HDMI video+audio output on a mac pro ... - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 3, 2011, 04:02 PM   #1
gjarold
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
HDMI video+audio output on a mac pro ...

Hello,

I have a 2009 octo mac pro. Currently installed two gt120 cards and driving four displays in my office. All is well.

However, I have a large plasma display, with built-in speakers, in the room next to my office, and I would love to drive this display from the mac pro.

The trick is, I'd like to have a simple, one-cable connection, so I am looking at an HDMI connection from the mac pro to this display. Two questions immediately come to mind:

1) Is there a standard way to tell a mac "when you play this content, send the video and the audio here" ... because connecting the display and creating a 5th screen is easy, but how do I tell it to send the audio over HDMI ? Basically, if my cursor is in the first four displays, just deal with audio normally, but if my cursor is in the 5th display, send audio out the HDMI port.

Or ... I guess I could just send all audio out the HDMI port all the time, and just have it go to nothing, since the display would be turned off (or tuned to another input ...) But does that work ? Can I get audio out my computer speakers AND out of HDMI at the same time ?

2) If any of this is workable, are there any "approved" video cards with HDMI on them ?

I am not interested in a second computer just to enable video content on this screen...

Thanks.
gjarold is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 04:10 PM   #2
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjarold View Post
1) Is there a standard way to tell a mac "when you play this content, send the video and the audio here" ... because connecting the display and creating a 5th screen is easy, but how do I tell it to send the audio over HDMI ? Basically, if my cursor is in the first four displays, just deal with audio normally, but if my cursor is in the 5th display, send audio out the HDMI port.

Or ... I guess I could just send all audio out the HDMI port all the time, and just have it go to nothing, since the display would be turned off (or tuned to another input ...) But does that work ? Can I get audio out my computer speakers AND out of HDMI at the same time ?
Sound preferences. And I believe you can do both in the Audio/MIDI Setup app in Utilities. Not aware of any way to do it per app... But I believe there are third party utilities out there. Some apps let you choose.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjarold View Post
2) If any of this is workable, are there any "approved" video cards with HDMI on them ?

I am not interested in a second computer just to enable video content on this screen...

Thanks.
Just use your digital/optical audio out port and send that to your TV.
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 06:01 PM   #3
gjarold
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjarold View Post
The trick is, I'd like to have a simple, one-cable connection, so I am looking at an HDMI connection from the mac pro to this display.
...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gomac
Just use your digital/optical audio out port and send that to your TV.
That would be two cables.

Ok, so anyway, I can perhaps just output ALL audio out all outputs, all the time, and I just won't notice it coming out of the HDMI-connected display when it is turned off. That's fine.

So ... are there "official" HDMI cards for the mac ?
gjarold is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 06:06 PM   #4
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjarold View Post
That would be two cables.

Ok, so anyway, I can perhaps just output ALL audio out all outputs, all the time, and I just won't notice it coming out of the HDMI-connected display when it is turned off. That's fine.

So ... are there "official" HDMI cards for the mac ?
Well, the best you could do is an adaptor that put it all into one connection, not cheap.

No cards, so it's that or nothing.
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 06:12 PM   #5
minifridge1138
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by goMac View Post
Well, the best you could do is an adaptor that put it all into one connection, not cheap.

No cards, so it's that or nothing.
There currently are no apple video cards with HDMI.
They have mini-display ports and there may be adapters to HDMI.

I don't think there is a way to select more than 1 audio source, so if you send your audio to the TV then you won't have any audio on anything else.

I could be wrong...
minifridge1138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 06:15 PM   #6
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by minifridge1138 View Post
There currently are no apple video cards with HDMI.
Not entirely true. The Mac Mini has HDMI built in, and the 2010 cards have supported MDP->HDMI adaptors, but audio out on those cards only works on the 2010 Mac Pros.

Edit: Here is the adaptor you would need:
http://www.directron.com/mdphdmitos.html?gsear=1
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 06:37 PM   #7
gjarold
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by goMac View Post
Not entirely true. The Mac Mini has HDMI built in, and the 2010 cards have supported MDP->HDMI adaptors, but audio out on those cards only works on the 2010 Mac Pros.

Edit: Here is the adaptor you would need:
http://www.directron.com/mdphdmitos.html?gsear=1

I'm confused ... if a display adaptor can do audio over MDP, it can do it regardless of what system it is plugged into ... if these work on 2010 mac pros and do not work on 2009 mac pros, that is purely a software issue, and an administrative decision by apple ... there's no hardware aspect of the machine that determines it ....

Can you give me an example of one of the "2010 cards" that does audio over MDP ?
gjarold is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 06:44 PM   #8
diazj3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjarold View Post
I'm confused ... if a display adaptor can do audio over MDP, it can do it regardless of what system it is plugged into ... if these work on 2010 mac pros and do not work on 2009 mac pros, that is purely a software issue, and an administrative decision by apple ... there's no hardware aspect of the machine that determines it ....

Can you give me an example of one of the "2010 cards" that does audio over MDP ?
Your 2009 MP with the GT120 cant do audio via mdp. Earlier MPs - that is 2009 and earlier - cant send audio over the graphics card. The GT120 doesn’t have audio at all, and the newer cards, the 5770 and 5870, do manage audio, but according to reports, this feature is only possible on 2010 MPs.
diazj3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 06:45 PM   #9
minifridge1138
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by goMac View Post
Not entirely true. The Mac Mini has HDMI built in, and the 2010 cards have supported MDP->HDMI adaptors, but audio out on those cards only works on the 2010 Mac Pros.

Edit: Here is the adaptor you would need:
http://www.directron.com/mdphdmitos.html?gsear=1

Last time I checked the Mac Mini is not an apple video card.
minifridge1138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 06:48 PM   #10
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjarold View Post
I'm confused ... if a display adaptor can do audio over MDP, it can do it regardless of what system it is plugged into ... if these work on 2010 mac pros and do not work on 2009 mac pros, that is purely a software issue, and an administrative decision by apple ... there's no hardware aspect of the machine that determines it ....

Can you give me an example of one of the "2010 cards" that does audio over MDP ?
The Radeon 5870, but this only functions on a 2010 Mac Pro. Likely a firmware handshake issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by minifridge1138 View Post
Last time I checked the Mac Mini is not an apple video card.
No, but it has an Apple video card.
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 07:03 PM   #11
gjarold
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by diazj3 View Post
Your 2009 MP with the GT120 cant do audio via mdp. Earlier MPs - that is 2009 and earlier - cant send audio over the graphics card. The GT120 doesn’t have audio at all, and the newer cards, the 5770 and 5870, do manage audio, but according to reports, this feature is only possible on 2010 MPs.
I didnt expect the gt120s to do this - I planned on adding a card.

If the 5770/5870 do not do audio on 2009 mac pros, that is PURELY a human, administrative issue - it is not a technical issue at all.

Is there any aspect of owning apple hardware that doesn't quickly devolve into lame apple ******** ? Christ.
gjarold is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 07:08 PM   #12
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjarold View Post
If the 5770/5870 do not do audio on 2009 mac pros, that is PURELY a human, administrative issue - it is not a technical issue at all.
There are some technical reasons that could be causing this. Although I guess you could blame Apple for not patching the 2009 Mac Pro firmware?
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 07:13 PM   #13
gjarold
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Ok, setting aside the rage for a moment...

So the answer here is to buy an adaptor that combines a plain old MDP video output _and_ a toslink audio output into a single HDMI output, and then run that cable to the display.

And that way I could just do it with another gt120 card and be done with it, yes ?

On the preferences side of things, I set audio output to analog when I am seated at the system itself (plain old computer speakers) and then switch it to the toslink output when I go into the other room with the display.

Does that sound workable ? I suppose I could even work up a quick command line to do that prefs switch ...
gjarold is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2011, 07:17 PM   #14
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjarold View Post
Ok, setting aside the rage for a moment...

So the answer here is to buy an adaptor that combines a plain old MDP video output _and_ a toslink audio output into a single HDMI output, and then run that cable to the display.

And that way I could just do it with another gt120 card and be done with it, yes ?

On the preferences side of things, I set audio output to analog when I am seated at the system itself (plain old computer speakers) and then switch it to the toslink output when I go into the other room with the display.

Does that sound workable ? I suppose I could even work up a quick command line to do that prefs switch ...
Yep, that should work.
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2011, 03:21 PM   #15
cptjacksparrow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
HDMI audio + Optical audio weirdness

Quote:
Originally Posted by goMac View Post
Sound preferences. And I believe you can do both in the Audio/MIDI Setup app in Utilities. Not aware of any way to do it per app... But I believe there are third party utilities out there. Some apps let you choose.



Just use your digital/optical audio out port and send that to your TV.
So I am running an HDMI cable from my Mac Pro to my blurry and then HDMI to my television and I can get video and stereo audio. My blurRay when playing a dvd or from my ipod or from a bluRAY disc allows me to use the different soundfeild modes. No such luck from my Mac pro through the HDMI. BUT when i connected the optical out i WAS able to use all the fancy soundfield modes. The problem with this is that I now am forced to run the video straight to the tv through the HDMI port on the tv. The weird thing is that now the hdmi drops out every few sections.
RECAP
HDMI from Mac pro to blu ray, great graphics mediocre sound.
optical form Mac pro to blue great audio (no video)
HDMI straight from MAc pro to tv because of optical to blue ray. Terrible video
WTF?????
cptjacksparrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2011, 08:46 PM   #16
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by cptjacksparrow View Post
So I am running an HDMI cable from my Mac Pro to my blurry and then HDMI to my television and I can get video and stereo audio. My blurRay when playing a dvd or from my ipod or from a bluRAY disc allows me to use the different soundfeild modes. No such luck from my Mac pro through the HDMI. BUT when i connected the optical out i WAS able to use all the fancy soundfield modes. The problem with this is that I now am forced to run the video straight to the tv through the HDMI port on the tv. The weird thing is that now the hdmi drops out every few sections.
RECAP
HDMI from Mac pro to blu ray, great graphics mediocre sound.
optical form Mac pro to blue great audio (no video)
HDMI straight from MAc pro to tv because of optical to blue ray. Terrible video
WTF?????
I'm not entirely sure why you are connecting your HDMI to a Bluray player. That sounds like a bad plan.

If you mean that your Bluray player has a built in receiver, I have had plenty of issues with that setup just using video components in general. Those devices aren't really meant to work with other devices.

Plug into your TV, see if your Bluray player has just audio input. Video goes right to the TV, audio goes to Bluray player. Don't route the video through the Bluray player.
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2011, 11:17 PM   #17
cptjacksparrow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by goMac View Post
I'm not entirely sure why you are connecting your HDMI to a Bluray player. That sounds like a bad plan.

If you mean that your Bluray player has a built in receiver, I have had plenty of issues with that setup just using video components in general. Those devices aren't really meant to work with other devices.

Plug into your TV, see if your Bluray player has just audio input. Video goes right to the TV, audio goes to Bluray player. Don't route the video through the Bluray player.
See thats exactly my problem. it ONLY works when it goes through the blu ray receiver. It DOES NOT work when it goes straight to the tv. have been doing some more research and am thinking that HDCP protocols are causing a problem with the "handshake" not sure tho
cptjacksparrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2011, 11:01 AM   #18
Squishy Tia
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by goMac View Post
The Radeon 5870, but this only functions on a 2010 Mac Pro. Likely a firmware handshake issue.
And here's the fun part: The HDMI audio output works on the same Mac Pro (1,1) that I have, using the same card (HD5770 and HD5870, currently using the 5870), but in Windows using AMD's HDMI Audio Driver.

So it can work just fine and dandy in Windows with simple drivers but is cockblocked by a firmware check in OS X. GG Apple.
Squishy Tia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2011, 12:01 PM   #19
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Enable MDP Audio on 4,1 2009 Mac Pros

Run the 5,1 firmware update at Netkas forums and the MDP audio works on 5770 and 5870 with 4,1 2009 machine. I have first hand knowledge of this, not reposting but have done it myself.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 08:31 AM   #20
PJALM
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Did anyone get this working? I have a Mac Pro 1,1 and recently bought the ATI HD5770 video card for it from Apple (Authentic Apple Card). In Windows, the audio over the MDP to HDMI works perfectly but nothing at all in OSX. You can't tell me that The Mac Pro 1,1 don't support it because it definetly works in Windows so its a software issue from Apple. There must be a way to override some setting to make it work.
PJALM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 01:15 PM   #21
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
The setting appears to be in the firmware because the 2009 cannot pass audio over HDMI/MDP, but it will if you flash it with the 2010 firmware.

However, that's not helpful to you with a MP 1.1. Your best bet is to get the adapter mentioned earlier in the thread. It combines the digital audio and video outs from the MP and combines them into a single HDMI.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 03:14 PM   #22
drac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Flash to 5.1 works.

I put a 5870 in my 4.1 mac pro and did the netkas flash.

Worked a treat. I can now do audio via analogue out if just playing music or via HDMI if gaming on the big LCD.
drac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My MBP won't output hdmi audio to AV receiver (but to tv works fine) !!?!?! SHNXX MacBook Pro 6 Feb 19, 2014 04:01 AM
Audio Output changes from HDMI Westyfield2 Mac mini 0 Jan 18, 2013 01:25 PM
HDMI output only outputs certain audio (not for Youtube, Hulu, but does for Netflix) Exitium MacBook Pro 2 Dec 16, 2012 10:12 PM
no video output over hdmi or display port hdmi after dual monitor setup mystikjoe Mac mini 0 Sep 18, 2012 09:30 AM
output HDMI w/ audio for macpro 3,1? Dimbles Mac Pro 6 Jul 19, 2012 04:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC