Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 25, 2011, 03:31 PM   #1
TinyHulk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Spoof mac address on the new MacBook Air?

I'm about to buy a new MacBook Air to replace my old MacBook but I like to tweak things!

The ability to spoof the mac address of the airport and usb ethernetadapter is a must for me! (Do not ask why because it is a boring story)

I could not get it to work on 10.6 with my old MacBook but it worked in Windows XP via bootcamp. I think the problem was driver related.

Is it possible to spoof the Airport mac address on the new MacBook Air?
Is it possible to spoof the USB Ethernet adapter mac address on the new MacBook Air?

Any reply will be greatly appreciated
__________________
MacBook White 2.0 GHz Core Duo, 2 GB Ram, 100 GB HD
iPod Video Black 5G 30 GB
TinyHulk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2011, 03:34 PM   #2
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
I believe all spoofing has to be done with the ifconfig command, and it does not survive a reboot.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2011, 03:51 PM   #3
TinyHulk
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Netherlands
I know this commands:

Show Mac Address (en5 = ethernet adapter)

Code:
ifconfig en5 | grep ether
Change Mac Address (only worked in OSX Tiger?)

Code:
sudo ifconfig en0 ether 00:00:00:00:00:00
But I can not get it to work. (I'm trying this on my old MacBook)

I know it does not survive a reboot but thats not a problem since I can write a apple script and launch it when reboot
__________________
MacBook White 2.0 GHz Core Duo, 2 GB Ram, 100 GB HD
iPod Video Black 5G 30 GB
TinyHulk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 03:31 PM   #4
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Are you trying to set it to all zeros? I'm pretty sure that won't work.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 05:51 AM   #5
rotundo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
For this to work, the airport adapter must be turned on but must not be associated with a network. You can achieve this by either clicking on "join network" and entering anything that doesn't exist or you can use the command line:

sudo /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Apple80211.framework/Versions/Current/Resources/airport -z

(I know, quite a mouthful, but it disconnects the Mac from any Wifi network immediately.)

After this, you can change the address as usual:

sudo ifconfig en1 lladdr <your new address>
rotundo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grand Theft Auto Series on the 2011 Macbook Air CardboardGiant MacBook Air 30 Nov 23, 2011 07:00 AM
anyone experienced vectorworks on the 11" macbook air? erwinmayer MacBook Air 0 Jul 25, 2011 09:20 PM
am i the only one who is p***** the Apple Remote doesn't work on the new Macbook Air? animatedude MacBook Air 18 Jan 30, 2011 07:42 AM
Has anybody used this case for the New Macbook Air macnerd123 MacBook Air 0 Jan 12, 2011 08:50 AM
Replacing the hard drive on the new macbook air? boed MacBook Air 1 Mar 16, 2009 10:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC