Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 24, 2011, 06:23 PM   #1
mmomega
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
My 1st Lion bug ... with NAS drive

1st Lion bug for me so far

I can no longer log into my Western Digital MyBook World NAS.

Guest account shows up in finder but I have a password set to read/write to the drive. When I go to "Connect as" and Log in as Admin I get "The version of the server you are trying to connect to is not supported. Contact admin..."

Works just fine on SL on any other Mac.
__________________
2013 iMac 27" i7, 32GBRAM, GTX780M, 256GB Flash, VESA
2012 Mac Mini Server w/ 23TB Storage
iPad Air 32GB, iPhone 5s 32GB, iPad Mini 16GB
3x AEBS 802.11ac, JetStream Gigabit, 5x AppleTV
mmomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 06:29 PM   #2
celticpride678
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
It might not be an issue with Lion. That specific hard drive may just not support it.
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 07:03 PM   #3
mmomega
Thread Starter
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Sorry not understanding what the hard may not support.

If you mean the connect as, then it does and it always has.

As stated before the exact same steps for logging into the user specific accounts work on all other Macs under Snow Leopard, Lion is a no go ATM.
__________________
2013 iMac 27" i7, 32GBRAM, GTX780M, 256GB Flash, VESA
2012 Mac Mini Server w/ 23TB Storage
iPad Air 32GB, iPhone 5s 32GB, iPad Mini 16GB
3x AEBS 802.11ac, JetStream Gigabit, 5x AppleTV
mmomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 09:10 PM   #4
jamesarm97
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I have the exact same issue here with a FreeNAS server using AFP. I get the same message. I sure hope it is a simple bug in Lion and not something that has to be changed with all the NAS software. All I see in the logs of FreeNAS is error in afp_open.
__________________
PPC Mini C2D Mini 20" iMac 17" i7 MBP 2G iPhone 3G iPhone iPhone 3G S⃣ 32g iPhone 4 32g iPhone 4S 64g, iPod Shuffles iPod Nano iPod Fat Nano iPod Nano 30g iPod 64g iPad 3G 64g iPad2
jamesarm97 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 09:19 PM   #5
mmomega
Thread Starter
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
I reported it as soon as I found it, hoping for a fix in the next build or two.
__________________
2013 iMac 27" i7, 32GBRAM, GTX780M, 256GB Flash, VESA
2012 Mac Mini Server w/ 23TB Storage
iPad Air 32GB, iPhone 5s 32GB, iPad Mini 16GB
3x AEBS 802.11ac, JetStream Gigabit, 5x AppleTV
mmomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 09:42 PM   #6
retroneo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
You should be able to connect fine using cifs:// or smb://

You may even find it is faster!
retroneo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 11:51 PM   #7
Transeau
macrumors 6502a
 
Transeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Send a message via AIM to Transeau
+1 for me.

Lion can not connect to my FreeNAS *OR* my 10.6.6 Xserve
__________________
2009 27" iMac 2.8GHz Core i7, 32GB RAM, 2TB HDD
2012 15" Macbook Pro, 2.2GHz Core i7, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD & 750GB HDD (no optical drive)
Transeau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2011, 03:13 AM   #8
happygareth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
smb works fine

Connecting by smb works fine. I didn't have a great deal of time to look into the problems yesterday but I do wonder if the problems are with authentication. Guest accounts work fine. I do wonder if taking the password off the account may work. AFP is still showing as v2.0 but something has changed somewhere.

This was from a Synology NAS.
__________________
24" iMac 3.06GHz, 2GB RAM, MacMini Server (2009) 2.53 GHz
13" Macbook 2.26GHz 2GB RAM
iPad 3g+WiFi 16GB, iPhone 3G, Ipod 5G, iPod Mini 8GB
happygareth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2011, 06:45 PM   #9
sstyle
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
The same issue with synology ((
sstyle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2011, 08:13 PM   #10
Jermn8r
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Same here guys, I can't connect to my NAS. I use a pogoplug and samba solution... Normally I can connect to my samba drives by going to Go > Connect To Server but it won't work now.

I get the same error message... Hopefully this will be fixed in a future beta. Macs running SL connect to the same share flawlessly. Two Apple TV 2's also connect to the same share. Filed a report.

Last edited by Jermn8r; Feb 25, 2011 at 08:24 PM.
Jermn8r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 01:25 PM   #11
cyberia625
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
The issue definitely appears to be a change in the version of the AFP client that Lion is using. For now, I fixed it by changing the afpd server running on my NAS. If you don't know what SSH is, don't try this, because I have no interest in turning this into a support thread.

I have a Netgear ReadyNAS Duo, so my steps are specific to that device...


1. SSH to NAS
2. find afpd.conf (mine was at /etc/netatalk/afpd.conf)
3. my original line looked like this:
Code:
 - -uamlist uams_clrtxt.so,uams_dhx.so -unixcodepage UTF8 -maccodepage MAC_ROMAN -setuplog "default log_info /var/log/netatalk.log"
I replaced it with this:
Code:
 - -uamlist uams_guest.so -unixcodepage UTF8 -maccodepage MAC_ROMAN -guestname "admin" -setuplog "default log_info /var/log/netatalk.log"
Things to note about the above changes:
I changed the available UAM list, so instead of only accepted clear-text passwords (uams_clrtxt.so) or encrypted passwords (uams_clrtxt.so), it accepted only guest connections (uams_guest.so).

In order to get the right permissions for my shares, I had the guest account automatically use the "admin" account (-guestname "admin").

THIS MEANS ANYONE ON THE NETWORK CAN ACCESS THE SHARES, AND THEY WILL BE LOGGED IN AS ADMIN. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

I still can't get timemachine to work over the network, but this is a start. Unfortunately my NAS uses the Debian Sarge release, which is really dated. If anyone else's NAS uses a more modern release, try upgrading your netatalk to a newer version (apt-get upgrade netatalk, or download it from the netatalk site and compile from source). Also, try a different encryption type (uams_dhx2.so). It requires libgcrypt, which I couldn't get installed on my NAS. I could see the list of available UAMS at /usr/lib/netatalk/

My guess is that it will require an upgrade on the NAS, as it appears Apple has updated their AFP client to be more secure. *Maybe* they'll allow a less secure "compatibility" mode, but I'm not holding my breath.

Best of luck!
Paul
cyberia625 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 02:21 PM   #12
cyberia625
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
After doing some additional investigation, it looks like some smarter people have come to the same conclusion as me: the new version of AFP requires DHX2 authentication. The reason they are smarter? They came up with a solution (at least for ReadyNAS Duo devices):

http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewto...p?f=28&t=51033 (see end of thread)
cyberia625 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 06:51 PM   #13
cheechvt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Winooski Beach
Send a message via AIM to cheechvt Send a message via Skype™ to cheechvt
smb:// worked great!! Thanks a million!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by retroneo View Post
You should be able to connect fine using cifs:// or smb://

You may even find it is faster!
And it IS faster too... thanks!!

Cheechvt
cheechvt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:02 PM   #14
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Lion support through netatalk 2.2. coming soon to other NAS vendors too. http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...5&postcount=46

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2011, 03:10 PM   #15
elppa
macrumors 68040
 
elppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
I've tried this fix posted to the WD Support forums (for the My Book World Edition).

I can confirm it works. Western Digital have committed themselves to a firmware update which will fix this issue (they did actually release one on 12th Sep, but had to pull it due to some issues), so these instructions should only be followed if you are not patient enough to wait.

The instructions take you to a forum post, which link you to a wiki post, which link you to drupal free.fr site, so for simplicities sake I have condensed below:

Part One - Turn on SSH (in the admin panel)
[1] Go to to http://mybookworld.local
[2] login: username will be admin, password will be whatever you have setup. If you can't remember it should be in your Mac OS X keychain (Utilities > Keychain Access, search for "mybookworld"). If you have not changed if from the default the password will be admin as well.
[3] Switch to advanced mode.
[4] From the System tab, pick Advanced.
[5] Enable SSH Access, and click submit.
[6] Click on the network tab and then the LAN button
[7] Make a note of the IP address

Small, maybe obvious, but nevertheless important point: For the install to work, your NAS needs to be connected to a router with internet access.

Part Two - Install netatalk2.2
[8] Open Terminal.app (Utilities > Terminal)
[9] Enter the following command (substitute in 127.0.0.1 for the actual IP address you noted down in step 7), then hit return:
Code:
ssh root@127.0.0.1
[10] When prompted, enter the ssh password (will be welc0me).
[11] You are now going to download the installer. Enter the following command, then hit return:
Code:
wget http://mybookworld.wikidot.com/local--files/netatalk2-2-on-whitelight/install_netatalk.sh -O install_netatalk.sh
[12] Once completed, you will need to run the installer. Type:
Code:
sh install_netatalk.sh
[13] You will be asked a number of question during install, answer yes to all. When asked about the "DHX2 login process", I opted to install the modified version, so I can confirm it works.
[14] Once the box has restarted, you should be able to connect to your afp shares and continue to use Time Machine.

Last edited by elppa; Oct 2, 2011 at 03:19 PM.
elppa is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2013, 08:22 PM   #16
Mgkwho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
I can confirm that this fix still works; I'm running 10.9 and am pleased that after three years of being unable to use Time Machine on a $300 hard drive (though previously successful) I can now back up my system again!

Thanks, elppa!

-=|Mgkwho
__________________
Mgkwho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2014, 02:45 AM   #17
hawkipa
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Help undoing this...

Hi, my WD white light time capsule stopped connecting earlier this week so in desperation I followed the process kindly posted below. However, it didn't work so I wonder if anyone could help me undo the installing netatalk bit as I'm worried I've made some change that could impact elsewhere and worse still my time capsule still isn't working. Thanks in advance.

Paul
(macrumors newbie)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elppa View Post
I've tried this fix posted to the WD Support forums (for the My Book World Edition).

I can confirm it works. Western Digital have committed themselves to a firmware update which will fix this issue (they did actually release one on 12th Sep, but had to pull it due to some issues), so these instructions should only be followed if you are not patient enough to wait.

The instructions take you to a forum post, which link you to a wiki post, which link you to drupal free.fr site, so for simplicities sake I have condensed below:

Part One - Turn on SSH (in the admin panel)
[1] Go to to http://mybookworld.local
[2] login: username will be admin, password will be whatever you have setup. If you can't remember it should be in your Mac OS X keychain (Utilities > Keychain Access, search for "mybookworld"). If you have not changed if from the default the password will be admin as well.
[3] Switch to advanced mode.
[4] From the System tab, pick Advanced.
[5] Enable SSH Access, and click submit.
[6] Click on the network tab and then the LAN button
[7] Make a note of the IP address

Small, maybe obvious, but nevertheless important point: For the install to work, your NAS needs to be connected to a router with internet access.

Part Two - Install netatalk2.2
[8] Open Terminal.app (Utilities > Terminal)
[9] Enter the following command (substitute in 127.0.0.1 for the actual IP address you noted down in step 7), then hit return:
Code:
ssh root@127.0.0.1
[10] When prompted, enter the ssh password (will be welc0me).
[11] You are now going to download the installer. Enter the following command, then hit return:
Code:
wget http://mybookworld.wikidot.com/local--files/netatalk2-2-on-whitelight/install_netatalk.sh -O install_netatalk.sh
[12] Once completed, you will need to run the installer. Type:
Code:
sh install_netatalk.sh
[13] You will be asked a number of question during install, answer yes to all. When asked about the "DHX2 login process", I opted to install the modified version, so I can confirm it works.
[14] Once the box has restarted, you should be able to connect to your afp shares and continue to use Time Machine.
hawkipa is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine With NAS Drive Advice cokeacola Mac Basics and Help 1 Dec 14, 2011 10:44 AM
Will I know if my MacBook Pro ships with Lion? Josh0806 MacBook Pro 9 Aug 1, 2011 12:54 PM
Lion bug with TimeMachine??? zjazz MacBook Pro 4 Jul 22, 2011 08:57 PM
I can has my 1st Generation iPhone with GoPhone? TommyLee Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Aug 8, 2008 11:11 PM
Can I "hacktivate" my 1st Gen iPhone with 2.0? TheSpaz Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Jul 21, 2008 10:10 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC