Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 7, 2011, 10:27 PM   #1
desantii
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
2011 Macbook Pro 13 - many beachballs with 510 SSD

This is the first time I use an SSD on a Mac (my Imac has a regulard hdd). I installed an Intel 510 SSD and am getting random 30+ second beachballs, sometimes when opening safari or firefox, system profiler, etc. When I get no beachballs its uper fast but its very aggravating... I turned off the allow HDD to sleep, turned off the sms and same issue.

Ironically, I have a windows 7 bootcamp partition and it works great under win7, so lockups.

Is there any special setting for an SSD OSX?

thanks
__________________
13" MBP 2.8ghz i7, 16gb ram 160gb Intel 320 ssd
27" 3.4ghz i7 24gb ram 1tb hdd
G5 2.3DC 8gb ram 500gb hdd X1900
G4 MDD 1.5ghz 512mb ram
desantii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 10:29 PM   #2
1BadMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Did you disable Sudden Motion Sensor? Try an SMC reset (after you reloaded OS)?

Anything in the Console being logged? Any process running hot when beachballing?
__________________
1BadMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 10:32 PM   #3
desantii
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I did turn off SMS and did a reset... even getting the beach ball with fresh install. Activity Monitor is frozen while it is beach balling

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1BadMac View Post
Did you disable Sudden Motion Sensor? Try an SMC reset (after you reloaded OS)?

Anything in the Console being logged? Any process running hot when beachballing?
__________________
13" MBP 2.8ghz i7, 16gb ram 160gb Intel 320 ssd
27" 3.4ghz i7 24gb ram 1tb hdd
G5 2.3DC 8gb ram 500gb hdd X1900
G4 MDD 1.5ghz 512mb ram
desantii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 10:33 PM   #4
1BadMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by desantii View Post
I did turn off SMS and did a reset... even getting the beach ball with fresh install. Activity Monitor is frozen while it is beach balling
So you did the SMC reset BEFORE the fresh OS install?
__________________
1BadMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 10:38 PM   #5
desantii
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I did both, before and after to try to see if there was any change. I am getting beachballs randomly, like when opening the profiler, clicking on downloads, etc
__________________
13" MBP 2.8ghz i7, 16gb ram 160gb Intel 320 ssd
27" 3.4ghz i7 24gb ram 1tb hdd
G5 2.3DC 8gb ram 500gb hdd X1900
G4 MDD 1.5ghz 512mb ram
desantii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 10:41 PM   #6
applefanDrew
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I had a similar problem where the machine wouldn't even boot on the ssd. I just reset the PRAM and all has been good since.
__________________
Check out my app: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ligh...439464806?mt=8
applefanDrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 10:53 PM   #7
desantii
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Just did a PMRAM reset, same issue continues.

As an example, turned teh machine on, launched Safari, no issues

Launched firefox... no issues

Launched activity monitor ... beachball

went to safari, typed in a url, pressed enter .. beachball
__________________
13" MBP 2.8ghz i7, 16gb ram 160gb Intel 320 ssd
27" 3.4ghz i7 24gb ram 1tb hdd
G5 2.3DC 8gb ram 500gb hdd X1900
G4 MDD 1.5ghz 512mb ram
desantii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 11:00 PM   #8
DustinT
macrumors 68000
 
DustinT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by desantii View Post
Just did a PMRAM reset, same issue continues.

As an example, turned teh machine on, launched Safari, no issues

Launched firefox... no issues

Launched activity monitor ... beachball

went to safari, typed in a url, pressed enter .. beachball
I'd email anand.shimpi@anandtech.com and explain whats happening.
__________________

My townhouse could pass for a well stocked Apple store.
DustinT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 11:45 PM   #9
desantii
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Just sent him an email. I will also borrow a 120gb G2 intel to test if it happens there
__________________
13" MBP 2.8ghz i7, 16gb ram 160gb Intel 320 ssd
27" 3.4ghz i7 24gb ram 1tb hdd
G5 2.3DC 8gb ram 500gb hdd X1900
G4 MDD 1.5ghz 512mb ram
desantii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2011, 11:51 PM   #10
axu539
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
I've heard the MBP does not play nice with the Crucial SATA III SSDs either. It might have to do with SATA III compatibility and not the SSD itself.
__________________
15" MacBookPro10,1 2.6 GHz/16GB/256GB (on its way) | 11" MacBookAir4,1 1.6GHz/4GB/128GB | iPhone4S 16GB White
axu539 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 11:26 AM   #11
yno
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Just got my new MBP 17 and installed a 510 250 gig this weekend. Loads of trouble. In the end I could not even get the osx installation to go through. And in my frustration I ended up installing windows 7. That worked fine, although taking for ever to install. When it finally was finished it did not work at SATA6 link speeds and would all the sudden hang for 20-30 seconds before working again.

There is something wrong with the MBP intel 510 combo, and if anyone has figured what needs to be done Im eager for some input.
yno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 01:19 PM   #12
mrxad81
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Can anybody confirm these problems with the new mbp and the intel 510.
I will recieve my one tomorrow.
mrxad81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 01:58 PM   #13
ilkevinli
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NYC
Ive been running a C300 for the last 5 days without any issues.



Quote:
Originally Posted by axu539 View Post
I've heard the MBP does not play nice with the Crucial SATA III SSDs either. It might have to do with SATA III compatibility and not the SSD itself.
ilkevinli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 03:47 PM   #14
stephens
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
No issues my end with a 2011 MBP 15" and Intel 510 250gb SSD.

Just needed to do an SMC reset to boost the speed to 6 Gigabit.
stephens is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 04:53 PM   #15
ImaITGuy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by axu539 View Post
I've heard the MBP does not play nice with the Crucial SATA III SSDs either. It might have to do with SATA III compatibility and not the SSD itself.
Have had mine in over a week and its super fast without any hiccups at all

Crucial C300 64GB SSD Sata 3
ImaITGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 05:21 PM   #16
hystery
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImaITGuy View Post
Have had mine in over a week and its super fast without any hiccups at all

Crucial C300 64GB SSD Sata 3
Cool to hear that, I was thinking about getting one with 2011 model. Does it work with the connection speed 6G?
__________________
rMBP Early 2013
hystery is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 05:38 PM   #17
CompanionCube
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
After reading about troubles with the C300 I knew it would be best to stay away from the 510s (and most likely the Vertex 3) for a few months. It's most likely a firmware issue which is not going to go away. I opted for a G2 X25-m and it's been flawless and blazingly fast in my 2011.

I'm sure it will take an Intel firmware update to fix this.
CompanionCube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 06:50 PM   #18
MacRS4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hystery View Post
Cool to hear that, I was thinking about getting one with 2011 model. Does it work with the connection speed 6G?
C300 here - works fine at SATA III speeds. See: http://www.markc.me.uk/MarkC/Blog/En...III_6Gbps.html
MacRS4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2011, 10:21 PM   #19
hystery
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRS4 View Post
C300 here - works fine at SATA III speeds. See: http://www.markc.me.uk/MarkC/Blog/En...III_6Gbps.html
Amazing scores for laptop. A bit dissapointing is memory score, I wonder what is being bottleneck. Do you feel the difference (if you've had used SATAII before and upgraded to SATAIII) in practical situation?
__________________
rMBP Early 2013
hystery is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 05:28 AM   #20
MacRS4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
To be fair I had a Vertex2E in it previously - have I noticed the difference? Not massively, no.

Saving snapshots on VMs is notably quicker, that's about it really.
MacRS4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 09:07 AM   #21
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Just installed a 120GB Intel 510 SSD in my 2011 13" MBP and it is working perfectly.

I removed the OEM HD and installed the new SSD then did a SMC reset and booted from the OEM HD in a USB enclosure. Then ran Disk Util and partitioned the SSD and used Carbon Copy Cloner to move everything to the SSD. I shutdown and disconnected the USB drive and started off the SSD. Went to System Profile and the SSD is linked at SATAIII 6gbps. I set the new SSD as the Startup Disk then started again. Everything seems to work just fine.

Posted below are the XBench scores on the SSD.

Code:
Disk Test	336.16	
		Sequential	214.06	
			Uncached Write	199.20	122.31 MB/sec [4K blocks]
			Uncached Write	320.29	181.22 MB/sec [256K blocks]
			Uncached Read	112.53	32.93 MB/sec [4K blocks]
			Uncached Read	603.17	303.15 MB/sec [256K blocks]
		Random	782.48	
			Uncached Write	601.20	63.64 MB/sec [4K blocks]
			Uncached Write	514.06	164.57 MB/sec [256K blocks]
			Uncached Read	2091.92	14.82 MB/sec [4K blocks]
			Uncached Read	975.34	180.98 MB/sec [256K blocks]
Here is a link to the XBench score if you want to use it to compare to other systems.

I disabled the sudden motion sensor just because it appealed to the OCD part of me, but I was not having any problems with it enabled.

I set the machine to sleep after one minute and let it go to sleep on its own. Hit the space bar and it woke right up no problems. So apparently no sleep crash bug.

Overall I am quite happy with the IntelSSD install. From the test results, there are probably SATAII drives that cost less and will give close to the same test results (and probably no perceivable difference in actual use), but based on all the good reports from users of Intels previous SSD lines I figured it was worth a little extra money to have a stable system. Also, the fact that Intel provides a boot CD that works for Mac firmware upgrades appealed to me. I had a OWC SSD in my 2008 MBP that worked fine except the sleep bug and it bothered me Sandforce has still not fixed this nor have they or OWC provided a Mac solution for firmware upgrades.
Weaselboy is online now   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 09:15 AM   #22
MacRS4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
That is a SATA II speed index, not a SATA III. I get about 320 with my SATA II based Vertex 2E.

Even my mid stream C300 SATA III device is reporting way over 400:



Yours may be operationally fine, but the performance isn't what it should be.

You sure it's negotiated a 6Gbps connection?

Like this:



if they were the stats I was getting out of a SATA III 510 I'd be gutted.
MacRS4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 09:20 AM   #23
MacRS4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
By way of comparison - specs on the 120Gb 510:



Specs on the C300:



See my point?

Good scores and it's still proper fast - but not what the specs say?
MacRS4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 09:55 AM   #24
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRS4 View Post
You sure it's negotiated a 6Gbps connection.


I am well aware of how to tell it is connected at SATAIII as I explained in my post.
Weaselboy is online now   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 10:10 AM   #25
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRS4 View Post
By way of comparison - specs on the 120Gb 510:



Specs on the C300:



See my point?

Good scores and it's still proper fast - but not what the specs say?
Intel is using Iometer with 512KB blocks (I assume under Windows) to show that speed. I don't think you will see a one to one correlation to a 256K block test using XBench. Comparing XBench to XBench scores is a valid comparison though.

Intel specs the 3Gb/s (SATAII) speed for sequential read at 265 MB/s, again using Iometer 512KB blocks, and the XBench score on mine is exceeding that at 303 MB/s, so that should tell you it is working at SATAIII.

If you read the Anand review on the Intel 510 you will see Intel for whatever reason put the emphasis on sequential read and comparing the XBench scores shows that.
Weaselboy is online now   -1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (8, 2) Samsung Pro SSD Issues SuperMcGee MacBook Pro 3 Apr 1, 2013 03:33 PM
SSD Issue with Macbook Pro 2011 techsidd MacBook Pro 4 Feb 20, 2013 08:00 PM
Best 256Gb SSD for 2011 Macbook Pro imorton MacBook Pro 17 Jan 14, 2013 09:37 AM
Price Advice: MacBook Pro 2011 with Optibay SSD thuchu1 Buying Tips and Advice 2 Oct 28, 2012 05:44 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC