Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 3, 2011, 12:25 AM   #1
jake4ever
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
Java Applet not working on Lion

I do this online program called ALEKS. It requires some little Java thing, which I install. Still, "missing plugin" how do I fix this?
jake4ever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 10:17 AM   #2
qstyler
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Same here.
Need java for internet banking.
Anyone figured out how to intsall java plugins?
qstyler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 11:03 AM   #3
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
This is so easy, I'm surprised more people haven't figured this out yet.

Open Java Preferences in your Applications -> Utilities folder. This will fail with an error about Java not being installed, and will then offer to download it.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 04:20 PM   #4
qstyler
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
But you have to be registered developer, right?

Last edited by qstyler; Mar 3, 2011 at 04:33 PM.
qstyler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 05:57 PM   #5
jake4ever
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrldwzrd89 View Post
This is so easy, I'm surprised more people haven't figured this out yet.

Open Java Preferences in your Applications -> Utilities folder. This will fail with an error about Java not being installed, and will then offer to download it.
Already did that.
jake4ever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 06:33 PM   #6
Steve Ballmer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Redmond, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by qstyler View Post
But you have to be registered developer, right?
This is what I've heard. Give it a try. If it won't download through Software Update then yes, you probably need an ADC account.
__________________
Where do you want to go today?
Steve Ballmer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2011, 05:00 AM   #7
qstyler
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
It downloaded java runtime when I ran Lion for the first time.
But as appears java applets don't run.
Can anyone test these applets:
http://www.w3.org/People/mimasa/test/object/java/
qstyler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2011, 09:55 AM   #8
jake4ever
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
Quote:
Originally Posted by qstyler View Post
It downloaded java runtime when I ran Lion for the first time.
But as appears java applets don't run.
Can anyone test these applets:
http://www.w3.org/People/mimasa/test/object/java/
Not working on Chrome or Safari.
jake4ever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2011, 11:53 AM   #9
qstyler
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Anyone who claims that he has java running
qstyler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2011, 01:43 PM   #10
jake4ever
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
Quote:
Originally Posted by qstyler View Post
Anyone who claims that he has java running
still.... not working..
jake4ever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2011, 08:07 PM   #11
yashrg
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I have to use Java for a system to transfer files from the college server to my laptop. Something called my file. But I can't use it.
yashrg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2011, 08:51 AM   #12
BobJ
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Java applet problem

When I try to use the MoveIt Wizard I get an error message: "Please configure your browser to allow Java applets to access the file system" but I can't figure out how to do it!
BobJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2011, 09:46 PM   #13
RMcMullan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Java For Mac OS X 10.7

You must be an ADC Member, but this will get you Java for 10.7. I am an ADC Member and now Java works.

http://connect.apple.com/cgi-bin/Web...bundleID=20773
RMcMullan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2011, 07:09 AM   #14
iHenning
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oslo
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMcMullan View Post
You must be an ADC Member, but this will get you Java for 10.7. I am an ADC Member and now Java works.

http://connect.apple.com/cgi-bin/Web...bundleID=20773
Thanks for the link, java up and running
iHenning is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2011, 09:34 AM   #15
RMcMullan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Your Welcome

Your welcome, anytime!
RMcMullan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2011, 09:53 AM   #16
ct2k7
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Florida / UK
Note that downloading the Java bundle for the OS is not enough, you actually need the Web Components for Java applets to work in browsers.
ct2k7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2011, 11:40 AM   #17
jake4ever
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMcMullan View Post
You must be an ADC Member, but this will get you Java for 10.7. I am an ADC Member and now Java works.

http://connect.apple.com/cgi-bin/Web...bundleID=20773
Thank you! It works!

...very buggy though.
jake4ever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 09:26 AM   #18
lionkeng
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
try this: http://iheartapple.org/2011/07/singpass-osx-lion/
lionkeng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2012, 09:24 AM   #19
rmiller065
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I fixed mine by...

Applications -> Utilities folder -> Java Preferences App -> (checked box) Enable applet plug-in and Web Start applications
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Retina 512GB 2.8GHz i7 8GB, iMac 21.5-inch 3.2GHz i3 1TB, iPhone 6plus 64GB Silver, iPad Mini 32GB, iPad Air 2 64GB, Apple TV 3rd Gen 1080p HD, Time Capsule - 1 TB
rmiller065 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:44 AM   #20
cozo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
The following has worked for us.

sudo /usr/libexec/PlistBuddy -c "Delete :JavaWebComponentVersionMinimum"
/System/Library/CoreServices/CoreTypes.bundle/Contents/Resources/XProtect.meta.plist
cozo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Tags
apple, java, lion, mac osx lion, not working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot get Java Applet copy/paste to work Wreckie OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Feb 17, 2014 10:11 AM
Apple Releases New Java 6 Updates With Enhanced Security, Uninstalls Apple-Provided Java Applet Plug-in MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 49 Oct 22, 2013 10:58 AM
Java applet won't run tnsmart OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jan 10, 2013 04:38 AM
Java applet not working - anything obvious I have missed? kdum8 Mac Basics and Help 33 Oct 26, 2012 04:06 AM
Free VNC with Java Applet CasuallyAwesome Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Aug 4, 2012 03:45 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC