Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 9, 2011, 05:31 PM   #1
DDustiNN
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Angry Verizon - iPhone won't connect to 3G data

I have been using my iPhone just fine up until last night. I was in the store, and I wanted to look up some product reviews real quick to decide between two different items I was looking at. Problem was, no matter what I tried, I couldn't get a data connection. I had 4 bars, with the 3G indicator active, yet NOTHING would work. Even the Speedtest.net app was stuck on "finding closest server" or something... Just nothing would connect at all.

I tried turning on Airplane Mode, turning it off, turning off Cellular Data, waiting, turning it back on, closing all open apps, restarting phone... All of that, to no avail.

Annoyed, I just made a purchase and went home. I thought maybe it was just because I was in the store. Nope... same thing at home, couldn't get it to connect. Wi-Fi would work, but 3G would do absolutely nothing.

Then randomly an hour or so later, it worked fine.

Now today, I was using 3G all day at work. Then I get home, and randomly decide to check something real quick while I was still in my car, and same as yesterday... nothing.

Now, 30 minutes later, as I type this post, it has finally let me connect again... at a speed of 0.44 Mbps, according to SpeedTest. EDIT: Nevermind, now it's back to nothing.

What gives?? What is going on with "America's most reliable 3G network"?? Is there something wrong with my phone? I never once had this happen on my Android phone. It's incredibly irritating that the 3G just happened to not work, twice, when I actually needed it.

I don't want to go to Verizon because I'm sure it will be a pain to unjailbreak before I go, so I'm just wondering if anyone else has had this experience...
DDustiNN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 05:32 PM   #2
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
Call VZW's support. There may be a data outage, or they'll have another idea on how to fix it.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 05:33 PM   #3
ulbador
macrumors 68000
 
ulbador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I think if you poke around a bit, you'll see people having similar problems, though I haven't seen anything about hours.

I know on my Verizon iPhone, I've seen this once or twice, but it's only been a "blip", not for anything more than a few seconds.

Edit:

My phone actually gets rid of the 3G symbol and displays the O symbol, for no apparent reason. Maybe yours is different.
__________________
Mooooooooooooo
ulbador is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 05:44 PM   #4
DDustiNN
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Yeah the O symbol has popped up a couple times, but only lasted for a couple seconds before switching back to 3G.

So far I have not been able to do anything on 3G for the past hour. I thought it might have been an outage too last night, but now today it's doing the exact same thing.

SpeedTest app finally worked again, and showed a Ping of 2488 ms, Download 0.07 Mbps, upload 0.00 Mbps.

This is ridiculous.
DDustiNN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2011, 06:05 PM   #5
DDustiNN
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Hahaha... wow...

I just got off the phone with Verizon's tech support, and he said there is actually an alert out for my area... He laughed as he read it, and said believe it or not, the alert says AT&T accidentally cut Verizon's fiber lines () near me yesterday, and they're still working to get it fixed. It only affects some users in the area, but it explains why 3G works fine at work but not at home or at the store (which is near my place).

Now that's a conspiracy if I've ever seen one, lol.

Anyway he said there is no estimated resolution time yet, but normally this kind of stuff is fixed within 48 hours.
DDustiNN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 10:14 AM   #6
ECUpirate44
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NC
This is really frustrating. I lose 3G coverage every time I go into a building. Even when I am outside, it doesn't always connect to the 3G network. This pic was taken 5 minutes after I left a building and I was walking outside.
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.PNG
Views:	49
Size:	1,010.1 KB
ID:	280968
ECUpirate44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3G DATA only - NO Edge/GPRS. Spectrum Abuser iPhone 10 Sep 19, 2011 08:58 PM
iPhone won't connect to wifi network, but iPad will booch221 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 16 Jul 7, 2011 04:39 PM
iPhone won't connect to 3g after leaving wifi Mecmecmec iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 May 16, 2010 11:26 AM
iPhone won't connect to app or iTunes store on some wifi jamesschmidtke iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Aug 10, 2008 01:13 PM
iPhone won't connect to WiFi spots Mike Teezie iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Dec 4, 2007 02:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC