Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 28, 2011, 10:14 AM   #1
DeLoMan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
How to re-download Lion from App Store?

I was downloading Lion with my Dev account from the Mac App store as I was re-partitioning my HD. Something went wrong with the download and I can't seem to restart or resume it! I have uninstalled the App Store and re-installed by running the 10.6.6 combo updater again. When I try the redemption code, I am informed that it was already used.

Now all I can see in the App Store when trying to redownload is this:


Any tips/tricks to erase that and re-start the download? Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Problem.jpg
Views:	1960
Size:	77.4 KB
ID:	273440  
__________________
Late '08 MBP 2.53 Ghz 8GB RAM 1TB HD
iPhone 5 Black 16GB
iPad Air Verizon Black 64GB

Last edited by DeLoMan; Feb 28, 2011 at 10:29 AM.
DeLoMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 10:18 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
You can only download it once. You either wait till the next build or go the other route outside the Mac App Store.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 10:26 AM   #3
DeLoMan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
You can only download it once. You either wait till the next build or go the other route outside the Mac App Store.
Well that sucks. I miss the good old days of downloading from Apple's website.
__________________
Late '08 MBP 2.53 Ghz 8GB RAM 1TB HD
iPhone 5 Black 16GB
iPad Air Verizon Black 64GB
DeLoMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 11:00 AM   #4
tourada
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Idaho
Send a message via AIM to tourada
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

Contact apple. I've heard of that happening on the developer forums. They could help.
__________________
Macbook, Mac Mini, iPhone 4S

Last edited by tourada; Feb 28, 2011 at 11:00 AM.
tourada is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 11:44 AM   #5
DeLoMan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tourada View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

Contact apple. I've heard of that happening on the developer forums. They could help.
I did an hour or so ago. Waiting to hear back.
__________________
Late '08 MBP 2.53 Ghz 8GB RAM 1TB HD
iPhone 5 Black 16GB
iPad Air Verizon Black 64GB
DeLoMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 12:12 PM   #6
tourada
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Idaho
Send a message via AIM to tourada
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeLoMan View Post
I did an hour or so ago. Waiting to hear back.
Ok good. I just checked the developer forums. Said the same thing. Contact apple. It may take a little bit right now since Lion was just released and this issue seems like it happened to quite a few.
__________________
Macbook, Mac Mini, iPhone 4S
tourada is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 02:57 PM   #7
DeLoMan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
From the Dev forum, this fixed it for me:

"For those of you who have received "An error has occurred" while downloading the Lion Developer Preview in the App Store, here is a fix to start the download again:

1. Close the App Store.
2. Open Finder and browse to your home directory (~)
3. Open up Library/Application Support/AppStore/manifest.plist in Xcode.
4. Change the values 'failed' and 'paused' from YES to NO.
5. Move the directory '420410606' to the Trash.
6. Launch the App Store, go to Purchases and click Resume."
__________________
Late '08 MBP 2.53 Ghz 8GB RAM 1TB HD
iPhone 5 Black 16GB
iPad Air Verizon Black 64GB
DeLoMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 11:45 PM   #8
makina
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
no no it's not "failed" to YES and "pause" to NO,

It's "failed" to NO and "pause" to YES!!
makina is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2011, 02:40 PM   #9
asorta
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Redownload is easy.

Launch the App Store
While holding down the OPTION key, click on the “Purchases” section
You should see “OS X Lion” and “Install” should now be gray and you can click that to re-download Lion (you may have to re-authenticate within the App Store with your Apple ID).


That’s it!
asorta is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2011, 03:51 PM   #10
yomibro
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I was searching the forums to see how to re-download Lion again and here is the answer that I needed, thanks!
yomibro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 12:51 PM   #11
Dcuellar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by asorta View Post
Launch the App Store
While holding down the OPTION key, click on the “Purchases” section
You should see “OS X Lion” and “Install” should now be gray and you can click that to re-download Lion (you may have to re-authenticate within the App Store with your Apple ID).


That’s it!
And where is it downloaded to? Sorry for the stupid question.
__________________
15" 2010 MBP, Core i7, HR Glossy, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB 7200 RPM
Dcuellar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 12:53 PM   #12
lamerica80
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Eh what? My install failed to and i went back to SL, then appstore and the Lion button said "install" so i just installed it again.

Don't tell me I just bought Lion twice!
lamerica80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 03:20 PM   #13
Futhark
macrumors 6502a
 
Futhark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by asorta View Post
Launch the App Store
While holding down the OPTION key, click on the “Purchases” section
You should see “OS X Lion” and “Install” should now be gray and you can click that to re-download Lion (you may have to re-authenticate within the App Store with your Apple ID).


That’s it!
I can't get this to work? it just shows me my purchased apps including Lion and has the word installed frayed out but it is not clickable
Futhark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 03:38 PM   #14
iwan073
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Holland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futhark View Post
I can't get this to work? it just shows me my purchased apps including Lion and has the word installed frayed out but it is not clickable
Option-click on the name of the Lion app.
After you do that you'll be able to buy it again. It tells you the price, but when you login your apple account, it says you already have it and it gives you the option to download it again.
__________________
 21.5" iMac Intel Core i5 @ 2.5GHz, 12GB RAM, 500GB HDD
 iPhone 5S 16GB Silver
 iPad Air Wi-Fi 16GB Silver
iwan073 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 04:08 PM   #15
fisherking
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iwan073 View Post
Option-click on the name of the Lion app.
After you do that you'll be able to buy it again. It tells you the price, but when you login your apple account, it says you already have it and it gives you the option to download it again.
it's cranky, but it works. first i got a message:


then, i tried again, logged in, and, as above....
__________________
mbp@10.9.4 • 4S JB
fisherking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 01:11 PM   #16
jcpenn
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2009
believe it or not, none of above tricks or tricks on other forum or blog would work for me, such as - http://themacscreencastguy.com/blog/...ding-lion.html

I believe it's something related to the cookies or temp files or whatever files that apple stored in my hard drive (not the Lion app for sure since I already deleted the corrupted download).

My last resort is to find another Mac machine that has never went online to AppStore, login to my account, retyped in my cc info. Boom, it now let me redownload it.

Man... 8 hours of my time were gone because of this stupid thing. Apple should make it easier. I would love to pay 200 dollars to apple if I would only want to purchase another Lion from my apple id. Unfortunately from the same account, I could not ,even I was willing to pay 200 dollars
I dont want to create another apple id with same cc info.

8 hours of my time equals to 500 dollars
jcpenn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 01:18 PM   #17
jcpenn
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2009
forgot to say, when using a new computer to login to Appstore to redownload lion, make sure you hold the option key before launching App Store. I dont know if that did the trick in the new OS, it at least worked for me after trying several OS and Macs. I am also surprised that apple is going to release 10.7.2 ?? another nightmare of app store download? geez, give me a break, Apple

try something easier and more user friendly. dont put cookies or any small files in our computer to control thinigs in App store. Make it simple , reusable, and friendly. Everything now is Cloud based. You want iCloud right? Apple?
dont hide any temp files to control app store in local disk. Make everything online and we can modify it and redownload whatever we have purchased.

1 star for poor Lion at my poor beginning (N)(N)(N)(N)(N)
jcpenn is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 03:14 PM   #18
biggenie
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: U.S.A.
I have two Mini servers that were purchased in late May of this year. I had Snow Leopard Server on them and upgraded to Lion. I had some issues after the upgrade so I thought I'd start with a clean install. I had a boot image of the Lion OS that I was able to get from an upgrade on my MacBook Pro. This is a good image because I used it to do a scratch install on the MacBook Pro. Also, I have the additional Server.app that was download from the App Store with the Lion Server OS. The problem I’m having is the Mini will not load the Lion image. The log says, “Couldn’t find Mac OS X (Server) install data”. Part of the problem is when you download the Lion Server it forces you to get Lion first and then you get the honor of buying and downloading the server component (that’s $87.58/per Mini with tax). After the upgrade the install gets deleted on the server.

I’ve made bootable DVD and USB images that work great with the MacBook Pro. I haven’t been able to find anything on what to do about a boot image for Lion Server. I’m stuck right now and I think I’m going to have to reload Snow Leopard Server off of the DVD that came with the Mini server (read irony, loathing and frustration here) and then redo the download for Lion Server.

Any help would be greatly appreciated with regard to making a bootable Lion OS Server image.

One other thing; Lion will not load on a RAID mirrored pair due to the recovery crap. Grrrr….

http://www.infoworld.com/d/networkin...67787?page=0,0
biggenie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2011, 12:10 AM   #19
Gregnyrfan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Hold OPTION while selecting MacLion Icon and hold OPTION while clicking "Install" button.
Gregnyrfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2011, 12:11 AM   #20
Gregnyrfan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
For a more detailed location on where the AppStore downloads the files -->

You have to have Hidden Files SHOWING!!!

Macintosh HD \ private \ var \ folders \ xv \ ttygflms2w1frc41jvtd85zc0000gn \ C \com.apple.appstore

This is where AppStore downloads and stores files before installation.

NOTE: some of the filenames could be different than mine (ttygfl... and C)

Hope this helps.
Gregnyrfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2011, 09:21 AM   #21
dyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: .nl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregnyrfan View Post
Hold OPTION while selecting MacLion Icon and hold OPTION while clicking "Install" button.
This does not work for a lot of people. It is a hit or miss feature. I actually had to open the MAS, click on Purchased and then option click on the label next to the Lion icon. That opened the Lion page with a button saying "install".
dyn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2011, 08:27 AM   #22
macbookman83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyn View Post
This does not work for a lot of people. It is a hit or miss feature. I actually had to open the MAS, click on Purchased and then option click on the label next to the Lion icon. That opened the Lion page with a button saying "install".
It does work. Option then click on the purchases tab. Lion should now saw install. Click on it then you should be able to download.
__________________
13" Macbook Air (1.8/8gb), Space Grey iPhone 5s,32Gb)) Apple TV 2 and Apple TV 3, 11" Macbook Air core 2 duo 128 GB
macbookman83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2011, 10:40 PM   #23
blueprint1983
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Missouri
Send a message via AIM to blueprint1983
Quote:
Originally Posted by macbookman83 View Post
It does work. Option then click on the purchases tab. Lion should now saw install. Click on it then you should be able to download.
Not here either.
blueprint1983 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2011, 12:07 AM   #24
JRFmac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Go to "view my account" under Store, then click to show hidden purchases. Go purchases and Lion will now be visible to be reinstalled.
JRFmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2011, 05:52 AM   #25
Dopsteri
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeLoMan View Post
From the Dev forum, this fixed it for me:

"For those of you who have received "An error has occurred" while downloading the Lion Developer Preview in the App Store, here is a fix to start the download again:

1. Close the App Store.
2. Open Finder and browse to your home directory (~)
3. Open up Library/Application Support/AppStore/manifest.plist in Xcode.
4. Change the values 'failed' and 'paused' from YES to NO.
5. Move the directory '420410606' to the Trash.
6. Launch the App Store, go to Purchases and click Resume."
--------
For me the problem solved after deleting the .plist -file in Library/Application Support/CrashReporter on OS 10.6.8

Thanks for your advises!
Dopsteri is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clean install Lion (can't download from app store) silverhand31 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 14 Jun 10, 2013 08:48 AM
Can't download OSX from App Store: "OS X Mountain Lion is not compatible with..." jaczor Mac mini 8 Apr 10, 2013 07:53 AM
Creating a Lion Installer (Lion download no longer supported in App Store) Jeff Troiano Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 5 Feb 3, 2013 07:11 AM
How to Re-Download Lion From the Mac App Store MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 65 Nov 14, 2012 12:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC