Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 26, 2011, 03:42 AM   #1
PBF
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Question How do you add/remove apps from Launchpad?

Can't figure this one out. Your help would be much appreciated. Thanks.
PBF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 03:43 AM   #2
Steve Ballmer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Redmond, WA
Not easily.
__________________
Where do you want to go today?
Steve Ballmer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 04:19 AM   #3
kepner
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Command-Option-Control-Click on the icon you want to disappear immediately. (I have no idea why the **** I thought to try this.)

Dropping an app icon from the Finder onto the Launchpad icon in the Dock will add the app to Launchpad.
kepner is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 05:46 AM   #4
kirky29
macrumors 65816
 
kirky29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lincolnshire, England
Send a message via Yahoo to kirky29 Send a message via Skype™ to kirky29
Quote:
Originally Posted by kepner View Post
Command-Option-Control-Click on the icon you want to disappear immediately. (I have no idea why the **** I thought to try this.)

Dropping an app icon from the Finder onto the Launchpad icon in the Dock will add the app to Launchpad.
Thank you! I was trying loads of random keys last night, thinking, ahh Apple won't make me press more than 3 keys! ;-)
__________________
27" iMac, 15" MacBook Pro 2.2GHz i7 2011, iPhone 5 16GB - iPad 1/2/3/Mini - 24" Cinema Display,
Apple Magic Mouse, Trackpad, Time Machine, Apple TV,
| Check out my flickr |
kirky29 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 11:36 AM   #5
RcktMan77
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
That works for individual apps, but how do you remove pre-existing folders? I've tried removing the individual apps from the folder itself, but ended up with just an empty folder that I can't get rid of.
RcktMan77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 11:41 AM   #6
kirky29
macrumors 65816
 
kirky29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lincolnshire, England
Send a message via Yahoo to kirky29 Send a message via Skype™ to kirky29
Quote:
Originally Posted by RcktMan77 View Post
That works for individual apps, but how do you remove pre-existing folders? I've tried removing the individual apps from the folder itself, but ended up with just an empty folder that I can't get rid of.
I had that problem, but this worked for me.
Drag an app into the folder on launchpad, then drag it out again. That got rid of the folder for me.
__________________
27" iMac, 15" MacBook Pro 2.2GHz i7 2011, iPhone 5 16GB - iPad 1/2/3/Mini - 24" Cinema Display,
Apple Magic Mouse, Trackpad, Time Machine, Apple TV,
| Check out my flickr |
kirky29 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 12:02 PM   #7
PBF
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Awesome!!! Thanks, guys, for all the tips!! Everything worked like a charm.
PBF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 07:29 PM   #8
PBF
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Bug as expected: after computer restart, my Launchpad reset itself. As a result, lost my custom app order as well as folders. Ugh..

For now, not using Launchpad until it's stable. Using Spotlight instead.
PBF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 07:40 PM   #9
goobot
macrumors 601
 
goobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: long island NY
Hey does anyone know if holding command while selecting apps works or not? Also does command a select the apps on that page/folder or all of them in launch pad? Thx
__________________
Unibody Macbook |iPad|Apple TV 2|Black iPhone 6
goobot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 07:47 PM   #10
PBF
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by goobot View Post
Hey does anyone know if holding command while selecting apps works or not? Also does command a select the apps on that page/folder or all of them in launch pad? Thx
At its current state, Launchpad is quite inflexible. All you can do is drag apps around, merge them into folders, add, delete.

Actually, what else is needed anyway?
PBF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2011, 09:40 PM   #11
macintoshosxi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by kepner View Post
Command-Option-Control-Click on the icon you want to disappear immediately. (I have no idea why the **** I thought to try this.)

Dropping an app icon from the Finder onto the Launchpad icon in the Dock will add the app to Launchpad.
I tried that but it didn't work, please help.

How do you completely remove final cut pro 7?

Thanks in Advance
macintoshosxi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 01:52 AM   #12
PBF
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by macintoshosxi View Post
I tried that but it didn't work, please help.

How do you completely remove final cut pro 7?

Thanks in Advance
While holding down command+option+control, mouse-click and hold any app icon until it stops wiggling; while still holding down command+option+control, mouse-click the icon again to remove it.

Last edited by PBF; Apr 17, 2011 at 02:10 PM.
PBF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 06:13 AM   #13
garagethrash
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
It's alarming how poorly implemented launchpad is for what seems like a simple feature. at the moment it lacks the refinement that is usual for apple. for instance, you can't drag apps to the launchpad icon to add them. and how hard it is to delete something is just bonkers. This OS isn't coming out any time soon i don't think
garagethrash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2011, 01:22 AM   #14
Killerbob
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBF View Post
Bug as expected: after computer restart, my Launchpad reset itself.
I have tried everything; fixing my personalization again, saving the files in the "dock" folder and putting them back, and going with just a few changes, but with no other result other than a reset upon reboot.

Funny thing is this actually worked before the latest update, both in DP1 and DP2.

I have three files in the "dock" folder, a .db, a .corrupt, and a .db-journal file.

How many people are having problems with LP?

Bo
__________________
nMP 3.5GHz 6C/64GB/1TB/D700s - Echo Express 1TB Accelsior/2x500GB Sonnet Tempo - MBP 13"/3GHz i7/16GB/512GB - MBA 13"/2GHz i7/8GB/250GB - MMI 2.3HGz/8GB/500GB - TC 3TB - ReadyNAS Pro 6x3TB
Killerbob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2011, 10:18 AM   #15
bedifferent
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY
No need for the three keys, just hit the "Alt/Option" key now.
bedifferent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2011, 01:56 PM   #16
PBF
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by bedifferent View Post
No need for the three keys, just hit the "Alt/Option" key now.
I can confirm, it doesn't work with just one key. Still requires all three keys to remove an app. You can make 'em wiggle with just one key, but not remove.
PBF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2011, 09:04 PM   #17
kepner
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBF View Post
You can make 'em wiggle with just one key, but not remove.
You can remove apps in wiggle mode, but only App Store apps.
kepner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2011, 11:48 PM   #18
bedifferent
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by kepner View Post
You can remove apps in wiggle mode, but only App Store apps.
Yeah I was gonna say, three keys is the same, I've tried both. Nada, only App Store Apps can be removed.
bedifferent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 09:52 PM   #19
ChainsawBuddha
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by bedifferent View Post
Yeah I was gonna say, three keys is the same, I've tried both. Nada, only App Store Apps can be removed.
This is annoying. I have all of these Adobe uninstaller apps taking up my page. Very poorly implemented and this needs to fixed fast! Wish I could remove apps that weren't just from the app store.
ChainsawBuddha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 10:08 PM   #20
definitive
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChainsawBuddha View Post
This is annoying. I have all of these Adobe uninstaller apps taking up my page. Very poorly implemented and this needs to fixed fast! Wish I could remove apps that weren't just from the app store.
lol im having the same issue with the uninstallers. shame that this thing doesn't have a simple configuration process.

Last edited by Doctor Q; Jul 21, 2011 at 01:02 AM. Reason: edited quote
definitive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2011, 10:09 PM   #21
ChainsawBuddha
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by definitive View Post
lol im having the same issue with the uninstallers. shame that this thing doesn't have a simple configuration process.
I know. There are so many apps getting in the way. Lost in a sea of icons.
ChainsawBuddha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2011, 08:12 PM   #22
Wafflefruit
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Yeah, I have the same problem with the adobe uninstallers. I just put them all in a folder and shoved them to the back. Same thing with some other apps that I don't want in launchpad but don't want to delete. I also wish you could slide over to the left and do a spotlight search like on iOS. It may be nice to have a full spotlight search there, but I was mainly thinking just launchpad apps. I have like 10 pages, and it is hard to search through.
Wafflefruit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 10:43 AM   #23
Michael.Hill
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I actually came here looking for a solution to the exact same problem with Adobe uninstallers. Hopefully Apple fixes this in an update.
Michael.Hill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 10:55 AM   #24
Chaggi
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Seoul, South Korea
I have the same problem with SC2 app, I just put it in another window.
__________________
2011 Macbook Pro Lion | iPhone 4S | Samsung Group
Chaggi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 11:07 AM   #25
jive turkey
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
So you can't add programs to Launchpad unless you have the LP on your dock? I just assumed when you downloaded a new program and moved it to the app folder that Launchpad would pick it up.

Edit: It wasn't finding the app I added because that app was in a folder. I took it out of the folder and now Launchpad sees it. I guess it only picks up new apps if they are directly under /Applications?

Last edited by jive turkey; Jul 22, 2011 at 11:34 AM.
jive turkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add apps to launchpad? sflomenb OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Apr 28, 2014 12:12 PM
Unable to add apps to Launchpad btr999 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Feb 11, 2013 01:07 AM
remove item from launchpad Drich290195 Mac Basics and Help 1 Aug 22, 2012 11:15 AM
How can i remove non App Store apps from Launchpad? iMiguel OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Aug 9, 2012 08:51 PM
PLEASE HELP: How do I re-add non-MAS apps to the launchpad? ogyrg Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jul 27, 2012 09:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC