Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 28, 2011, 10:34 PM   #1
loskickking23
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
How to register a 1st gen iPhone to iTunes without activating it?

I'm trying to find a way to register a 1st gen iPhone to iTunes without activating it.... I bought the phone for a backup phone but I can't do anything with it unless it's registered and activated first... I'm useing a iPhone 4 so I can't switch the sim to register it.... I bought it off of eBay and want to make sure it works ok...does anyone have any idea's ?
loskickking23 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 10:43 PM   #2
Crystal-RX
macrumors 68030
 
Crystal-RX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by loskickking23 View Post
I'm trying to find a way to register a 1st gen iPhone to iTunes without activating it.... I bought the phone for a backup phone but I can't do anything with it unless it's registered and activated first... I'm useing a iPhone 4 so I can't switch the sim to register it.... I bought it off of eBay and want to make sure it works ok...does anyone have any idea's ?
Any AT&T sim card will do the trick even an inactive/canceled one.
Crystal-RX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 11:04 PM   #3
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Follow this to JB and hactivate your 2G iphone.
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=7436
If you try to activate it officially thru itunes it will ask for a valid AT&T sim and make you pick your minutes, text and data plan etc...
Its not as simple as the 3G, 3GS and iphone 4 where it just activates it and lets you into the homescreen even with old sims.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 11:14 PM   #4
Crystal-RX
macrumors 68030
 
Crystal-RX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Follow this to JB and hactivate your 2G iphone.
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=7436
If you try to activate it officially thru itunes it will ask for a valid AT&T sim and make you pick your minutes, text and data plan etc...
Its not as simple as the 3G, 3GS and iphone 4 where it just activates it and lets you into the homescreen even with old sims.
Hey Applejuiced, I believed I did try the inactive sim on 2g few months ago and it worked. Is there different process between old phone vs new/never activate 2g phone?
Crystal-RX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 11:28 PM   #5
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crystal-RX View Post
Hey Applejuiced, I believed I did try the inactive sim on 2g few months ago and it worked. Is there different process between old phone vs new/never activate 2g phone?
Yes, with the 2G the process is a little different and more complicated.
It wants you to activate the line and pick your plan and data all thru itunes before it lets the phone activate.
Give it a shot anyway with an old inactive sim but not sure if it will work.
With all other iphones it does no probs though.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 11:53 PM   #6
loskickking23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
I don't know what firmware this phone has... Does that matter? It's won't let me past the iTunes screen..
loskickking23 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 11:59 PM   #7
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by loskickking23 View Post
I don't know what firmware this phone has... Does that matter? It's won't let me past the iTunes screen..
You can restore it thru itunes to the latest 3.1.3 and use the guide I gave you above to do the rest.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2011, 12:01 AM   #8
Crystal-RX
macrumors 68030
 
Crystal-RX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA USA
The latest firmware for 2g is 3.1.3. Why don't you restore/update to the latest firmware (3.1.3) then follow Applejuiced's instruction to jailbreak/activate it.
Crystal-RX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2011, 12:03 AM   #9
loskickking23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
It doesn't give me the option to update.... It sends me straight to activate soon as I plug it in.....it won't let me do anything else... Lol..
loskickking23 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2011, 12:05 AM   #10
loskickking23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Yeah... No restore option or nothing... It's crazy....
loskickking23 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2011, 12:06 AM   #11
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Follow this:
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1034
Then it will let you restore it and you can go on with the rest.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2011, 12:09 AM   #12
loskickking23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Ok... I will try it that way... I will let you guys know.... Thanks for the help
loskickking23 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2011, 08:26 PM   #13
loskickking23
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Does anyone have the link to the redsnow 3.1.3 jailbreak? I got the phone restored but I can't find the JB ....
loskickking23 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2011, 08:53 PM   #14
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by loskickking23 View Post
Does anyone have the link to the redsnow 3.1.3 jailbreak? I got the phone restored but I can't find the JB ....
I gave you the link above.
Post #3
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best use for a 1st gen iphone? bluelogic iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Nov 8, 2013 07:18 PM
I just bought another 1st gen iPhone, 3rd 1st gen iPhone lulz Appl3FTW iPhone 39 Jan 26, 2013 03:20 PM
iPhone: iphone 1st gen satirev Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 23 Nov 5, 2012 01:18 AM
1st Gen iPhone dtbratt iPhone 9 Jul 28, 2012 08:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC