Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 18, 2011, 05:06 PM   #1
ScottBGKY
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
ATV 2 Overscan

Really wanting to like my new ATV 2 but the overscan is driving me insane. My Roku does not have this issue. Might have to return and just grab a 2nd Roku box.
ScottBGKY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 05:14 PM   #2
fpnc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
For digital TV sets, overscan should be in control of the TV. Does your TV have a "Native" resolution setting or perhaps something actually called overscan?
fpnc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 05:33 PM   #3
ScottBGKY
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Trust me. It's the ATV 2. It's well documented. My TV settings are fine.
ScottBGKY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 06:05 PM   #4
fpnc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottBGKY View Post
Trust me. It's the ATV 2. It's well documented. My TV settings are fine.
So, you've turned overscan OFF on your TV? Also, what's the native resolution on your TV (i.e. the LCD or plasma panel resolution)?
fpnc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 06:26 PM   #5
ScottBGKY
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I'm using a Panasonic S1 Plasma. It appears to be an issue in how this set which is 1080P handles 720P content and not an ATV 2 issue. I sure wish they would have made this thing 1080P.

I apologize for arguing the point.
ScottBGKY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2011, 12:31 AM   #6
fpnc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
This is a complicated issue. Since the new Apple TV only outputs at 720p (1280x720) if you are displaying the output on a panel that isn't exactly 1280x720 native resolution then the TV will need to scale the video from the Apple TV to fit the panel resolution. Therefore, if the scaling done by the TV isn't a precise match for the panel resolution you will end up with an image that is either too large or too small. You could call this overscan/underscan but in reality it is more of an issue with the TV's scaling of the 720p output from the Apple TV. Some TVs will do this scaling better than others, for valid technical reasons or simply because the TV manufacturer was a bit "lazy."

I think the only way Apple could correct for this type of overscaling is to allow the active area of the video to be be scaled down within the Apple TV itself and then letterbox the output so that whatever is lost by the TV's scaling will be black bars (i.e. non-image areas). The output would still have to be exactly 1280x720 (of course) but you'd lose some resolution since the original would have to be reduced in size to match what could be called the "overscan" done by the TV.

If the new Apple TV directly supported 1080i/p output then this issue might not be so prevalent. However, you'd still have TVs that would introduce overscan (and offer no way to disable it) and you'd still have scaling issues with TVs that didn't have panels that were exactly 1920x1080 native resolution.
fpnc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2011, 09:31 AM   #7
emacnewbie
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oregon coast
I have a similar Panasonic. In the tv advanced menu what is the HD size setting? You should have it set to HD size 2. Hope this helps.
emacnewbie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2011, 05:37 PM   #8
The Mad Hatter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SoCal
No problems with overscan on my Samsung 52" LCD. However, on 65" Mitsubishi... well that's a different story.
__________________
I'd rather stay here with all the madmen, than perish with the sadmen roaming free.
The Mad Hatter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2011, 11:14 PM   #9
ScottBGKY
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by emacnewbie View Post
I have a similar Panasonic. In the tv advanced menu what is the HD size setting? You should have it set to HD size 2. Hope this helps.
It can't be changed on 720P sources. It is greyed out.
ScottBGKY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2011, 04:15 PM   #10
emacnewbie
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oregon coast
Sorry about that. I remember setting HD2 but that was for my blu-ray player. I have a G series Panasonic and am not having overscan problems with the Apple TV. You might search on the AVS forum for an answer. Good luck.
emacnewbie is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overscan Issues rrm74001 Apple TV and Home Theater 8 May 25, 2014 05:39 PM
Use ATV as speaker system and for regular ATV use. Dr Kevorkian94 Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Apr 3, 2014 11:13 PM
Force a resolution and adjust overscan in Mavericks? bobreborn OS X Mavericks (10.9) 12 Feb 22, 2014 08:07 PM
For air play mirroring, is there any difference between ATV 2 vs ATV 3? Whackintosh Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Feb 28, 2013 10:01 PM
To much overscan 2007 Mini Bray90820 Mac mini 0 Sep 19, 2012 05:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC