Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 21, 2011, 03:46 AM   #1
Chuchichan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

I live in Japan and am traveling now to the US for the first time with my Japanese iPhone? My wife is in Japan and I'd like to confirm that using FaceTime is totally free. Also, I don't seem to be able to initiate a FaceTime chat with her. She can initiate a call to me to my phone number. When I try to initiate a call to her phone it says she not setup for FaceTime (or something like that). Because she's calling my phone number to FaceTime, that's why I'm concerned that I'm getting billed.

So, basically, how should we be initiating calls? By email address, phone number, either?

Thanks...
Chuchichan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2011, 03:56 AM   #2
Jmouse
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuchichan View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

I live in Japan and am traveling now to the US for the first time with my Japanese iPhone? My wife is in Japan and I'd like to confirm that using FaceTime is totally free. Also, I don't seem to be able to initiate a FaceTime chat with her. She can initiate a call to me to my phone number. When I try to initiate a call to her phone it says she not setup for FaceTime (or something like that). Because she's calling my phone number to FaceTime, that's why I'm concerned that I'm getting billed.

So, basically, how should we be initiating calls? By email address, phone number, either?

Thanks...
Hi there, enjoy your stay in the US.

As for your facetime question, When you have wifi connected. I believe is free whether using email or phone number. However i would think if your calling from 2 different countries, Shouldnt your be including the area code and such ? otherwise email should do the job.
__________________
12" iBook G4, PowerBook G4, 15" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz, iPhones, iPads.
Jmouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2011, 04:00 AM   #3
Vizin
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
.

Last edited by Vizin; Feb 28, 2013 at 03:21 AM.
Vizin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2011, 04:38 AM   #4
Chuchichan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

It's interesting that my wife can initiate the call but I can't. She's doing the same thing as me. She opens her contact list, selects my name and selects FaceTime and then my phone number without making any changes. I can initiate now if I use the call history, but not if I select her phone number.
Chuchichan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2011, 06:26 AM   #5
jdaniel
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuchichan View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

It's interesting that my wife can initiate the call but I can't. She's doing the same thing as me. She opens her contact list, selects my name and selects FaceTime and then my phone number without making any changes. I can initiate now if I use the call history, but not if I select her phone number.
facetime it buggy at best...so I wont be surprised.. I set up facetime on my mac and I try to call myself.. the mac face time uses a mac id.. anyways sometimes I dont even get the request...so I wouldnt worry about it.

I assume you have your wide saved with the + and all that..
__________________
Current: 13" Alum Unibody, 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 1TB Seagate Hybrid Drive, 16GB RAM Mid 2013 + iPhone5S 32GB Space Grey (iOS7.0.2) + TB Display + ATV3
jdaniel is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General: FaceTime Audio only works if both parties have FaceTime Audio. moonman239 iOS 7 24 Oct 24, 2013 11:16 AM
iPhone: FaceTime calls all FaceTime ID's iOS 7 Komrad808 iOS 7 5 Sep 19, 2013 10:01 PM
FaceTime Audio, free long distance. Will the carriers limit this to wi-fi only? 212rikanmofo iOS 7 5 Jun 14, 2013 05:40 PM
FaceTime calling machine where FaceTime isn't running WilliamLondon OS X 3 Oct 20, 2012 05:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC