Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 2, 2011, 01:50 PM   #1
Reefbone
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
How does get Facetime to work on iPad/iTouch?

How does/will Facetime work on iPad? If it's not a phone how would one call it? I have an iPhone 4 and only one phone on my account so how could/would I "call home". Does one need 3G and WiFi or WiFi only to Facetime?
Reefbone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2011, 01:52 PM   #2
Julien
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta
Facetime is over WiFi and not cell/phone (hopefully it will be 3G someday but still no phone call needed). You can simply hit Facetime on a Contact (at the botem right) and it will bypass phone calling.
Julien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2011, 01:53 PM   #3
djrod
macrumors 6502a
 
djrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madrid - Spain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefbone View Post
How does/will Facetime work on iPad? If it's not a phone how would one call it? I have an iPhone 4 and only one phone on my account so how could/would I "call home". Does one need 3G and WiFi or WiFi only to Facetime?
as it does on a Mac, you "call" the email address, not the phone number.
__________________
404 : Signature not found
djrod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2011, 01:54 PM   #4
stev3n
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Use the email address designated for FaceTime of the person you are calling. iPhone 4 and iPod touch (4th generation): Using FaceTime
stev3n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2011, 01:54 PM   #5
fpnc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Facetime already works on the iPod touch, it uses your email address to make the connection over WiFi and out through the internet.
fpnc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2011, 01:59 PM   #6
Reefbone
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Wow... I was under the thought the video went over the Internet and the voice went over ATT's cellular service. If Facetime is entirely VOIP then how come when I make a normal call while on WiFi it doesn't through VOIP also?

Just to verify... Facetime calls do not count against plan minutes?
Reefbone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2011, 04:46 PM   #7
stev3n
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefbone View Post
Just to verify... Facetime calls do not count against plan minutes?
FaceTime does not use any of your plan minutes.
stev3n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2011, 05:13 PM   #8
Spiterwolf
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
wifi
Spiterwolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2011, 07:04 PM   #9
Julien
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefbone View Post
...how come when I make a normal call while on WiFi it doesn't through VOIP also?...
When you dial a phone number you use cell phone service to make the call and it has nothing to do with your phone being connected to WiFi or not connected. You must be connected to cell service to make a cell phone call. When you make a FaceTime it is WiFi over internet only and has nothing to do with cell service. This is why AT&T/Verizon don't support it because it would bypass their profitable voice minutes while "hoging" up data/internet usage.
Julien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 03:38 PM   #10
Reefbone
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julien View Post
When you dial a phone number you use cell phone service to make the call and it has nothing to do with your phone being connected to WiFi or not connected. You must be connected to cell service to make a cell phone call. When you make a FaceTime it is WiFi over internet only and has nothing to do with cell service. This is why AT&T/Verizon don't support it because it would bypass their profitable voice minutes while "hoging" up data/internet usage.
Really then the only reason is that it doesn't use your plan minutes. I think this stinks especially since it they would need to have Apple in cahoots to make it this way. Seems like they could eleviate some of their cell traffic if all calls went through VOIP when on WIFI but maybe I don't understand VOIP. I guess someone needs to maintainthe VOIP servers... Apple I assume then does this for Facetime so then it would have to be ATT for the other WIFI calls?
Reefbone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 06:10 PM   #11
PCClone
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefbone View Post
Wow... I was under the thought the video went over the Internet and the voice went over ATT's cellular service. If Facetime is entirely VOIP then how come when I make a normal call while on WiFi it doesn't through VOIP also?

Just to verify... Facetime calls do not count against plan minutes?
Try using google.com.
PCClone is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Facetime not working on iPad 2 why? pectin232 iPad 2 Mar 17, 2011 09:58 AM
Any way to get MMS to work with iPad SIM on iPhone 4? HiFiGuy528 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Aug 5, 2010 06:47 PM
How to get HDDERASE to work on MacBook Pro Unibody? steffi MacBook Pro 4 Apr 25, 2010 11:17 AM
How to get FLV to work on iPod evan g Digital Video 19 Nov 1, 2009 07:28 AM
How to get Xdrive to work on Macs? mcdawson Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jun 26, 2008 12:17 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC