Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 20, 2005, 06:54 PM   #1
wnameth
Banned
 
wnameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
I am looking for cool dual monitor backgrounds

As i said I am looking for cool dual monitor backgrounds, i would prefer them to be different, but i they look good together so be it. I would prefer either cars or just a basic design, or scenery.
wnameth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2005, 10:21 PM   #2
sjpetry
macrumors 65816
 
sjpetry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Does anyone know where I can find panoramic background for dual monitors?
sjpetry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2005, 10:31 PM   #3
jared_kipe
macrumors 68030
 
jared_kipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jared_kipe
I didn't know you could span desktops across two desktops on a mac.
jared_kipe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2005, 10:37 PM   #4
tech4all
macrumors 68040
 
tech4all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NorCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by jared_kipe
I didn't know you could span desktops across two desktops on a mac.
AFAIK, you can not. Well at least not automatically via System Preferences. I suppose you could get a graphic/image that is twice the resolution of the monitors (assuming both displays are the same size) and "snip" down the middle and apply them to the displays as backgrounds.
__________________
I use OS X because of Windows. And I use Android because of iOS.
tech4all is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2005, 10:54 PM   #5
ChrisFromCanada
macrumors 65816
 
ChrisFromCanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
Try some of these they might need to be snipped in half though
__________________
Powermac G5 - Dual 2.5 GHz
SR Macbook Pro - 2.2GHz
Xbox 360
30GB iPod Video
Sony DCR-PC105
ChrisFromCanada is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2005, 10:57 PM   #6
boneca
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisFromCanada
Try some of these they might need to be snipped in half though
WOW those are beautiful wallpapers, thank you very much for the link even I didn't ask for it.
__________________
2009 MacMini 4GB RAM 320GB 72K RPM HD, 3 x ACD 20", iPhone 3G 16GB Black
boneca is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2005, 01:36 AM   #7
filmcutter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to filmcutter
Mandolux has a lot of great desktops for 2 monitors. Takes some digging, but there are a lot.
__________________
It doesn't matter how you get there if you don't know where you're going.
filmcutter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2005, 05:09 AM   #8
tersono
macrumors 68000
 
tersono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
PixelGirlPresents has quite a few dual-monitor wallpaper sets.

http://www.pixelgirlpresents.com/
__________________
11" MacBook air 2012 i5 4gb/ 128gb - 17" unibody MBP C2D 2.8Gz / 4gb / 500gb - 20" iMac 2ghz C2D / 4gb/ 2tb - iPad 3 32gb wifi/3G - iPhone 5 16gb
I also like it HERE
tersono is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2005, 05:17 AM   #9
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Some really nice, high quality ones here - http://www.9xmedia.com/Pages-Downloa...ckgrounds.html
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2005, 06:07 PM   #10
wnameth
Thread Starter
Banned
 
wnameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Thanks, everyone, but i am not quite sure how to span them across both my desktops?
wnameth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2005, 11:33 PM   #11
stoid
macrumors 68040
 
stoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: So long, and thanks for all the fish!
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnameth
Thanks, everyone, but i am not quite sure how to span them across both my desktops?
When you open up System Preferences and open the Desktop/Screen Saver pane, a window pops up on the second monitor for selecting it's desktop.
stoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2005, 12:15 PM   #12
wnameth
Thread Starter
Banned
 
wnameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
But then i have 2 of the same pictures, really compressed, becaues i am using a panaramic view s
wnameth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2005, 02:54 PM   #13
joetronic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Oxford, PA
okay, don't shoot me, but does anyone know how to show two different backrounds on a dual screen win XP Pro machine?
joetronic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2005, 02:56 PM   #14
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by joetronic
okay, don't shoot me, but does anyone know how to show two different backrounds on a dual screen win XP Pro machine?
Photoshop the two images together as one. That's the only way.
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2005, 02:58 PM   #15
joetronic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Oxford, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by edesignuk
Photoshop the two images together as one. That's the only way.
tryed that, but is still only mirrors backrounds, not spilt it between the two.
joetronic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2005, 03:00 PM   #16
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by joetronic
tryed that, but is still only mirrors backrounds, not spilt it between the two.
Set it to tile.
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2005, 03:04 PM   #17
joetronic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Oxford, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by edesignuk
Set it to tile.
oh... now I feel like a moron. I hate having to use the pice o crap at work. I wish we cold move towards MAC, and away from Novell.
joetronic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2005, 03:07 PM   #18
joetronic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Oxford, PA
Still no luck. I can't get it to spanto the other monitor, only mirrow backrounds. I thought it might be due to the different screen resulotions, but that didn't make a difference.
joetronic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2005, 03:32 PM   #19
Mechcozmo
macrumors 603
 
Mechcozmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
www.DigitalBlasphemy.com has cool backgrounds, and they even span 2 or 3 monitors...
__________________
This is not the signature you're looking for.
This is not the signature we're looking for.
You can scroll down now.
You can scroll down now.

Last edited by Mechcozmo; Feb 22, 2005 at 03:38 PM. Reason: vB coded wrong...
Mechcozmo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2006, 10:04 AM   #20
dougger
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Dual Monitor Software

Someone was looking for a program that lets you use 2 different pics, one for each monitor. We use UltraMon, great little program, even puts a task bar on the second monitor, and there are some other real nice features.

Go here to download http://www.realtimesoft.com/ultramon/
dougger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 06:40 PM   #21
SubJunk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
And another...

Another site with dual monitor backgrounds is www.dualmonitorbackgrounds.com It includes some of the backgrounds from sites that have already been posted on here and some new ones
SubJunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2007, 04:21 PM   #22
pre.tentio.us
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
cinemassive multimon wallpaper

you definitely need to checkout mandolux. hands down the best multi monitor wallpaper out there. Why on earth don't more people know about an artist that good? You can buy high res versions of his work over at istockpro too.

The fellas at CineMassive Displays recommended it to us for our our new trio. The wallpaper is a little distorted because we have a slightly irregular setup, but you can't really tell on the abstract works, even on the portrait displays.

I don't have a photo of my setup but their website does a pretty decent job.
pre.tentio.us is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2007, 04:31 PM   #23
h?
macrumors 68000
 
h?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Send a message via MSN to h?
What a thread revival!! This is 2 years old!
__________________
If everyone is unique then no one is as they share uniqueness in common.
h? is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2007, 04:54 PM   #24
pre.tentio.us
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by h? View Post
What a thread revival!! This is 2 years old!
and you guys still haven't found mandolux yet...its a pity. did you check him out? what did you think? the abstract ones' are clutch for portrait mode.
pre.tentio.us is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2007, 03:33 AM   #25
blakespot
Administrator
 
blakespot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Alexandria, VA
Send a message via AIM to blakespot




blakespot
__________________
TouchArcade :: iOS Gaming News, Reviews
http://toucharcade.com
ByteCellar :: Vintage Computing Weblog
http://www.bytecellar.com
blakespot is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I run a dual monitor setup with my MacBook Pro with one external monitor? shearerlisaj MacBook Pro 3 Sep 19, 2014 11:11 PM
Dual monitor setup - 1 monitor not showing as good of results ddublu Mac Peripherals 11 Mar 15, 2014 06:49 PM
Dual monitor requirements macmesser Mac Pro 3 Jul 18, 2013 11:09 AM
Mission Control on Main monitor in dual monitor setup jateelover OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Sep 2, 2012 02:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC