Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 19, 2005, 08:20 PM   #1
*Y*
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: VA
Windows Trouble

Hey Guys,
This is really a Windows question but whatever. Recently my uncle had some trouble with his Toshiba laptop. Whenever he uses Wi-Fi with firefox his dial-up connection starts dialing. Whats wrong with that stupid Windows. Man I am glad I use a mac.
Oh yeah. Also his Windows XP home edition start-up screen does not display "Home Edition" under "Windows XP" and there is also no date in the copyright after the update. Also the moving loading bar in the start-up screen became blue instead of green. Is that normal?
*Y* is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2005, 09:28 PM   #2
stevey500
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Huntington, Utah
Send a message via AIM to stevey500 Send a message via MSN to stevey500
Yes thats normal... Service Pack 2
__________________
my 12"powerbook setup and PS3 SOLD
Now owns: Macbook Pro 15" C2D
stevey500 is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2005, 09:30 PM   #3
clayj
macrumors 604
 
clayj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 1123,6536,5321
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Y*
Hey Guys,
This is really a Windows question but whatever. Recently my uncle had some trouble with his Toshiba laptop. Whenever he uses Wi-Fi with firefox his dial-up connection starts dialing. Whats wrong with that stupid Windows. Man I am glad I use a mac.
Oh yeah. Also his Windows XP home edition start-up screen does not display "Home Edition" under "Windows XP" and there is also no date in the copyright after the update. Also the moving loading bar in the start-up screen became blue instead of green. Is that normal?
To answer your second question first, the XP SP-2 update removed all references to the edition (Professional, Home, Media Center, etc.) and the copyright date from the startup screen, and the progress bar color is now the same for everyone. The old way got a bit confusing, so with SP-2 it's the same for everyone. So that's as it should be... it's normal.

To answer your first question second, somewhere in the settings for Firefox, or somewhere in the Internet control panel, there is a setting that allows you to determine how IE or Firefox connects to the Internet. You need to find the option that says "NEVER dial a connection" and choose that. Once you've done so, your Web browser shouldn't try to dial again... you will need to make sure your connection to the Internet is already established.
clayj is offline   0
Old Feb 19, 2005, 11:46 PM   #4
jeremy.king
macrumors 603
 
jeremy.king's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fox Lake, IL
Does he need the dial up connection? If not, try deleting it from the Network Connections list. This can be found in Start > Control Panel > Network Connections

Otherwise, its been a while, but I remember a setting somewhere where you can tell a dial up connection to automatically dial, try poking around in the properties of the connection.
jeremy.king is offline   0
Old Feb 20, 2005, 12:13 AM   #5
Mav451
macrumors 68000
 
Mav451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Maryland
Yeah, i don't see ANY dial-up/Modem options in Firefox, so I'm pretty sure this is more of a Networking problme.
__________________
i5 @ 3.6 Ghz | GB P55-UD3R | 4GB RAM DDR3 | GTX 580 | 4x 1TB WD | TX750
iPhone 4s (16GB), iBook 800 G3
Mav451 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble installing Bluetooth peripherals in Windows 7 Abdulhaq Mac mini 0 May 2, 2014 03:03 PM
Trouble installing windows xxredxpandaxx Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Apr 3, 2013 05:16 PM
having trouble with Bootcamp Windows Install kaelell Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Jan 8, 2013 06:57 AM
Trouble installing Windows 7, Mac Pro 1,1 Hazza555 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Jan 7, 2013 04:01 AM
Trouble with Windows in Boot Camp Sirecks MacBook Pro 0 Oct 3, 2012 11:01 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC