Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 21, 2011, 05:47 AM   #1
xDeathReaperx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
iPhone won't work without an AT&T Sim Card! HELP!

I can't even get to the Home Screen without putting in a AT & T Sim Card can someone help! It says "No Sim Card Installed, Insert a valid Sim Card without a pinlock to activate iPhone" (I want to run the iPhone with T-Mobile..)

Also, I'm in desperate need of finding a Unlock for the iPhone 3g 4.2.1 that allows me to update via iTunes when I need too. I don't want the hassle of always updating through pwnage tool. Link me to YouTube videos if possible!

EDIT: Do you think buying this would get me to the home screen because right now I can't even go to my home screen without a AT&T sim. I was thinking of buying this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...#ht_5224wt_907

Please Help!

Last edited by xDeathReaperx; Feb 21, 2011 at 06:16 AM.
xDeathReaperx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 06:13 AM   #2
labman
macrumors 604
 
labman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mich near Detroit
There is no unlock for 4.2.1 you are sol for now sorry but it's more about the baseband then the firmware I am guessing you didn't preserve baseband and updated via iTunes. If so all you can do is wait.
__________________
IP4+Hackintosh Pro Joining AT&T PM me get $25 Dev-Teams Blog My TwitterCan I JB/UL my device Click here
labman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 06:16 AM   #3
xDeathReaperx
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by labman View Post
There is no unlock for 4.2.1 you are sol for now sorry but it's more about the baseband then the firmware I am guessing you didn't preserve baseband and updated via iTunes. If so all you can do is wait.
Okay. But do you think buying this would get me to the home screen because right now I can't even go to my home screen without a AT&T sim. I was thinking of buying this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...#ht_5224wt_907
xDeathReaperx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 08:46 AM   #4
labman
macrumors 604
 
labman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mich near Detroit
yup a att sim is a good idea then you use it as a touch for a while at least.
__________________
IP4+Hackintosh Pro Joining AT&T PM me get $25 Dev-Teams Blog My TwitterCan I JB/UL my device Click here
labman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 08:48 AM   #5
dave420
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Yea that looks like what you are looking for to get the phone to get to the home screen. I believe any AT&T sim will do. You could purchase one at an AT&T store but I think they are $15 or $25 there.
dave420 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 09:17 AM   #6
labman
macrumors 604
 
labman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mich near Detroit
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave420 View Post
Yea that looks like what you are looking for to get the phone to get to the home screen. I believe any AT&T sim will do. You could purchase one at an AT&T store but I think they are $15 or $25 there.
ebay is way cheaper though you have to wait a few days or he could barrow a friends you just need one to activate it.
__________________
IP4+Hackintosh Pro Joining AT&T PM me get $25 Dev-Teams Blog My TwitterCan I JB/UL my device Click here
labman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 09:38 AM   #7
thespazz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Or he could hacktivate 4.2.1 with pwnage tool...
thespazz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 10:12 AM   #8
chrishemley823
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by thespazz View Post
Or he could hacktivate 4.2.1 with pwnage tool...
This. Pwnage Tool 4.2 activates iPhone.
chrishemley823 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 04:45 PM   #9
xDeathReaperx
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrishemley823 View Post
This. Pwnage Tool 4.2 activates iPhone.
Can you explain?? I have PWNAGETOOL 4.1.3 on my computer. I just checked the "About" in the programs.

So what exactly what do I have to do?
xDeathReaperx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Activate iPhone 4S with DIFFERENT AT&T sim card WITHOUT deactivating upgraded line ermoore iPhone 3 Oct 17, 2011 10:01 AM
Using an AT&T sim card in a Verizon iPhone 4S Hummer iPhone 2 Oct 17, 2011 01:22 AM
Transferring info on old iPhone 3G sim card to new iPhone 4s zachleon11 iPhone 5 Oct 14, 2011 04:36 PM
Is it possible to activate a 2g iPhone without an AT&T sim card? iKatianarie Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Nov 3, 2009 09:00 AM
Getting an Activated UK iPhone to work with any O2 sim card yusavio Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Dec 20, 2007 06:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC