Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 5, 2011, 07:14 AM   #76
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
I would agree with the w3680 and the w3690 not as sure as the w3670. The microcode in the w3670 may be a bit different then its cousins since it supports 1066 ram as a max. It also does have the different 4.8qpi.
It depends on the firmwares microcode and what it keys off to allow or disallow a cpu.

Certainly if it just counts cores it won't work. It may do it that way.
It has nothing to do with QPI or RAM speed since both 2009 and 2010 machines support a QPI of 4.8 to 6.4.

As I said, ALL hex cores won't work, in fact all Westmere processors won't work (including 4 core) due to a non supported microcode. Simple as that.
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2011, 08:28 AM   #77
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transporteur View Post
It has nothing to do with QPI or RAM speed since both 2009 and 2010 machines support a QPI of 4.8 to 6.4.

As I said, ALL hex cores won't work, in fact all Westmere processors won't work (including 4 core) due to a non supported microcode. Simple as that.
More then likely you are correct, especially since my microcode knowledge is very limited at best.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2011, 10:47 AM   #78
zephonic
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transporteur View Post
As I said, ALL hex cores won't work, in fact all Westmere processors won't work (including 4 core) due to a non supported microcode. Simple as that.

With microcode do you mean instruction sets?

As far as I can tell the only differences are the "Intel Trusted Execution Technology" and "AES New Instructions".

Everything else seems identical.

http://ark.intel.com/Compare.aspx?ids=47918,39721,39718,

edit:
My bad, ITET appears to be a hardware extension. AES-NI is an instruction set.

Well, I guess a W3565 is still a nice upgrade from a W3520.

Last edited by zephonic; Apr 5, 2011 at 10:52 AM.
zephonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2011, 07:30 PM   #79
ecstacy2012
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
AMD Phenom II in mac pro 2010?

I was curious to what other processors can be put in the 2010 mac pro for upgrade such as maybe a amd penom II x6 3.2 6 core or what about the intel 990x or 980x>? please if anyone knows or can give some information please do so thanks!

Last edited by ecstacy2012; Apr 9, 2011 at 07:31 PM. Reason: typo
ecstacy2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2011, 08:23 PM   #80
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
32gb ram upgrade works!

Well so far it sees the 4 sticks and picks them up as 1066 total 32gb ...

It has really speed up access to my iphoto library . these are hynix 1333 sticks very good price. 580 for 32gb . price is still good at this site.


https://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php...-Server-Memory


use blossom10 for 10 bucks off. I will run a ram test with my applecare test disk. It passes all techtool deluxe tests. lastly I am running memtest in singer user mode. there is a ram limit of just under 32gb. It seems to be a program limit to the test it downsized to 31 gb saying 32gb ram is too big to test. so far the pro and the memtest are cranking away at 31 gb . I will say this a hex 3.2 mac pro with a geekbench score of 15220 and the ability to use 30gb plus ram is very nice indeed. april 13th my 300gb intel ssd arrives. it will then be a done deal for this baby.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mac pro tests.jpg
Views:	209
Size:	715.9 KB
ID:	280674  

Last edited by philipma1957; Apr 10, 2011 at 08:53 PM.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2011, 09:00 PM   #81
bluesteel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Earth
fantastic post!!! the time you took to teach us all how to do this is very much appreciated. just awesome.....thank you
__________________

Early 2013 15" MacBook Pro Retina 2.8GHz/16GB/768GB - 27" Cinema Display - iPad 4 64GB wifi+4g - iPhone 5 64GB - AppleTV 3 - AirPort Extreme
bluesteel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2011, 09:28 PM   #82
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
you are welcome. so it is still passing the memtest

I loaded this one below


http://www.command-tab.com/page/10/

if anyone has a more up to date then this let me know this is jan 2008 and has a limit of 31gb so it downsized my ram from 32gb to 31gb to test it. TIA

I ran memtest for 2 passes took 28205 seconds! about 7 hours and 50 minutes. all passed. So it appears this cpu allows 32gb or 30.5 gb of ram.

Tthat little difference is because memtest said the ram of 32gb was too big to test. I would like to know if memtest has a 32gb limit.

well no complaints. about the 32gb ram.

Last edited by philipma1957; Apr 11, 2011 at 04:11 PM. Reason: update
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 03:23 PM   #83
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
rember test results

I had passed memtest in single user mode but could not get a printout here are the rember results of the 3.2 hex cpu with 4 8gb sticks of ram. It all passed. the nice thing is even though intel says this cpu only does 24gb it seems to do 32gb ram. One last test to do my 300gb intel arrived today in the middle of rember test. I will install and get back with impressions of it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2011-04-13 at 4.17.52 PM.png
Views:	70
Size:	244.5 KB
ID:	281200  

Last edited by philipma1957; Apr 13, 2011 at 05:51 PM.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 05:19 PM   #84
100Years
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecstacy2012 View Post
I was curious to what other processors can be put in the 2010 mac pro for upgrade such as maybe a amd penom II x6 3.2 6 core or what about the intel 990x or 980x>? please if anyone knows or can give some information please do so thanks!
I can confirm that the 980x works fine.
100Years is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 08:51 PM   #85
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
last test on the modded 28. to 3.2 is a geekbench 64 bit with the new intel series 320 300gb ssd in it . It jumped to 15367. the ssd has 200 of 300 gb used and is in the spare optical tray in a raptor 3.5 inch heatsink. the thumbnail is below.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2011-04-13 at 9.50.07 PM.png
Views:	149
Size:	1.13 MB
ID:	281239  
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 09:19 PM   #86
JollyJoeJoe
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transporteur View Post
It has nothing to do with QPI or RAM speed since both 2009 and 2010 machines support a QPI of 4.8 to 6.4.

As I said, ALL hex cores won't work, in fact all Westmere processors won't work (including 4 core) due to a non supported microcode. Simple as that.
I am looking for an answer as to whether the X5690 Xeons will work in the 8-core (2.4GHz x 2 quad core Westmere) mid-2010 model, so far I have one person saying the X5680 will definitely work as tried.

I'll also be upgrading to 32GB of 1333Mhz since the hex core xeons support it. Gonna use the 32GB PC-10600 OWC kit.
JollyJoeJoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 04:13 AM   #87
fletchmusic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by JollyJoeJoe View Post
I am looking for an answer as to whether the X5690 Xeons will work in the 8-core (2.4GHz x 2 quad core Westmere) mid-2010 model, so far I have one person saying the X5680 will definitely work as tried.
I'm currently considering either the single or dual processor upgrade as well and I'm guessing that 2 X5690s in the model you mentioned must be possible since OWC's Turnkey Upgrade Program lists them as options.

Hopefullly someone on here will carry out the experiment for us
__________________
fletchmusic
YouTube
fletchmusic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 04:00 AM   #88
iamthedudeman
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I just bought a Mac Pro base 2.8. Thank you for taking the time and effort in making this very informative and invaluable walkthrough processor upgrade. I am not going to do the upgrade yet, maybe in a year, but not now. 10000 geek bench score is enough for now. But I am going to do this. How could you not if you got a base mac pro from 2010.

On behalf of every Mac Pro owner out there thank you. This thread is pure gold. Defiantly sticky worthy.

I can't believe that this upgrade is so easy( or is it harder than it looks?). Let me get this straight.

1) Buy processor

2)Buy thermal grease, prep sol, hex key(3mm five inch long prefer), ground wire(cable), microfiber cloth, air in aerosol can, cotton pads, acohol or alcohol pads, q-tips.

3) take out processor tray

4) carefully remove heatsink by very carefully removing five hex 3mm screws evenly a little at a time( quarter turns each until removed?) Same process in reverse when putting them on.

5)Remove old thermal grease using q-tips, alcohol on pads or alcohol pads. Carefully before removing old processor.

6)Safely and slowly remove spring pin not letting the old processor jump out of the socket. Slide all the way back.

7)Remove old processor using latex gloves preferably.

8)Line up new processor with indicator in upper left corner lined up, the processor can only go in one way.

9)Return latch back down slowly again not letting the processor to jump out of socket.

10) Apply prep solution on heat sink and clean heat sink

11) Apply a slight amount of processor grease evenly and slowly using latex gloves with index finger.

12) line up heat sink post in upper left corner and than the lower right corner and carefully place heat sink back into motherboard.

13) Replace hex screws from step four. Same process.

14) Install processor tray back to mac pro and latch down.

15) install temp software of your choice and set fan speeds accordingly.

16) Run tests and make sure everything is okay.

Done.

Is it really that easy?

One question about the temps fans kicking in. Is the fan control in OSX disabled with the new processor install? If so how do you re enable them to use in conjunction with the adjusted fan speed control programs you put on your machine?
iamthedudeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 06:45 AM   #89
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamthedudeman View Post
I just bought a Mac Pro base 2.8. Thank you for taking the time and effort in making this very informative and invaluable walkthrough processor upgrade. I am not going to do the upgrade yet, maybe in a year, but not now. 10000 geek bench score is enough for now. But I am going to do this. How could you not if you got a base mac pro from 2010.

On behalf of every Mac Pro owner out there thank you. This thread is pure gold. Defiantly sticky worthy. (thank you)

I can't believe that this upgrade is so easy( or is it harder than it looks?). Let me get this straight. See reply ☞(Yes under 30 minutes.)

1) Buy processor

2)Buy thermal grease, prep sol, hex key(3mm five inch long prefer), ground wire(cable), microfiber cloth, air in aerosol can, cotton pads, acohol or alcohol pads, q-tips.

see reply ☞ ( buy latex gloves here is a link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000FPKR3K)


3) take out processor tray

4) carefully remove heatsink by very carefully removing five hex 3mm screws evenly a little at a time( quarter turns each until removed?) Same process in reverse when putting them on.

5)Remove old thermal grease using q-tips, alcohol on pads or alcohol pads. Carefully before removing old processor.

6)Safely and slowly remove spring pin not letting the old processor jump out of the socket. Slide all the way back.

7)Remove old processor using latex gloves preferably.

8)Line up new processor with indicator in upper left corner lined up, the processor can only go in one way.

9)Return latch back down slowly again not letting the processor to jump out of socket.

10) Apply prep solution on heat sink and clean heat sink

11) Apply a slight amount of processor grease evenly and slowly using latex gloves with index finger.

12) line up heat sink post in upper left corner and than the lower right corner and carefully place heat sink back into motherboard.

13) Replace hex screws from step four. Same process. See reply ☞ ( Very important to rotate the screws when making the heatsink tight )

14) Install processor tray back to mac pro and latch down.

15) install temp software of your choice and set fan speeds accordingly. ( you don't have to I lust like to be able to have a lot of fan speed control )

16) Run tests and make sure everything is okay.

Done.

Is it really that easy? see reply☞ (yes can be done in 30 minutes) ( Also can be undone in 30 minutes)

One question about the temps fans kicking in. Is the fan control in OSX disabled with the new processor install? If so how do you re enable them to use in conjunction with the adjusted fan speed control programs you put on your machine? Reply☞ ( you can use the standard speed controls. I just prefer more control for example, right now I have them as low as possible because I am only net surfing makes for a quiet machine)
Please see replies to certain numbers.

Last edited by philipma1957; May 1, 2011 at 09:07 AM.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 08:52 AM   #90
jetjaguar
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
what are the model numbers of the 3.33 and 3.46 hexacore that you can swap in as well ?
__________________
Bunch of Apple products
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 09:02 AM   #91
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetjaguar View Post
what are the model numbers of the 3.33 and 3.46 hexacore that you can swap in as well ?
w3680 and w3690


http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-U...ht_2997wt_1189 w3680 = $1075 but you can return it without fees just pay for shipping



http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-U...ht_2605wt_1189 w3690 = $1065 same return policy


if you troll ebay for days you can find used ones for 700 to 850
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 09:05 AM   #92
jetjaguar
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
w3680 and w3690


http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-U...ht_2997wt_1189 w3680 = $1075 but you can return it without fees just pay for shipping



http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Intel-Xeon-U...ht_2605wt_1189 w3690 = $1065 same return policy


if you troll ebay for days you can find used ones for 700 to 850
thanks .. weird that the 3.46 is cheaper
__________________
Bunch of Apple products
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 06:08 PM   #93
iamthedudeman
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
Please see replies to certain numbers.
Fixed.

Thank you for the replies. Good to know, so I don't have to adjust the speeds OSX will take care of it. Just install and good to go.

The speed of the fans should be the same since the thermal TDP is the same as the quad 2.8. I may adjust them myself via your recommendations. Just have to find the right speeds. I also like a quiet machine.

Thanks for the replies.

Now why isn't this thread a sticky? Mods?
iamthedudeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 11:55 AM   #94
vvrinne
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
As stated earlier in this therad the 3.2ghz is about half of what the 3.33 costs. I just don't see why anybody would do the 3.33 upgrade since you can just order it direct from Apple with that cpu already in place for 1200$.

Imo the whole idea here is that you can get pretty much the same performance from a 600$ upgrade by putting in the 3.2ghz hexa core yourself (which you can't buy from Apple).
vvrinne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 04:09 PM   #95
jetjaguar
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by vvrinne View Post
As stated earlier in this therad the 3.2ghz is about half of what the 3.33 costs. I just don't see why anybody would do the 3.33 upgrade since you can just order it direct from Apple with that cpu already in place for 1200$.

Imo the whole idea here is that you can get pretty much the same performance from a 600$ upgrade by putting in the 3.2ghz hexa core yourself (which you can't buy from Apple).
well i dont know .. i was planning on going with the 3.46 .. but i guess going 3.2 is the best deal .. i just received my mac pro a few days ago but i am already thinking of doing the cpu upgrade since my geekbench score is like 9k
__________________
Bunch of Apple products
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 05:31 PM   #96
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
dollar for dollar the 3.2 is the best deal , but if are going to really push the machine the 3.46 is faster.

Machine test score total price
quad 2.8 = 9700 geekbench 2500

hex 3.2 = 15800 geekbench 2900 if you sell the quad

hex 3.33 = 16200 geekbench 3400 if you sell the quad

hex 3.46 = 16800 geekbench 3400 if you sell the quad


400 dollars after selling off the oem quad is a about a 60 percent speed boost.



900 dollars after selling off the oem quad is a bout a 70 percent speed boost.


you could put the 3.2 hex in and add an ssd for under 650 700 bucks
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 05:38 PM   #97
jetjaguar
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
dollar for dollar the 3.2 is the best deal , but if are going to really push the machine the 3.46 is faster.

Machine test score total price
quad 2.8 = 9700 geekbench 2500

hex 3.2 = 15800 geekbench 2900 if you sell the quad

hex 3.33 = 16200 geekbench 3400 if you sell the quad

hex 3.46 = 16800 geekbench 3400 if you sell the quad


400 dollars after selling off the oem quad is a about a 60 percent speed boost.



900 dollars after selling off the oem quad is a bout a 70 percent speed boost.


you could put the 3.2 hex in and add an ssd for under 650 700 bucks
true .. im still not sure what I want to do .. the 3.2 by far is the best deal
but i dunno .. i saw a 3.46 the other day for 810 .. should have bought it but didnt
Have 24gb of ram coming tomorrow .. finally will get rid of the 3gb i currently have
I also need to get an ssd and also a 5870
__________________
Bunch of Apple products
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 05:53 PM   #98
jetjaguar
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8G4 Safari/6533.18.5)

As far as adding an ssd for that little more money ... I would want a 240 because I would like some headroom
__________________
Bunch of Apple products
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 06:18 PM   #99
hammten
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Hi everyone, what a great thread! I was wondering if a x5690 would be able to go in a single cpu 2010 MP.

Thanks
hammten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2011, 01:49 PM   #100
jetjaguar
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
wow my 2010 2.8 quad and 24gb of ram only scores a 8500 on geekbench
__________________
Bunch of Apple products
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nMP Quad vs oMP Hex for Photoshop PJNanook Mac Pro 57 Jan 20, 2014 11:03 AM
Quad vs Hex TheKnifeFight Mac Pro 10 Dec 23, 2013 10:47 PM
New dual core CPU > older quad CPU? (for Logic) vladobizik MacBook Pro 28 Sep 9, 2013 02:17 PM
Mac Pro CPU Upgrado (Quad to Hex) Macquero Mac Pro 21 Feb 27, 2013 05:52 PM
Is it worth upgrade my 2009 4.1 quad 2.93ghz Mac Pro to Hex 3.33ghz? chiefroastbeef Mac Pro 16 Jul 19, 2012 03:01 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC