Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 5, 2011, 02:12 PM   #1
Blakeasd
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Change Wifi Password

By accident I entered the wrong wifi password. I need to change it so I can connect to wifi. I know how to do this on Snow Leopard, but I can't get it to work on Lion.
All Help Appreciated,
Thanks
Blakeasd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2011, 02:17 PM   #2
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
System Preferences > Network > Advanced... > Select your network > Click that small pencil icon next to + and - icons.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2011, 06:04 PM   #3
Blakeasd
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
What goes in the username field? I just want to change the password to connect because I entered it incorrectly the first time.
Blakeasd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 08:29 AM   #4
sparkie1506
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
System Preferences > Network > Advanced... > Select your network > Click that small pencil icon next to + and - icons.
I have done as you said.. System Preferences > Network > Advanced... > Select your network > but I don't see the pencil icon, am I missing something on my OS X Lion install or did they forget to add it
sparkie1506 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 10:00 AM   #5
mrapplegate
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkie1506 View Post
I have done as you said.. System Preferences > Network > Advanced... > Select your network > but I don't see the pencil icon, am I missing something on my OS X Lion install or did they forget to add it
I don't see it there either. It used to be there. Just delete and add again.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Network.jpg
Views:	2445
Size:	37.4 KB
ID:	296412  
mrapplegate is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 10:04 AM   #6
sparkie1506
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrapplegate View Post
I don't see it there either. It used to be there. Just delete and add again.
I tried delete and add again but the old settings seem to be stored and it just adds the old settings. It there some way to hard delete?
sparkie1506 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 10:06 AM   #7
mrapplegate
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkie1506 View Post
I tried delete and add again but the old settings seem to be stored and it just adds the old settings. It there some way to hard delete?
You deleted them, hit OK, then Apply on the screen before and it still saves the network?
Check your keychain and delete the entry there if above does not work.
mrapplegate is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 10:09 AM   #8
sparkie1506
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrapplegate View Post
You deleted them, hit OK, then Apply on the screen before and it still saves the network?
Yes, all the old settings are still there, when I delete and click OK I even get asked for my password to check I am admin... still saves settings
sparkie1506 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 10:10 AM   #9
mrapplegate
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkie1506 View Post
Yes, all the old settings are still there, when I delete and click OK I even get asked for my password to check I am admin... still saves settings
Try removing the password from the keychain.
mrapplegate is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 10:14 AM   #10
mrapplegate
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Uncheck , "Ask to join networks" on the Network Preferences pane. It should not prevent you from being able to delete it, but who knows.
mrapplegate is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 10:15 AM   #11
sparkie1506
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrapplegate View Post
Try removing the password from the keychain.
OK that fixed it, bit long winded.. someone needs to tell Uncle Steve about that

Thanks for your help mrapplegate
sparkie1506 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 10:16 AM   #12
mrapplegate
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkie1506 View Post
OK that fixed it, bit long winded.. someone needs to tell Uncle Steve about that

Thanks for your help mrapplegate
No problem. He said everything will be be fixed 10.7.1
mrapplegate is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 10:17 AM   #13
sparkie1506
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrapplegate View Post
No problem. He said everything will be be fixed 10.7.1
Hope they wont be his famous last words
sparkie1506 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2011, 05:59 PM   #14
solarisc
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I am using OS lion and did what the poster said but it didn't have the pencil icon, how am I going to get it to show the password. I need to retrieve the password from the wifi network very badly.

Thanks for all of your help
solarisc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2011, 05:36 AM   #15
Rowf
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarisc View Post
I am using OS lion and did what the poster said but it didn't have the pencil icon, how am I going to get it to show the password. I need to retrieve the password from the wifi network very badly.

Thanks for all of your help
http://www.maclife.com/article/howto...eychain_access

Choose system from the left column and enter your login and password.
Rowf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 03:34 PM   #16
Aaron122
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Not in Keychain

I read and went through this thread, doing as you say. But when I got to Keychain, all my wireless networks were there except for the one I'm trying to change. It is definitely WPA-2 Personal and has the little lock on the side so it must have a password. But it seems that it's not in the Keychain Access.
Aaron122 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 05:45 AM   #17
ImAppalled
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
There is no pencil/edit icon next to wifi connections

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron122 View Post
I read and went through this thread, doing as you say. But when I got to Keychain, all my wireless networks were there except for the one I'm trying to change. It is definitely WPA-2 Personal and has the little lock on the side so it must have a password. But it seems that it's not in the Keychain Access.

I'm having the exact same problem. I visited the link posted by Rowf and followed instructions -- when I get to the Keychain app, I see plenty of stored wifi passwords, but not the one I want.

The bottom line is that WIFI passwords are not editable/viewable through 'Network - Airport - Advanced'.

I'm using a Macbook running 10.7.4

Any ideas?


[[ Update -- I just tried going through the same process on my girlfriend's macbook running 10.6.1. On her Mac, the pencil icon DOES appear, allowing you to view/edit icons. So is this a 10.7 thing? ]]

Last edited by ImAppalled; Aug 17, 2012 at 05:49 AM. Reason: New information
ImAppalled is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2012, 03:55 AM   #18
allexp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron122 View Post
I read and went through this thread, doing as you say. But when I got to Keychain, all my wireless networks were there except for the one I'm trying to change. It is definitely WPA-2 Personal and has the little lock on the side so it must have a password. But it seems that it's not in the Keychain Access.
In the Keychain look for it under System/All items.
allexp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 01:58 PM   #19
vtmiller
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by allexp View Post
In the Keychain look for it under System/All items.
This is it!!! Thank you.
vtmiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 05:51 PM   #20
Lu.17
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Ignore the fact that your desired connection is check-marked in the drop down menu, and go to the bottom and select 'join network' - type in the name of the network you want and then you will be prompted for a password. This should allow you to reset.
Lu.17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2013, 02:50 AM   #21
James717
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lu.17 View Post
Ignore the fact that your desired connection is check-marked in the drop down menu, and go to the bottom and select 'join network' - type in the name of the network you want and then you will be prompted for a password. This should allow you to reset.


Mine isn't.

I have the Macbook Air 2013.

This is a very frustrating problem.

Why can't we have the option to re-input PASSWORD or FORGET the network????
James717 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I change my password? dsfadsfa Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 3 Jan 19, 2014 11:12 AM
WiFi prompts password first time, but how to get the prompt again if wrong password? James717 MacBook Air 5 Aug 16, 2013 01:11 PM
safari doesn't update my wifi login information, not the wifi password dingalpha iPhone 1 Feb 8, 2013 12:43 PM
iPad Mini: Mini disconnecting from Wifi and prompting me for wifi password fdama iPad 7 Dec 14, 2012 05:31 PM
how to change email password in iPhone when i forgot password that i registered with? 1madapple iPhone 2 Nov 4, 2012 12:08 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC