Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2011, 06:11 PM   #1
roblawton
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Preston, UK
MacBook Air 11" Shuts Down whilst Sleeping...

Over the last month or so, I've noticed that if I leave my MacBook Air to sleep for over an hour (this is an approximate, I've not timed it) - It will shut down. So when opening up, I have to hit the power on.

If I just leave it for a few minutes, it's instant on as usual.

I've tried a couple of different reboots (resetting PRAM) but none seem to resolve this intermittent problem.

Any ideas folks...?
__________________
roblawton
@roblawton///roblawton.com
stuff | iMac 27" 3TB Fusion Drive 32GB RAM; iPhone 5 32GB; iPad 3 64GB WiFi; Apple TV3; Quicksilver PowerMac G4 for fun!
roblawton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2011, 06:16 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
MacBook Air (Late 2010): About standby mode
Quote:
The new standby mode activates after just over an hour of "regular" sleep.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2011, 06:19 PM   #3
roblawton
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Preston, UK
Found that, but it doesn't go into 'Standby' it literally Shuts Down.

So instead of the usual; Click Trackpad, Press a Key, etc... I have to power on and wait for it to boot up...
__________________
roblawton
@roblawton///roblawton.com
stuff | iMac 27" 3TB Fusion Drive 32GB RAM; iPhone 5 32GB; iPad 3 64GB WiFi; Apple TV3; Quicksilver PowerMac G4 for fun!
roblawton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2011, 06:22 PM   #4
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by roblawton View Post
Found that, but it doesn't go into 'Standby' it literally Shuts Down.

So instead of the usual; Click Trackpad, Press a Key, etc... I have to power on and wait for it to boot up...
Have you checked your battery level?
Quote:
If you leave the computer in standby long enough for the battery to deplete fully, the computer will shut down. You can recover your computer to its pre-standby state and any unsaved work should not be lost. To exit standby at this point, attach the computer to an AC power source and press the Power button.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2011, 06:39 PM   #5
roblawton
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Preston, UK
Yup, battery is always fine.

I can't remember for sure, but I think it's even done it whilst plugged in and charging.
roblawton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2011, 10:07 PM   #6
roblawton
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Preston, UK
After a fair bit of testing tonight, it doesn't happen when it's plugged in.

So it's just when it's running off the battery... Need to do some more testing/playing I think.
roblawton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2011, 11:43 PM   #7
emx620
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by roblawton View Post
After a fair bit of testing tonight, it doesn't happen when it's plugged in.

So it's just when it's running off the battery... Need to do some more testing/playing I think.
I've had this happen to me several times, and clearing the PRAM cleared it up for me (booting up while holding shift key down until 2nd restart). Also, if you want to do quicker testing, set your deepsleepdelay in terminal to something less than 70 minutes -- I set mine to 5 minutes for quick and easy testing :-)
emx620 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2011, 12:01 AM   #8
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by emx620 View Post
I've had this happen to me several times, and clearing the PRAM cleared it up for me (booting up while holding shift key down until 2nd restart). Also, if you want to do quicker testing, set your deepsleepdelay in terminal to something less than 70 minutes -- I set mine to 5 minutes for quick and easy testing :-)
PRAM/NVRAM has nothing to do with power/battery/charging/sleep issues. Resetting it will not help. For power issues, reset the SMC. Instructions in the link below. This should answer most, if not all, of your battery questions:
Apple Notebook Battery FAQ
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2011, 12:15 PM   #9
CaptMrgnX
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Turn off Hibernate to Fix this issue

sudo pmset -a hibernatemode 0

Turning off hibernate mode worked for me. My MacBook Air 11" now wakes immediately when opening the lid and never shuts down while sleeping on battery power. There's clearly a bug in power management regarding hibernate mode. Until Apple fixes the issue, use this workaround.
CaptMrgnX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2011, 02:42 PM   #10
emx620
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptMrgnX View Post
sudo pmset -a hibernatemode 0

Turning off hibernate mode worked for me. My MacBook Air 11" now wakes immediately when opening the lid and never shuts down while sleeping on battery power. There's clearly a bug in power management regarding hibernate mode. Until Apple fixes the issue, use this workaround.
I don't understand why people use this as a workaround. This isn't fixing the root problem, but rather putting a bandaid on it. If you go this route, instead of getting 30 days of standby time, you'll only get a couple days as the laptop will only be sleeping. If you're having to press your power button after an hour of sleep, I'd take it to Apple and have a Genius fix it for you.

Last edited by emx620; Mar 19, 2011 at 02:47 PM.
emx620 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2011, 05:33 PM   #11
roblawton
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Preston, UK
I'm thinking the same... I'd rather have it fixed/replaced whilst I can, rather than temporarily fixing it and it possibly re-occuring later, when I'm out of warranty.

I'll book an appointment and report back what happens with the Genius.
__________________
roblawton
@roblawton///roblawton.com
stuff | iMac 27" 3TB Fusion Drive 32GB RAM; iPhone 5 32GB; iPad 3 64GB WiFi; Apple TV3; Quicksilver PowerMac G4 for fun!
roblawton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2011, 07:50 PM   #12
jamesryanbell
macrumors 68020
 
jamesryanbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I haven't seen a thread with this much "whilst" in it for a long time.
__________________
iPhone 5S White/Silver 64GB AT&T
iPad Air White/Silver 16GB AT&T
MBA 11" / 27" ACD / ATV3
jamesryanbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2011, 07:53 PM   #13
roblawton
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Preston, UK
If a word is there, may as well use it whilst you can...
__________________
roblawton
@roblawton///roblawton.com
stuff | iMac 27" 3TB Fusion Drive 32GB RAM; iPhone 5 32GB; iPad 3 64GB WiFi; Apple TV3; Quicksilver PowerMac G4 for fun!
roblawton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2011, 07:59 PM   #14
Staindsoul
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesryanbell View Post
I haven't seen a thread with this much "whilst" in it for a long time.
haha, was thinking same thing
Staindsoul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2011, 05:20 PM   #15
richard371
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I opened mine today and it wouldn't wak up. I had to hit the power button several times and it booted up. This has only happend once or twice since ive had it for several months. I had 77% battery when it booted up. is there a log to see what happened?
richard371 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2011, 05:23 PM   #16
jamesryanbell
macrumors 68020
 
jamesryanbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by roblawton View Post
If a word is there, may as well use it whilst you can...
lol!
__________________
iPhone 5S White/Silver 64GB AT&T
iPad Air White/Silver 16GB AT&T
MBA 11" / 27" ACD / ATV3
jamesryanbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2011, 04:56 AM   #17
roblawton
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Preston, UK
Update:

Before booking to see a Genius, I thought I'd try reinstalling OSX breaking out the little USB reinstall drive and doing a full reinstall.





After reinstalling everything and getting all the software updates sorted, I left it to sleep when I went to bed...

In the morning, as soon as I opened the lid, it woke up! So it's working again.

Very strange but at least it's working now!
__________________
roblawton
@roblawton///roblawton.com
stuff | iMac 27" 3TB Fusion Drive 32GB RAM; iPhone 5 32GB; iPad 3 64GB WiFi; Apple TV3; Quicksilver PowerMac G4 for fun!
roblawton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 01:36 AM   #18
slifty
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somerville
I made an appointment as I had the same issue. Found out that the problem is with the latest version of Flash, which explains why the reinstall worked.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1126523
^ Made a thread about the issue.
slifty is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Air Randomly Shuts off KaileyRae911 MacBook Air 8 Mar 4, 2014 08:25 PM
Possible to leave Macbook Air active (Downloading) whilst lid is closed? crazyman3005 MacBook Air 4 Sep 25, 2013 04:40 PM
2013 MacBook Air screen shuts off? whooda4 MacBook Air 39 Sep 2, 2013 09:04 PM
MacBook Air Sleeping jakesaunders27 MacBook Air 9 Aug 22, 2013 06:40 PM
MP 3,1 powers off whilst sleeping? Red G5 Mac Pro 0 Oct 14, 2012 03:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC