Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 28, 2011, 06:34 AM   #1
Wind06
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cannes - South of France
Time Capsule as Music Server

Hello,

I have a MacPro and iMac + Time Capsule, I copied all iTunes lib on TC, and so can share the iTunes lib in between the 2 macs without any problems.
I have a Denon Hifi that can access Music Server to play music.

But was not able to connect the Mac and Play music. I found a soft called Isedora, that makes my iTunes recognized by the Hifi. So the iTunes library
is visible on the Denon Hifi, which is great. This is working only when the MacPro and TC are Powered On.

What I would like, is to have is only the TC powerd on and be able to access the iTunes Lib from the Hifi.

Is this config possible with TC, under specific setup ?
is there a way to install some 3rd party prod on TC, like Isedora ?

Any information/help would be very much appreciated.
Wind06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2011, 03:44 AM   #2
Wind06
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cannes - South of France
Hi,

I made the allowing setup which is working fine

- Music library copied on the Time Capsule
- Apple TV set as Media sever using XBMC which point to TC
- XBMC media server is recognized on the Denon Hifi
Wind06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2011, 03:55 AM   #3
maril1111
macrumors 68000
 
maril1111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Hey,

good thread idea

btw what type of audio do you have? apple lossless,acc,mp3...?

Can your denon access the itunes music library even if you skip the step with the apple tv? and finally which denon do you have?

sorry for the questions but i am just thinking of building something similar

cheers
maril1111 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2011, 07:30 AM   #4
Wind06
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cannes - South of France
Quote:
Originally Posted by maril1111 View Post
btw what type of audio do you have? apple lossless,acc,mp3...?

Can your denon access the itunes music library even if you skip the step with the apple tv? and finally which denon do you have?
I'm using the iTunes library so I guess Apple
Yes you can access the iTunes library, but need to start a soft on your mac like iSedora or Vuze which will act as Media Server.
I never succeed to access the iTunes library from the Denon without having started such tool. Even if you select the option "share my lib" under iTunes.

The Denon that I have is RCD-N7 (CEOL) "French link "

http://denon.fr/fr/product/pages/Pro...2-2662f39bd15c

An other alternative is to use AirPlay, which is working fine.

This was not the solution for me because, I wanted to avoid having the computer booted.

Hope it helps
Wind06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 04:24 AM   #5
CHSeifert
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark - Scandinavia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wind06 View Post
I'm using the iTunes library so I guess Apple
Yes you can access the iTunes library, but need to start a soft on your mac like iSedora or Vuze which will act as Media Server.
I never succeed to access the iTunes library from the Denon without having started such tool. Even if you select the option "share my lib" under iTunes.

The Denon that I have is RCD-N7 (CEOL) "French link "

http://denon.fr/fr/product/pages/Pro...2-2662f39bd15c

An other alternative is to use AirPlay, which is working fine.

This was not the solution for me because, I wanted to avoid having the computer booted.

Hope it helps
Would a combination of iPad, TimeCapsule and Denon 3311 surround receiver work so you didn't have to leave any of your Mac computers turned on while playing and accessing your iTunes music library and folders on the TimeCapsule ?

----
Vh/Regards
Claus - TapaTalk on my Ip4
__________________
iMac 27 Ultimate, ACD Thunder LED 27, MBA 13 Ultimate, iPhone 4S 64Gb White, iPad 3 32Gb White, TimeCapsule 2TB
CHSeifert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 03:14 PM   #6
Wind06
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cannes - South of France
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHSeifert View Post
Would a combination of iPad, TimeCapsule and Denon 3311 surround receiver work so you didn't have to leave any of your Mac computers turned on while playing and accessing your iTunes music library and folders on the TimeCapsule ?

Good question, but I don't have an iPad for the time being ....
Wind06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airport Time Capsule Server? DjAbeK Mac Basics and Help 1 Dec 25, 2013 09:15 PM
Time capsule as file server for casual use Baconstripss Mac Peripherals 25 Oct 15, 2013 10:24 AM
OSX server & Time Capsule grimfool Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 Apr 13, 2013 12:17 PM
Multiple Time Capsule Server deanknox Mac Peripherals 0 Nov 4, 2012 01:08 AM
Time Capsule as a music server. tagallagher Buying Tips and Advice 1 Oct 31, 2012 10:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC