Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 15, 2011, 08:58 AM   #1
iYannickV
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
MKVTools AC3 6ch. to aac 5.1

Iím using MKVTools to convert my MKVís to MP4, but Iím experiencing some difficulties.
When I convert a MKV with an AC3 6ch. Audio track to an mp4 with AAC 5.1, the movies plays fine in iTunes but when I want to see it on my iphone or Appletv via airplay the movie wonít play.
What am I doing wrong?
iYannickV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 09:50 AM   #2
sampdoria
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iYannickV View Post
Iím using MKVTools to convert my MKVís to MP4, but Iím experiencing some difficulties.
When I convert a MKV with an AC3 6ch. Audio track to an mp4 with AAC 5.1, the movies plays fine in iTunes but when I want to see it on my iphone or Appletv via airplay the movie wonít play.
What am I doing wrong?
I use MKVTools as well to convert MKV to M4V.

I used to have similar audio problems streaming to ATV2, but I think with Apple's latest updates to iTunes and AppleTV2, I don't have those problems anymore with AC3 audio on ATV2! So I just select pass thru for audio in MKVTools when the source is AC3.

AAC 5.1 works fine on ATV2 as well, but I've read in this forum somewhere, that ATV2 will downmix AAC 5.1 to two-channel audio, while ATV2 will just pass thru the AC3 audio to an audio receiver that is capable of handling AC3 audio (i.e. no downmixing). I don't have a digital audio receiver yet, so I can't confirm this, it's just what I read somewhere.

Do you have ATV2 and iTunes with the most updated version?
Also, make sure your video is maximum resolution 1280x720 for ATV2.
__________________
create magic not havoc
sampdoria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 10:32 AM   #3
iYannickV
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I think something goes wrong during muxing.
I used Subler to mux the .h264 video file and the .aac audio file that MKVtools spits out.
This seems to work. I can view the video via airplay on my iphone. Didn't have a change to test it with an atv2.
iYannickV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 11:19 AM   #4
sampdoria
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iYannickV View Post
I think something goes wrong during muxing.
I used Subler to mux the .h264 video file and the .aac audio file that MKVtools spits out.
This seems to work. I can view the video via airplay on my iphone. Didn't have a change to test it with an atv2.
Why not let MKVTools mux them together and let it create the M4V file? Thats what I do. I only use Subler to add metadata and subtitles.

I am only muxing in a single audio track not two audio tracks, like some other people do. Having multiple audio tracks might cause issues with ATV2 and the latest ATV2 update.

Also, because of this latest update, you might have to check your TV's HDMI settings are set up correctly (e.g. audio signal is digital vs analog), when before they didn't matter as much.
__________________
create magic not havoc
sampdoria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 11:28 AM   #5
iYannickV
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sampdoria View Post
Why not let MKVTools mux them together and let it create the M4V file? Thats what I do. I only use Subler to add metadata and subtitles.

I am only muxing in a single audio track not two audio tracks, like some other people do. Having multiple audio tracks might cause issues with ATV2 and the latest ATV2 update.

Also, because of this latest update, you might have to check your TV's HDMI settings are set up correctly (e.g. audio signal is digital vs analog), when before they didn't matter as much.
I used subler to test something. When MKVTools mux the files the movie won't play on my iphone. When I check the information of the video fille after the muxing, iTunes says the audio had a bitrate of 0 kbps.
Then I used the same video and audio file with Subler and this works perfectly.

So I find verry strange what goes wrong during the muxing with MKVTools.
iYannickV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 11:30 AM   #6
peterjcat
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Also: why are you transcoding the audio to 5.1-channel AAC? The Apple TV can't play it without downmixing. Neither can the Mac unless you have an external sound card.

The best thing to do is leave the AC3 track intact and add a 2-channel AAC track. This is the format iTunes HD movies use and it works perfectly with the Apple TV.
peterjcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 11:52 AM   #7
iYannickV
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post
Also: why are you transcoding the audio to 5.1-channel AAC? The Apple TV can't play it without downmixing. Neither can the Mac unless you have an external sound card.

The best thing to do is leave the AC3 track intact and add a 2-channel AAC track. This is the format iTunes HD movies use and it works perfectly with the Apple TV.
Thnx for the tip. I just tested it, and the movie plays fine on my iPhone with airplay. But is there a way to give the audiotracks a name?
iYannickV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 01:24 PM   #8
sampdoria
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iYannickV View Post
Thnx for the tip. I just tested it, and the movie plays fine on my iPhone with airplay. But is there a way to give the audiotracks a name?
I still don't understand the need for two audio tracks (unless for multiple languages) in a movie file. Could someone explain this? You can change the name of an audio track in Subler. I stream via Home Sharing or sync HD movies from my iTunes library to my iPhone4, and they play with no problems either way. Yes, they take up more space in my iPhone when I sync them, but when I am done watching I remove them (I am also glad I invested in the 32GB).
__________________
create magic not havoc
sampdoria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 01:43 PM   #9
peterjcat
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
The Apple TV can play 5.1-channel Dolby Digital (AC3), which gives you proper surround sound if you have a multichannel system setup. The iPhone etc can't play AC3, it can only play stereo AAC. So you put in a 5.1-channel AC3 track and a 2-channel AAC track in the same file if you want to play the same movie on both the iPhone and the Apple TV and take advantage of the maximum capabilities of both. They each know which track they're supposed to play.
peterjcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 02:03 PM   #10
sampdoria
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post
The Apple TV can play 5.1-channel Dolby Digital (AC3), which gives you proper surround sound if you have a multichannel system setup. The iPhone etc can't play AC3, it can only play stereo AAC. So you put in a 5.1-channel AC3 track and a 2-channel AAC track in the same file if you want to play the same movie on both the iPhone and the Apple TV and take advantage of the maximum capabilities of both. They each know which track they're supposed to play.
thanks for the explanation! since the latest updates, i just started to use AC3 audio only on my m4v files instead of AAC 5.1. And they play fine on ATV2. I believe I tried it on my iPhone too and thought they played with sound fine as well, but let me re-check that tonight. If it is like you say, then I'll mux in the second AAC 2-channel track. I'll keep you posted.
__________________
create magic not havoc
sampdoria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 02:22 PM   #11
iYannickV
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
owke, I successfully added 2 audio tracks. But when I wanted to add subtitles with Subler the movies plays both audio streams at the same time in Itunes.
If I click the speech bubble, it gives me only the option to turn of the subtitles.
This is how I do it: first I convert the MKV with MKVTools, I check the pass thru for video and audio and check the add 2ch. track. This works fine. Then I put the m4v that coms from MKVTools in Subler and add the .srt file.

Am I doing something wrong?
iYannickV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 02:50 PM   #12
sampdoria
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iYannickV View Post
owke, I successfully added 2 audio tracks. But when I wanted to add subtitles with Subler the movies plays both audio streams at the same time in Itunes.
If I click the speech bubble, it gives me only the option to turn of the subtitles.
This is how I do it: first I convert the MKV with MKVTools, I check the pass thru for video and audio and check the add 2ch. track. This works fine. Then I put the m4v that coms from MKVTools in Subler and add the .srt file.

Am I doing something wrong?

re: the audio tracks. what's wrong with both streams playing, maybe that is supposed to be that way?
check your itunes preferences, for any audio setting that may be triggering that, or rename one of the tracks differently in subler, so that itunes is able to distinguish them separately and lets you choose one from the other. sorry i'm not home to check all of this first hand, and i don't have much experience with multiple audio tracks.

also try muxing (not burning) the subtitle file using MKVTools if subler is giving you trouble. i've had better results muxing in subtitle files with mkvtools than subler about 50-50.
__________________
create magic not havoc

Last edited by sampdoria; Mar 15, 2011 at 02:56 PM. Reason: sorry, misread some of what you said
sampdoria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 11:29 PM   #13
sampdoria
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Ok, well I was mistaken. My movie files with AC3 audio won't play on my iPhone. Also no sound is played on my Windows XP desktop when playing them through iTunes or Quicktime. Though VLC player plays them just fine. When they stream to the ATV2, everything is fine too. And when i play them on my MacBook Pro, movies with AC3 also play fine (the Mac must have an AC3 codec converter). So now I understand that I'm going to need a 2nd audio track in my movie files as AAC 2-channel in order to play on my iPhone and my Windows XP machine. Does anyone know of any of an AC3 plugin for Quicktime in Windows XP? I'll mux in the 2nd audio track as AAC 2ch and let you know if that does not solve it for me.
__________________
create magic not havoc
sampdoria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2011, 03:28 AM   #14
iYannickV
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Everthing works perfectly now. I did some research in the Subler issues and you need to put the 2 audio tracks in an alternate group and then the subtitle in an other alternate group.

Now when I click the speech bubble in iTunes, I can choose between the audio trakcs and to turn the subs on or off.

The movie plays great in iTunes and on my iPhone.

The only thing for me to do now is to convert my massive movie collection
iYannickV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2011, 01:29 PM   #15
sampdoria
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iYannickV View Post
Everthing works perfectly now. I did some research in the Subler issues and you need to put the 2 audio tracks in an alternate group and then the subtitle in an other alternate group.

Now when I click the speech bubble in iTunes, I can choose between the audio trakcs and to turn the subs on or off.

The movie plays great in iTunes and on my iPhone.

The only thing for me to do now is to convert my massive movie collection
Congrats and thanks for this, I didn't know about alternate grouping either, and you probably saved me hours of time trying to figuring this out. So:
Video Track in Alternate Group: None
Both Audio Tracks (multi-channel AC3 and 2-channel AAC) in Alternate Group: 1
Subtitle Tracks in Alternate Group: 2
Thanks to peterjcat for explaining this too!
__________________
create magic not havoc
sampdoria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2011, 03:54 AM   #16
iYannickV
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sampdoria View Post
Congrats and thanks for this, I didn't know about alternate grouping either, and you probably saved me hours of time trying to figuring this out. So:
Video Track in Alternate Group: None
Both Audio Tracks (multi-channel AC3 and 2-channel AAC) in Alternate Group: 1
Subtitle Tracks in Alternate Group: 2
Thanks to peterjcat for explaining this too!
No problem, I'm glad I could help.
And yes, that's how I do it and it works perfectly!
iYannickV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2011, 10:05 AM   #17
sampdoria
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iYannickV View Post
No problem, I'm glad I could help.
And yes, that's how I do it and it works perfectly!
Yes it does...It took about 15 minutes to remux the audio in MKVTools (not bad). Now all my devices (Mac, PC, ATV2, and iPhones) play movies just fine. This will be my set-up from now on using MKVTools and Subler!
Next...how to set up chapters .
__________________
create magic not havoc
sampdoria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2011, 05:05 PM   #18
iYannickV
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sampdoria View Post
Yes it does...It took about 15 minutes to remux the audio in MKVTools (not bad). Now all my devices (Mac, PC, ATV2, and iPhones) play movies just fine. This will be my set-up from now on using MKVTools and Subler!
Next...how to set up chapters .
I've been looking into this to. You can put 2 types of chapter files in subler.
Subler - ChapterTextFormat
The only problem is finding these chapter files. I've been not able to find them.
I can make them myself but I don't want to put al the time and effort in something I probably won't use.
iYannickV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2011, 03:50 PM   #19
Sparky9292
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post
The Apple TV can play 5.1-channel Dolby Digital (AC3), which gives you proper surround sound if you have a multichannel system setup. The iPhone etc can't play AC3, it can only play stereo AAC. So you put in a 5.1-channel AC3 track and a 2-channel AAC track in the same file if you want to play the same movie on both the iPhone and the Apple TV and take advantage of the maximum capabilities of both. They each know which track they're supposed to play.
The AppleTV2 can NOT play AC3 6ch though. On my ATV2, it sqawks and the movie freezes.

I just convert to AAC (2Ch.)

Does the "add 2 Ch. track" add an AAC (2Ch.) track?
Sparky9292 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2011, 04:42 PM   #20
The Mad Hatter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky9292 View Post
The AppleTV2 can NOT play AC3 6ch though. On my ATV2, it sqawks and the movie freezes.

I just convert to AAC (2Ch.)

Does the "add 2 Ch. track" add an AAC (2Ch.) track?
I don't know about your ATV2, but mine plays AC3 6-channel discrete fine.
__________________
I'd rather stay here with all the madmen, than perish with the sadmen roaming free.
The Mad Hatter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2011, 05:22 PM   #21
AdrianK
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky9292 View Post
The AppleTV2 can NOT play AC3 6ch though. On my ATV2, it sqawks and the movie freezes.

I just convert to AAC (2Ch.)

Does the "add 2 Ch. track" add an AAC (2Ch.) track?
And that's when ATV2 is connected to your receiver right?

Yes, yes it does.
__________________
Hack Pro Mini Core i3 4130 | GTX 780 | 8GB 1033MHz | 840 EVO 120GB | OS X 10.9.1 / Windows 8 | White Bitfenix Prodigy
AdrianK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2011, 06:24 PM   #22
slothrob
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mad Hatter View Post
I don't know about your ATV2, but mine plays AC3 6-channel discrete fine.
Unless something has changed, the ATV2 will play AAC 2 channel natively, but only pass-through AC3. The ATV2 isn't playing the AC3, the device on the other end of the cable is. So, if your TV or receiver doesn't support AC3 5.1, or have the ability to down-mix it to stereo, you won't hear anything.
slothrob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2011, 07:43 PM   #23
Sparky9292
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slothrob
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mad Hatter View Post
I don't know about your ATV2, but mine plays AC3 6-channel discrete fine.
Unless something has changed, the ATV2 will play AAC 2 channel natively, but only pass-through AC3. The ATV2 isn't playing the AC3, the device on the other end of the cable is. So, if your TV or receiver doesn't support AC3 5.1, or have the ability to down-mix it to stereo, you won't hear anything.
I'm using the 1/8 stereo out jack on the back of the apple TV.

I guess the stupid appletv2 doesn't transcode the ac3 5.1 down to two channel stereo hence the need for another track.
Sparky9292 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2011, 05:38 AM   #24
slothrob
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky9292 View Post
I'm using the 1/8 stereo out jack on the back of the apple TV.
It should work fine if you switch an optical cable for the stereo jack, as long as your receiver can handle Dolby Digital 5.1 audio.
slothrob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2011, 08:57 AM   #25
Sedulous
macrumors 65816
 
Sedulous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Open file with Subler. Click the video track. Change profile to mid 3.0 instead of high profile >3. Regardless of the other things, this is the most important.
Sedulous is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC3 AAC and Premiere Pro Piana Digital Video 4 Mar 28, 2014 12:35 PM
Subler 0.2.4 is scrambling audio in AC3 to AAC conversion Idgit Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Nov 7, 2013 03:32 PM
Subler mystery: fails to convert AC3 to AAC (Dolby Prologic II) Idgit Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Oct 12, 2013 09:57 PM
Pb with Subler and AC3/AAC conversion lessismo Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Oct 4, 2013 03:06 AM
MP4 videos AAC 5.1 -> AC3 (quickest audio encode?) alexeliasson Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Feb 7, 2013 07:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC