Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 6, 2011, 12:21 AM   #1
zykke
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
mac not recognizing my midi keyboard

Hello,

I have a Studiologic Numa which connects via USB. For some reason when I connect the USB cable it powers on the keyboard but mac does not recognize it at all, and Audio Midi Setup is useless when I ask it to rescan midi. This is a brand new macbook pro running Snow Leopard. Oddly enough, it works fine with my old macbook running Leopard. As far as I know my USB port works fine, as I've tried with both ports and they seem to work well with my external hard drives. I have also tried to change the USB cable to no avail

Any ideas?
zykke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2011, 08:38 PM   #2
xmatthamptonx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 'merika
Send a message via Skype™ to xmatthamptonx
Ahh

Same here.
Novation Remote SL says "Automap is offline"
Midi setup recognized device a few times before but doesn't at all now. Scan doesn't help. Powers on via USB but that's all I can get now. I've also tried connecting via midi cable through fasttrackpro interface to no avail.
xmatthamptonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2011, 11:15 PM   #3
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by zykke View Post
Hello,

I have a Studiologic Numa which connects via USB. For some reason when I connect the USB cable it powers on the keyboard but mac does not recognize it at all, and Audio Midi Setup is useless when I ask it to rescan midi. This is a brand new macbook pro running Snow Leopard. Oddly enough, it works fine with my old macbook running Leopard. As far as I know my USB port works fine, as I've tried with both ports and they seem to work well with my external hard drives. I have also tried to change the USB cable to no avail

Any ideas?
I think you are going to have to buy a MIDI/USB cable and use the Numa's MIDI Out port. Or maybe even buy a USB or Firewire audio interface that has built-in MIDI.

It looks like Studiologic and Apple have different ideas about how a class compliant USB port should work.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2011, 12:42 PM   #4
paricha
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seattle
I had the same problem with my brand new MacBook Pro(2011). I took it to the Genius Bar along with my Numa Nano. After trying it on a number of different MacBooks, we found that the problem was on all the new MacBooks(2011). The laptops from 2010 saw it fine. So Apple did something different. The Apple genius sent corporate support a note on it. I hope it is just an OS update fix. If you plug in everything and reboot your computer, it should seen it.
paricha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2011, 05:43 PM   #5
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by paricha View Post
I had the same problem with my brand new MacBook Pro(2011). I took it to the Genius Bar along with my Numa Nano. After trying it on a number of different MacBooks, we found that the problem was on all the new MacBooks(2011). The laptops from 2010 saw it fine....
So as I said, Apple and Numa don't agree on how USB MIDI should work. Avoid USB and use the two round MIDI ports or wait and hope Apple fixes this some day soon.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2011, 02:08 AM   #6
DaBu777
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Brampton, Ontario
well....

Is there any solution to this at all? Actually, i have a KORG K61P and having a similar issue.
DaBu777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2011, 12:34 AM   #7
DanCornett
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
64-bit mode MIDI woes?

In another forum (Apple), one user was able to get things working by starting up OS/X in 32-bit mode; evidently the newest MacBook Pros start in 64-bit-mode. See details here: https://discussions.apple.com/thread...75853&tstart=0
DanCornett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 03:15 PM   #8
atostado
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Put a cheap USB hub in your life

Hi! I have the same problem with a Macbook Air 2011 and a Numa Nano. I've solved the problem with a cheap USB hub. The keyboard is recognized incredibly. It's another element in the chain, but the latency remains perfect, and the USB port gives enough power to the hub and the keyboard.

Regards.
Alberto Tostado.
atostado is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Mac does not recognize my Canon HF S100 camcorder. khorsani Digital Video 4 Dec 4, 2012 01:40 PM
MacBook Pro not recognizing USB. Fakeman100 MacBook Pro 3 Nov 4, 2010 07:58 PM
my MAC does not recognize my new ipod shuffle jbsteven iPod 3 Mar 6, 2010 04:21 PM
My Mac and Itunes do not recognize my ipod. krystalstaarr iPod 1 Aug 29, 2009 03:53 AM
My mac not recognizing my panasonic pinky1974 Digital Video 3 Feb 8, 2008 11:34 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC