 AM
"Applications" menu command - "item cannot be found" - owner/permissions? (10.6.8) MacOSExustio OS X 2 Jul 20, 2013 06:05 AM
OS X: CS:GO "command" + "left mouse click" causes "right mouse click" Whats wrong? oeppel Mac and PC Games 1 Apr 6, 2013 04:12 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC