Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 21, 2011, 05:54 AM   #1
tedmccann
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
handbrake

hello all. just starting the process of converting my dvd library. Is it better to use handbrake on the dvd while its loaded...or copy the dvd to the disk and then run handbrake on it...or is that even feasible?
tedmccann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 06:01 AM   #2
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedmccann View Post
hello all. just starting the process of converting my dvd library. Is it better to use handbrake on the dvd while its loaded...or copy the dvd to the disk and then run handbrake on it...or is that even feasible?
Copying the DVD to the HDD means you can set Handbrake going overnight with your movies all queued up. It can also be considerably faster ripping from the HDD as a number of current and not-so-current Macs have rip lock built into the SuperDrive which limits the speed at which data is accessed from the optical drive.

My MacBook has a rip lock drive, it takes about an hour to make a full DVD rip. My 6 year old iBook G4 takes less than 15 minutes. When it comes to using Handbrake though the MacBook is around 10x faster than my iBook.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 06:04 AM   #3
tedmccann
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
hi...so copy the dvd to a folder...then run handbrake on the contents...should be faster than leaving the dvd in the optical drive?
tedmccann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 06:06 AM   #4
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedmccann View Post
hi...so copy the dvd to a folder...then run handbrake on the contents...should be faster than leaving the dvd in the optical drive?
Generally yes, the time it takes to rip the disc to the HDD (I use RipIt) I more than gain in the faster Handbrake encode times and the ability to have a few movies converted overnight.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 06:10 AM   #5
tedmccann
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
thanks! Any suggestions on best quality for viewing. I have the apple tv and apple tv2 on two different tvs. I tried "troy" on the universal setting...but it was freezing my apple tv.....so I switched to apple tv preset....but it is still a bit soft in resolution it seems...a little bit jagged.
tedmccann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 06:26 AM   #6
AdrianK
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedmccann View Post
thanks! Any suggestions on best quality for viewing. I have the apple tv and apple tv2 on two different tvs. I tried "troy" on the universal setting...but it was freezing my apple tv.....so I switched to apple tv preset....but it is still a bit soft in resolution it seems...a little bit jagged.
These are the settings I use, the videos look transparent to the originals:

These settings are ATV compliant.

Video
-720xXXX resolution
-Anamorphic set to off
-Crop - automatic
-2 pass, NO turbo first parse
-Bitrate - 1500kbps

Audio
1st channel - Main movie audio - 160kbps AAC CoreAudio
2nd channel - AC3 pass through (only bother if you have a 5.1 reciever whitch your ATV is connected to via TOSLINK)
3rd channel - Commentary - 80kbps AAC CoreAudio

I strongly suggest you go to preview, find a part of the movie with lots of action, encode a one minute clip (with those settings). Then find the video in ~/Libary/ApplicationSupport/Handbrake/Preview, stream to ATV and see how it looks.
__________________
Hack Pro Mini Core i3 4130 | GTX 780 | 8GB 1033MHz | 840 EVO 120GB | OS X 10.9.1 / Windows 8 | White Bitfenix Prodigy
AdrianK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 11:21 AM   #7
tedmccann
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
thanks....the other apple tv I have is second gen. Do I need to web optimize to stream to it?
tedmccann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 05:49 AM   #8
alFR
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianK View Post
Video
-720xXXX resolution
-Anamorphic set to off
-Crop - automatic
-2 pass, NO turbo first parse
-Bitrate - 1500kbps
With respect, these settings are seriously out of date/suboptimal for use with current builds of Handbrake:
  • Constant bitrate has been superceded by constant quality
  • 2-pass encoding is no longer required if you are using CQ encoding
  • Most sources should have anamorphic enabled

OP, if I were you I would start with the Handbrake preset most appropriate for your destination device (in the OP's case, the Apple TV preset) and go from there e.g. if you are encoding from HD sources you can increase the resolution as detailed here. The HB team have spent a lot of time optimising the presets to balance quality and file size, so unless you really know what you're doing that's probably the best place to start.

p.s. your ATV2 will stream/play encodes done with the ATV1 preset in Handbrake just fine: however, it won't work the other way round i.e. the ATV1 won't play ATV2 preset encodes.
alFR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 07:10 AM   #9
AdrianK
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by alFR View Post
With respect, these settings are seriously out of date/suboptimal for use with current builds of Handbrake:
  • Constant bitrate has been superceded by constant quality
  • 2-pass encoding is no longer required if you are using CQ encoding
  • Most sources should have anamorphic enabled

OP, if I were you I would start with the Handbrake preset most appropriate for your destination device (in the OP's case, the Apple TV preset) and go from there e.g. if you are encoding from HD sources you can increase the resolution as detailed here. The HB team have spent a lot of time optimising the presets to balance quality and file size, so unless you really know what you're doing that's probably the best place to start.

p.s. your ATV2 will stream/play encodes done with the ATV1 preset in Handbrake just fine: however, it won't work the other way round i.e. the ATV1 won't play ATV2 preset encodes.
That's fair enough, I personally go with fixed bitrates so I know exactly which devices my encodes are compliant with.

I don't see how "Most sources should have anamorphic enabled", the resolution you choose to output is a personal preference. There's no right or wrong about it.
__________________
Hack Pro Mini Core i3 4130 | GTX 780 | 8GB 1033MHz | 840 EVO 120GB | OS X 10.9.1 / Windows 8 | White Bitfenix Prodigy
AdrianK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 07:28 AM   #10
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedmccann View Post
hi...so copy the dvd to a folder...then run handbrake on the contents...should be faster than leaving the dvd in the optical drive?
If you have more than one movie, do you want to get up several times in the night to switch DVDs?
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 09:32 AM   #11
rayward
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianK View Post
I don't see how "Most sources should have anamorphic enabled", the resolution you choose to output is a personal preference. There's no right or wrong about it.
If you are creating HD files for viewing on either type of ATV, you are limited to a height of 720. However, many movies have a wider aspect ratio and so HB will limit the height of your clip to less than 720 in order to maintain the original aspect ratio.

If you set anamorphic to "Custom", and the width x height to 1280 x 720, you maintain the original aspect ratio, limit the height to the ATV's max of 720, but gain horizontal resolution. Your resultant file will have a resolution of 15xx x 720 or sometimes 17xx x 720 for ultra-wide aspect ratios, and will play perfectly on your ATV (I have only 1st gen units and get great results with this).

I simply select the ATV preset, open the Picture settings, make the necessary changes to the anamorphic type, the picture width and height, and code away.
__________________
27" iMac (2.93GHz i7, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD); 64GB iPhone 5S; 32GB iPad Air; 3 x TV3, 2TB WD "My Book Studio XL" HDD; 4TB WD "ShareSpace" NAS
rayward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 09:52 AM   #12
AdrianK
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayward View Post
If you are creating HD files for viewing on either type of ATV, you are limited to a height of 720. However, many movies have a wider aspect ratio and so HB will limit the height of your clip to less than 720 in order to maintain the original aspect ratio.

If you set anamorphic to "Custom", and the width x height to 1280 x 720, you maintain the original aspect ratio, limit the height to the ATV's max of 720, but gain horizontal resolution. Your resultant file will have a resolution of 15xx x 720 or sometimes 17xx x 720 for ultra-wide aspect ratios, and will play perfectly on your ATV (I have only 1st gen units and get great results with this).

I simply select the ATV preset, open the Picture settings, make the necessary changes to the anamorphic type, the picture width and height, and code away.
I wasn't aware that ATV can output 1080p :P

Anyway, a 35% increase in resolution (for 1:2.4) certainly isn't bad. I thought of doing exactly this when hearing about the iPad 2's *potential* retina display.
__________________
Hack Pro Mini Core i3 4130 | GTX 780 | 8GB 1033MHz | 840 EVO 120GB | OS X 10.9.1 / Windows 8 | White Bitfenix Prodigy
AdrianK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 06:42 AM   #13
tedmccann
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
hey. I tried using the apple preset...and changing the anamorphic to custom at 1280 width. They still don't look right. The edges are a bit chunky...you have to stand back from the tv more than normal to feel right about it.
tedmccann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 10:02 AM   #14
rayward
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedmccann View Post
hey. I tried using the apple preset...and changing the anamorphic to custom at 1280 width. They still don't look right. The edges are a bit chunky...you have to stand back from the tv more than normal to feel right about it.
Did you set the height to 720? That's the point of selecting custom anamorphic and the width isn't an issue.
__________________
27" iMac (2.93GHz i7, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD); 64GB iPhone 5S; 32GB iPad Air; 3 x TV3, 2TB WD "My Book Studio XL" HDD; 4TB WD "ShareSpace" NAS
rayward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 10:47 AM   #15
ftaok
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedmccann View Post
hey. I tried using the apple preset...and changing the anamorphic to custom at 1280 width. They still don't look right. The edges are a bit chunky...you have to stand back from the tv more than normal to feel right about it.
I don't see the point of setting the width to 1280 if the source material is a DVD. Most DVDs are encoded at 720x480 (576 in the UK) and are anamorphic. So a 16:9 widescreen movie will end up 854x480.

Upping the resolution will just make the file size larger or the video "blockier". Just convert at 480p and allow the aTV2 do the upconverting.
__________________
Flickr
ftaok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 11:14 AM   #16
rayward
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftaok View Post
I don't see the point of setting the width to 1280 if the source material is a DVD. Most DVDs are encoded at 720x480 (576 in the UK) and are anamorphic. So a 16:9 widescreen movie will end up 854x480.

Upping the resolution will just make the file size larger or the video "blockier". Just convert at 480p and allow the aTV2 do the upconverting.
The 1280 x 720 anamorphic setting is intended for high-def files only. For the reasons you cite, there is no need to adjust the ATV preset for standard-def files.
__________________
27" iMac (2.93GHz i7, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD); 64GB iPhone 5S; 32GB iPad Air; 3 x TV3, 2TB WD "My Book Studio XL" HDD; 4TB WD "ShareSpace" NAS
rayward is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handbrake jburrows500 Digital Video 6 Jan 4, 2014 06:17 AM
Help with Handbrake TrenttonY Apple TV and Home Theater 67 Sep 29, 2013 04:15 PM
Handbrake Tech198 Digital Video 2 May 7, 2013 11:29 AM
Handbrake changes...? JMEANS Apple TV and Home Theater 10 Apr 15, 2013 05:01 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC