Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 7, 2011, 05:34 PM   #1
joecool99
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Question 2011 2.3GHz MBP display port/thunderbolt issue with external monitor

have DELL U2410 - connected with display port cable (no adapters)
Work fabulously with the 2010 MBP, today got the 2011 and i see ghosting around text, pixelated quality to it. looks terrible. anyone else experiencing similar ?
joecool99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 07:21 PM   #2
Benito
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
No problem with my 2.3 ghz 15" MBP and my external monitor connected through the Thunderbolt / display port.
Benito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 08:23 PM   #3
DustinT
macrumors 68000
 
DustinT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Same here. I've used my MBP to drive a HDMI and DVI monitor and both times the images were crystal clear. Perhaps your monitor has a setting to adjust for an autocorrection? Reseting to factory defaults is always the easy answer. One last thing I'd think to check is the refresh rate. It should be automatically set but I might be worth checking.
__________________

My townhouse could pass for a well stocked Apple store.
DustinT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 09:20 PM   #4
joecool99
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Question

tried the display reset. it's not major - but it just does't look right.
i'm not paranoid, am i ? difficult to photograph this kind of stuff.

ps: anybody has calibrated profile for U2410 on 2011 MBP ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4264.jpg
Views:	954
Size:	388.6 KB
ID:	274876  
joecool99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 09:35 PM   #5
ZZANG
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Planet Cybertron
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecool99 View Post
tried the display reset. it's not major - but it just does't look right.
i'm not paranoid, am i ? difficult to photograph this kind of stuff.

ps: anybody has calibrated profile for U2410 on 2011 MBP ?
Best thing to ease your mind is just take it to Apple and make sure it's not the MBP.
__________________
15" 2.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 MacBook Pro
2010 Limited Edition Synergy Green Camaro
"It's not the style, it's you."
ZZANG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 09:50 PM   #6
joecool99
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZANG View Post
Best thing to ease your mind is just take it to Apple and make sure it's not the MBP.
just tested it on 2009 macbook - it seems i'm correct im my assumption - see the image.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	macbook.jpg
Views:	741
Size:	305.4 KB
ID:	274877  
joecool99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 09:58 PM   #7
dagamer34
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, TX
The monitor IS set to it's maximum resolution, right?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display | Mac mini | iPad Air with LTE | iPhone 5
dagamer34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 09:59 PM   #8
DustinT
macrumors 68000
 
DustinT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
You need to adjust the resolution on your laptop. Its not being feed the proper signal.
__________________

My townhouse could pass for a well stocked Apple store.
DustinT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 10:01 PM   #9
joecool99
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagamer34 View Post
The monitor IS set to it's maximum resolution, right?
oh course i have it mainly for photo editing. i know my toys.
1920x1200 @ 60Hz.

tested on:
2011 15" MBP (not right, weird halo & pixelation)
2009 13" MB - nice and smooth
joecool99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 10:06 PM   #10
joecool99
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinT View Post
You need to adjust the resolution on your laptop. Its not being feed the proper signal.
wish it was that simple. im feeding it nat. resolution 1920x1200 @ 60Hz
joecool99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 08:07 PM   #11
joecool99
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Thumbs down

only surprised that i'm the only one ?
first time for me in 6 years to have a lemon from apple.
joecool99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 08:20 PM   #12
fehhkk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
How are your color calibration settings? Have you tried changing them?
fehhkk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 08:22 PM   #13
fehhkk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Shot in the dark, but also try in System Preferences -> Appearance

Use LCD font smoothing when available...

Maybe try adjusting the text smoothing/font sizes.
fehhkk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 08:29 PM   #14
TheFarmer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Have you tried another monitor (if you have one) to see if it does the same thing? Hope you figure it out, def. drop by an Apple store and see what they say
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" Early 2011 2.3 Quad Core i7 8GB RAM 750GB Matte High Res Screen
MacBook 13" Late 08 2.4 C2D 4GB RAM 250GB HD
TheFarmer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 11:21 PM   #15
joecool99
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Cool

yes, font smoothing is enabled.
no i currently don't have a custom profile, but that only affects color reproduction.

as mentioned above - i've tested same monitor with same connection cable on 2009 MB 13" - and the external display output was nice and smooth as it should (no custom color profile either)

it's definitely the new MPB causing that.
joecool99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 11:37 PM   #16
BumbleBeee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I am having the same exact problem with my brand new 2011 2.3.
to reduce the problem a bit i lowered the sharpness to 30 on my monitor.
that eased up things a bit.
if someone is having the same issues please let the forum know.
we need to get this fixed.
BumbleBeee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 01:37 AM   #17
RockyRaccoon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
same issue here.
brand new MBP 15", 2.0GHz. Attached it to my 24" (native res: 1920 x 1200/60 Hz) via thunderbolt/DVI apple connector, and I get ghosting, flickering and noise.
Not a monitor issue as far as I can tell (since it works just fine when connected via DVI to a 5-yo macbook).
RockyRaccoon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 01:51 AM   #18
a.y.n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Taipei / SF
Send a message via Skype™ to a.y.n
Works great with my 27" ACD.
__________________
@ayn
iphone 5s vzw, ipad mini r vzw, early 2011 15" mbp, mid 2011 13" mba, mid 2011 mac mini, atd, atv3, ipod classic 60gb 5g, 6g nano, simul-db timecapsule, aebs, simul-db and .n airexps
a.y.n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 08:34 AM   #19
joecool99
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
So I'm not alone afterall. Dis not call Apllf yet myself, but reported it in feedback on their web.
The question is - any chance this can be fixed by a firmware update ?
Or just go ahead and have the logic board replaced ?
joecool99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 10:26 AM   #20
nsdjoe
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Macbooks don't seem to detect non-apple displays as LCDs and considers them CRTs and won't turn on font smoothing (No surprise; Apple wants you to buy a cinema display). There's a terminal command that is supposed to fix it but doesn't for me. So far I'm just dealing with it.
nsdjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 01:12 PM   #21
joecool99
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsdjoe View Post
Macbooks don't seem to detect non-apple displays as LCDs and considers them CRTs and won't turn on font smoothing (No surprise; Apple wants you to buy a cinema display). There's a terminal command that is supposed to fix it but doesn't for me. So far I'm just dealing with it.
nonsense.
detects type of output device properly. font smoothing is activated.

it's probably caused by some interference. i believe the logic board will need to be replaced. i'm in the process with local service center.
joecool99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 08:51 PM   #22
joecool99
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Cool

installed W7 x64 and the extrnal screen looks fine there. nice and crisp !

what the F...! so possibly SW firmware on the MAC side will solve this ?
joecool99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 08:56 PM   #23
daneoni
macrumors G4
 
daneoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I think it's bad drivers. The 2011 MBPs also don't work well with the 24" LED ACD. Incessant intermittent blackouts. I also think it's annoying that you can't use the Intel HD 3000 to solely drive an external display.
__________________
15" rMBP Core i7 | 27" ACD | AEBS | 5G iPod | iPhone 5S | 3G Apple TV | rMini
daneoni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 10:12 PM   #24
joecool99
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by daneoni View Post
I think it's bad drivers. The 2011 MBPs also don't work well with the 24" LED ACD. Incessant intermittent blackouts. I also think it's annoying that you can't use the Intel HD 3000 to solely drive an external display.
the W7 installation game me hope - as you said that it's SW caused issue.
hope apple will address this quickly. please call or submit feedback with apple to get things moving.
joecool99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 10:45 PM   #25
BumbleBeee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecool99 View Post
the W7 installation game me hope - as you said that it's SW caused issue.
hope apple will address this quickly. please call or submit feedback with apple to get things moving.
Same experience here as well with the W7 OS. everything works great on there. no issues with the screen. the problem is only with OS X
BumbleBeee is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to connect MBP to LCD Monitor (No mini display / DVI port, only Thunderbolt) blahblahblahx MacBook Pro 8 Jul 8, 2013 09:56 AM
Connecting thunderbolt drive and external monitor to macbook pro 2011 jph1973 MacBook Pro 1 Jun 13, 2013 12:32 PM
How to connect a display port monitor and thunderbolt drive sfwalter MacBook Pro 4 Dec 31, 2012 11:46 AM
Daisychain from external thunderbolt SSD to a non-TB monitor using miniDisplay port? uncleMonty Mac mini 1 Nov 16, 2012 09:28 PM
Can I use an Apple Thunderbolt Display as a second monitor for an iMac 2011? Buffsteria iMac 0 Jun 14, 2012 08:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC