Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jinxednuance

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 6, 2011
Anyone knows of a place where I can purchase a copy of Windows 7 with a student discount?!

Thanks!

jinxednuance

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 6, 2011
Canadians do have this version of the site but as you can notice it is for an upgrade. So you need to have Windows 7 Home Premium to go to Professional.

Anyway, I managed to get my hands on one and I am running Mc Os and Win7 my world cannot get any better!

mikeytwice

macrumors member
Jun 19, 2005
Hmm... I'm a student as well, and wondering about the most cost effective way to go about installing windows. Since it's an upgrade, what's the cheapest route to go?

Also, do Home Premium and Professional natively support 64-bit? Or do you need to buy a special version?

mikeytwice

macrumors member
Jun 19, 2005
Yeah, I'm not an IT student... in grad school, doing strange and obscure social sciences stuff.

They have Windows 7 Ultimate upgrade for $35, but you need to upgrade from Vista... says it won't even work as an upgrade from XP, which I find very strange. (I know that you have to format if upgrading from XP, but that's not a problem as I'd be installing on a new partition and installing XP would be a waste of time).

I did, however, find this: http://www.mydigitallife.info/2009/...t-key-on-formatted-or-empty-blank-hard-drive/

Alternatively, I wonder if I can somehow use my current Windows 7 license. I upgraded from an OEM version of XP to Home Premium. I wouldn't be using this computer anymore, though, so don't need a new license. I don't mind dropping an extra $35 bucks for the 64-bit disk, but I don't know if I can transfer that license over...

balamw

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
New England
You need to separate in your mind three things: what works, what the licenses allow, what is legal in your jurisdiction.