Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 2, 2011, 09:49 PM   #1
iMacC2D
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Mac OS X Lion *does* run on Core Duos/Core Solos.



By removing System/Library/CoreServices/PlatformSupport.plist, an unsupported Intel based system (Core Solo, Core Duo, or any Mac that's been upgraded to a Core 2 Duo) will successfully boot into Mac OS X Lion Developer Preview. It has no issues running any of the applications (Safari works, for example) and the overall speed of the system is on par and faster depending on spec than its Core 2 Duo based counterpart. (Compared with my Late 2006 CD iMac Core 2 Duo)

You should also be able to add the motherboard identifier to PlatformSupport.plist and have it work. The motherboard identifier can be retrieved by booting a Core Duo from a standard Lion install in Verbose Mode, or you can run Primate Labs Geekbench which will give you the motherboard identifier once it's benchmark results have been submitted to their online database.

Overall, owners of Core Solos, Core Duos and upgraded-to Core 2 Duos can hope that Apple either keeps this in place until the final release, or even better, their machines won't be obsoleted after all and this is only a temporary measure. Fingers crossed.


Credits to mcdermd on the 68k Macintosh Liberation Army forums for pointing out the method of removing the plist to bypass the board identifier check to make it boot on a Core 2 Duo upgraded Mac Mini (Early 2006). After some quick checks on an old iMac Core Duo I had around, i'm pleased to be able to say it works perfectly on here as well.
iMacC2D is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2011, 11:05 PM   #2
Steve Ballmer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Redmond, WA
But the average Mac user will never know about this because they will never edit/alter/remove such .plist files. Interesting to know it is possible, though.
__________________
Where do you want to go today?
Steve Ballmer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 01:50 AM   #3
iMacC2D
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
For sure. It'll be for the tweakers more than anything, but some minor modification can get you a long way with an unsupported machine and the fact it's possible at all is great, imho.

Unless Apple goes ahead and changes it by the time the gold master comes around. That would be a problem.
iMacC2D is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 02:25 AM   #4
AndyK
Contributor
 
AndyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England.
It's cool it's been hacked too show it "can" be done, but it "wont" simply because of what's posted above me, in that the average user that is bummed their machine is becoming unsupported will either upgrade too a new one or stay on Snow Leopard.

For advanced users it's great though, although I'm not sure why
__________________
Search before you post.
AndyK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 02:31 AM   #5
Steve Ballmer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Redmond, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMacC2D View Post
For sure. It'll be for the tweakers more than anything, but some minor modification can get you a long way with an unsupported machine and the fact it's possible at all is great, imho.

Unless Apple goes ahead and changes it by the time the gold master comes around. That would be a problem.
That's very much a possibility, especially since Apple tends to lock out older systems as an incentive to upgrade to new hardware.
__________________
Where do you want to go today?
Steve Ballmer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 02:44 AM   #6
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMacC2D View Post
For sure. It'll be for the tweakers more than anything, but some minor modification can get you a long way with an unsupported machine and the fact it's possible at all is great, imho.

Unless Apple goes ahead and changes it by the time the gold master comes around. That would be a problem.
I'm also not sure, that Rosetta will be disabled forever in Lion. I think Apple disabled it in the Lion DP, because they need to port it to 64-Bit Intel x86_64 instructions.
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 03:06 AM   #7
Embio
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
iMacC2D - is your machine having issues with sleep? My Macbook seemed to be having a couple but I am suspecting that this was due to being booted off USB/ODD ATA connections. Not quite ready to install on the SSD just yet, but a pleasant surprise that my Macbook from 2006 is still running the latest OS in 2011
__________________
Macbook Early 2006 (with late 2006 logicboard ;-))
Galaxy Nexus GSM
Embio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 07:06 AM   #8
iMacC2D
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Couldn't give you a definitive answer there. I've been running it from an external USB SATA case as well. I haven't noticed any sleep issues so far, but i've only played around with it for a limited amount of time before booting back into Snow Leopard.
iMacC2D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 09:13 AM   #9
Embio
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
aye don't suppose it'd be as big a problem on an iMac! I wonder if it will be killed in the next build... certainly hope not. If the Kernel is 32bit and the applications are still being compiled for 32bit, what else is there?
__________________
Macbook Early 2006 (with late 2006 logicboard ;-))
Galaxy Nexus GSM
Embio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 01:29 PM   #10
scenemissing
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I remember the same thing went on with the 10.5 update. It would check for a given processor speed. The easy way around was to put the drive in something else, upgrade, and put it back...
scenemissing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 03:15 PM   #11
iMacC2D
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Difference with 10.5 is that the checks were at the installer level. If you could get the OS installed on another machine or skip the checks in the installer via other methods, you didn't need to do anything else afterward.

It's very similar in this case, you can install from a newer machine or even Target Disk Mode the older Mac to a newer Mac and run the installer on the newer Mac to the older Macs drive. The difference is because the check is actually built in to the operating system, you have to remember to trash that plist file after the installer is done.

As far as the scenario goes though, it's pretty much the same. Leopard ran well on quite a few G4s, especially the 800MHz Dual Processor models that were also excluded from support. Leopard upgrades on older machines, although it never became a mainstream occurrence, did become popular with the technically inclined and hobbyist groups.
iMacC2D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 03:34 PM   #12
Stevelane
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Talking Yes it does boot!

Thanks for the tip iMacC2D I would never have got it going without!
I am running an ancient core 2 Duo 2.16 iMac and so far Lion works fine for me. Of course it's early days yet.



Steve

Last edited by Mitthrawnuruodo; Jun 14, 2011 at 12:39 PM. Reason: No need to quote the entire first post...
Stevelane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 03:45 PM   #13
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Btw, as long as

Code:
lipo -info /mach_kernel
returns "i386", you should be able to use Lion on 32-Bit Intel machines.
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 03:48 PM   #14
axu539
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
This is great for tweakers, but I'd expect the Lion experience to not be optimal on those machines. How does it feel on the Core Duo iMac?
__________________
15" MacBookPro10,1 2.6 GHz/16GB/256GB (on its way) | 11" MacBookAir4,1 1.6GHz/4GB/128GB | iPhone4S 16GB White
axu539 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 04:02 PM   #15
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by axu539 View Post
This is great for tweakers, but I'd expect the Lion experience to not be optimal on those machines. How does it feel on the Core Duo iMac?
Please read the thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by iMacC2D View Post
It has no issues running any of the applications (Safari works, for example) and the overall speed of the system is on par and faster depending on spec than its Core 2 Duo based counterpart. (Compared with my Late 2006 CD iMac Core 2 Duo)
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 04:20 PM   #16
axu539
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Retrofire View Post
Please read the thread!
Oops, must have missed that bit!
__________________
15" MacBookPro10,1 2.6 GHz/16GB/256GB (on its way) | 11" MacBookAir4,1 1.6GHz/4GB/128GB | iPhone4S 16GB White
axu539 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 04:25 PM   #17
newfoundglory
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Retrofire View Post
Btw, as long as

Code:
lipo -info /mach_kernel
returns "i386", you should be able to use Lion on 32-Bit Intel machines.
Rather odd that Apple have (currently) chosen not to 'support' 32-bit processors, but that the kernel is still a fat binary..... does this mean they are currently undecided... or are they doing a 2006 "just in case" scenario?

Most of us with 64 bit machines could do without the extra fat!
newfoundglory is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 08:46 PM   #18
iMacC2D
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by axu539 View Post
This is great for tweakers, but I'd expect the Lion experience to not be optimal on those machines. How does it feel on the Core Duo iMac?
I have it running from an external hard drive, so the disk operations aren't as quick as they could be. However apart from that the performance is the same as my Late 2006 Core 2 Duo iMac and MacBook. It's not as quick as a current model machine of course, but it doesn't feel slow. As a matter of fact it feels significantly faster than Snow Leopard in some areas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by newfoundglory View Post
Most of us with 64 bit machines could do without the extra fat!
I don't think users of 64-bit machines would gain much, if anything, from having 32-bit support dropped from the operating system. I'm not even sure removing the 32-bit kernel would be an option since a number of Core 2 Duo based Macs are still only capable of running the 32-bit kernel, even under Lion Developer Preview.
iMacC2D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2011, 09:35 AM   #19
richard.mac
macrumors 603
 
richard.mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 51.50024, -0.12662
Send a message via Skype™ to richard.mac
oh wow! thanks iMacC2D! (such a contradicting username ) i havent installed Lion on my Core Duo MBP yet as it was not supported. i knew it would be as simple as deleting/altering a file! as i saw the kernel was indeed i386… damn you Apple!
__________________
If you can't innovate, you just imitate, but it's never quite as good as the original.
Hackintosh - Core i5 4670K, Z87X, 7870XT, 16GB RAM, 128GB SDD | MacBook Air 13" 2013 | iPhone 6 16GB

Last edited by richard.mac; Mar 5, 2011 at 09:41 AM.
richard.mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2011, 06:23 AM   #20
Embio
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
The kernel I can understand, but why is everything else still being compiled in 32bit as well as 64bit? Lion 11a390 may be the last hurrah for Core Duos, I bet retail definitely wont run :-(
__________________
Macbook Early 2006 (with late 2006 logicboard ;-))
Galaxy Nexus GSM
Embio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2011, 06:36 AM   #21
mrkramer
macrumors 601
 
mrkramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Somewhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ballmer View Post
But the average Mac user will never know about this because they will never edit/alter/remove such .plist files. Interesting to know it is possible, though.
I'm pretty sure that almost everyone who cares about having lion on their computer has upgraded their old intel machines, and the ones who haven't upgraded come here to complain and find out about these solutions.
But I wouldn't be surprised if this support was gone in the final release, didn't Leopard support G3s in the betas and then drop that support for the final release?
__________________
"Jesus was the first socialist, the first to seek a better life for mankind." -Mikhail Gorbachev
mrkramer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2011, 06:57 AM   #22
AtariKee
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMacC2D View Post
Difference with 10.5 is that the checks were at the installer level. If you could get the OS installed on another machine or skip the checks in the installer via other methods, you didn't need to do anything else afterward.

It's very similar in this case, you can install from a newer machine or even Target Disk Mode the older Mac to a newer Mac and run the installer on the newer Mac to the older Macs drive. The difference is because the check is actually built in to the operating system, you have to remember to trash that plist file after the installer is done.

As far as the scenario goes though, it's pretty much the same. Leopard ran well on quite a few G4s, especially the 800MHz Dual Processor models that were also excluded from support. Leopard upgrades on older machines, although it never became a mainstream occurrence, did become popular with the technically inclined and hobbyist groups.
Leopard is running on my 550 Mhz TiBook; quite well, in fact. I still have to download the Lion preview when I get time (I see it on the App Store but just haven't gotten around to it) and give this a try.
AtariKee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2011, 07:08 AM   #23
mabaker
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
That is indeed encouraging and all the more egregious from Apple’s side. No excuses accepted from the fanboys.
__________________
„Integrated Intel graphics chip steals power from the CPU and siphons off memory from system-level RAM. You'd have to buy an extra card to get the graphics performance of Mac Mini [..]” - Apple.com
mabaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2011, 07:36 AM   #24
iMacC2D
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard.mac View Post
oh wow! thanks iMacC2D! (such a contradicting username ) i havent installed Lion on my Core Duo MBP yet as it was not supported. i knew it would be as simple as deleting/altering a file! as i saw the kernel was indeed i386… damn you Apple!
Such an awful username... it took me about 4 and a half seconds to come up with it and I haven't been able to shake it since.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkramer View Post
But I wouldn't be surprised if this support was gone in the final release, didn't Leopard support G3s in the betas and then drop that support for the final release?
I believe you would be correct. Early releases of Mac OS X Leopard did have limited support for PowerPC G3 processor based machines. It was dropped from later builds. Whether it happens with Lion remains yet to be seen.
iMacC2D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2011, 08:56 AM   #25
richard.mac
macrumors 603
 
richard.mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 51.50024, -0.12662
Send a message via Skype™ to richard.mac
so i cant get it to install. i restored the installer to a flash drive and removed the plist and tried to install while booted into SL, but it says it cannot be installed on this Mac.

i then i tried to boot into the installer and install, but it still says the same. tried adding my Mac's mobo id, but didnt work.
__________________
If you can't innovate, you just imitate, but it's never quite as good as the original.
Hackintosh - Core i5 4670K, Z87X, 7870XT, 16GB RAM, 128GB SDD | MacBook Air 13" 2013 | iPhone 6 16GB
richard.mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Mini (2012) Dual Core vs Quad Core as a media center CeratixD Buying Tips and Advice 14 Feb 20, 2013 12:32 AM
10.9 Core 2 duos ant043 MacBook Air 4 Jan 28, 2013 07:44 AM
Mid 2007 iMac CPU upgrade: Core 2 Duo to Core 2 Extreme or Core 2 Quad Hexley iMac 2 Dec 9, 2012 09:56 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC