Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 31, 2011, 08:14 PM   #1
green86
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly, PA
New Mac Pro 1,1 owner, w/CPU upgrade, (8900 Geekbench Result)

Hey all.

The Mac Pro 1,1 seems to be getting a bad rap these days, but I picked one up a month ago and have enjoyed it since. It came with a 4870 (now a 6870 though) & 4 GB of ram. It was originally a 4 x 2.66 GHz model, but I picked up two 4 x 1.86 ($200 on eBay, effectively making it an 8-Core), which I have successfully overclocked to 2.33 GHz using the BSEL mod... for an astonishing (IMHO) 8900 GeekBench result. When I run Geekbench on the stock system, it returned a 6100 result. A pretty nice increase. (I'll post screenshots tomorrow)

A few notes:

1. Quad channel does make a difference in 1,1's, by a couple hundred points in GeekBench. (This means 4 matching FB-DIMMs in the first upper and lower two slots)

2. Windows 7 64-bit installation was tricky, but not impossible.

3. I have successfully used the 6870 just using the drivers avail for download.

4. I can't find a way (other then looking at the Geekbench results) to show that the chips were overclocked to 1.86 GHz in Mac OS X, but it is easy to verify in Windows.

Overall, I find it to be a pretty high performance machine. Does anyone know if Lion drops (official) support for the 1,1s?

Last edited by green86; Apr 1, 2011 at 04:46 PM.
green86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 08:54 PM   #2
bozz2006
macrumors 68030
 
bozz2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Minnesota
People are worried about it because they assume that Lion will run on a 64 bit kernel. And as it stands for the current and past OS's, the 1,1 was not capable of booting on a 64 bit kernel, seemingly because of the 1,1's 32 bit EFI.

On the other hand, 32 bit EFI machines are technically capable of booting 64 bit kernel, the Developer's Preview of Lion has been running on the 1,1's, and Apple's official minimum requirement for Lion is a core2duo processor (which the 1,1 has). I assume they will be supported.

How are you liking the momentus XT with your MBP? I'm getting an MBP and want to go the SSD + optibay HDD route, but just don't think I can afford it so I'm leaning toward the XT.
bozz2006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 09:14 PM   #3
green86
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bozz2006 View Post
People are worried about it because they assume that Lion will run on a 64 bit kernel. And as it stands for the current and past OS's, the 1,1 was not capable of booting on a 64 bit kernel, seemingly because of the 1,1's 32 bit EFI.

On the other hand, 32 bit EFI machines are technically capable of booting 64 bit kernel, the Developer's Preview of Lion has been running on the 1,1's, and Apple's official minimum requirement for Lion is a core2duo processor (which the 1,1 has). I assume they will be supported.

How are you liking the momentus XT with your MBP? I'm getting an MBP and want to go the SSD + optibay HDD route, but just don't think I can afford it so I'm leaning toward the XT.
Thank you, that answers my question completely. Yes, the 32-bit EFI is a source of confusion for a lot of things, but not seemingly yet as much of a nuisance as people seem to think.

As far as the Momentus, it is literally amazing. After 3 boots it learns the most used files and accelerates things substantially, and honestly I think SSDs are rip offs right now, esp with this on the market. Check my previous threads, I've written about it before IIRC.

Last edited by green86; Apr 1, 2011 at 04:43 PM.
green86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2011, 04:42 PM   #4
green86
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly, PA
Here are the screenshots as promised. I'll add some from Windows in a little bit. First shot is of the chips themselves with the mod in place. Next is the System profiler displaying the incorrect speed. The third is the GB result when I bought the computer, and the forth is upgraded.







For reference, details on the BSEL mod (in particular to the Mac Pro) can be found here:

http://www.o0o.it/pro/
green86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2011, 03:43 PM   #5
bizzle
macrumors 6502a
 
bizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
I am considering picking up a 1,1 and doing the same thing. Which 6850 did you get?
__________________
get your own damn blood.
bizzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2011, 07:24 AM   #6
hms84
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bizzle View Post
I am considering picking up a 1,1 and doing the same thing. Which 6850 did you get?
I want 6800
hms84 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2011, 11:12 AM   #7
green86
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bizzle View Post
I am considering picking up a 1,1 and doing the same thing. Which 6850 did you get?
If you mean 6870, it's a XFX. I'm not at home now, but I can post exactly which one when I get home.
green86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2011, 11:15 AM   #8
bizzle
macrumors 6502a
 
bizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by green86 View Post
If you mean 6870, it's a XFX. I'm not at home now, but I can post exactly which one when I get home.
Oops, read it wrong. Either way I am curious which one.
__________________
get your own damn blood.
bizzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2011, 02:44 AM   #9
green86
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bizzle View Post
Oops, read it wrong. Either way I am curious which one.
Ah you got it...

Its this exact card:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150506
green86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2011, 10:07 AM   #10
fiatlux
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Yes, I did the same end 2009: bought a 2x2.66 GHz MacPro 1,1 and upgraded to two 5340 engineering sample Quad CPUs (2.4 GHz running at 3GHz with BSEL mod). I paid 380 USD for the pair on eBay, and got around 150 USD for my old CPUs, so the upgrade only cost me ~ 230 USD.

With an SSD boot drive this machine screams (Geekbench in the 10,000). I have a capable HD3870 graphic card but I'm looking at a 6870 which provides the most bang for the bucks, IMO.
__________________
TV1; MacBook3,1; MacPro4,1->5,1; MacMini4,1; 2009 AEBS; 1GB iPod shuffle; 80 GB iPod Classic; 16 GB iPhone 4s; 64GB 3G iPad
fiatlux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 02:28 AM   #11
SWAN808
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiatlux View Post
Yes, I did the same end 2009: bought a 2x2.66 GHz MacPro 1,1 and upgraded to two 5340 engineering sample Quad CPUs (2.4 GHz running at 3GHz with BSEL mod). I paid 380 USD for the pair on eBay, and got around 150 USD for my old CPUs, so the upgrade only cost me ~ 230 USD.

With an SSD boot drive this machine screams (Geekbench in the 10,000). I have a capable HD3870 graphic card but I'm looking at a 6870 which provides the most bang for the bucks, IMO.
thanks

I was concerned over the slower clock speed of the 2.33 upgrade as I understand clock speed is important in audio production which I do. Over the x5355...

However the e5340 seems pretty rare - just looked on ebay and nothing...
SWAN808 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2012, 07:19 AM   #12
Lesser Evets
macrumors 68030
 
Lesser Evets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
This thread made me want to try the BESL mod to over-clock some cheap processor upgrades. Found a pair of used Intel Xeon E5320 Quad Core 1.86GHz/8MB/1066MHz CPU SL9MV processors and will install then next week. $35 for the processors; hopefully they DO work and aren't crap. The price is unbeatable if it works. It would give this old machine a very nice boost and keep it quite useable for a few more years.
__________________
2x1.86 BSEL Pro 1,1; 5770; 16GB RAM
Lesser Evets is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2012, 09:15 AM   #13
slughead
macrumors 68030
 
slughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by bozz2006 View Post
People are worried about it because they assume that Lion will run on a 64 bit kernel. And as it stands for the current and past OS's, the 1,1 was not capable of booting on a 64 bit kernel, seemingly because of the 1,1's 32 bit EFI.
This is Absolutely untrue! They're is already a quick, easy, and elegant hack out for the Mountain Lion install disk which has the MP 1,1 working perfectly.

Yes, the stock disc wont work, but creating your own works fine.

LINK

There is NO reason the 1,1 can't run Mountain Lion. However it seems the 7300GT is no longer supported.
slughead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 08:00 PM   #14
bozz2006
macrumors 68030
 
bozz2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by slughead View Post
This is Absolutely untrue! They're is already a quick, easy, and elegant hack out for the Mountain Lion install disk which has the MP 1,1 working perfectly.

Yes, the stock disc wont work, but creating your own works fine.

LINK

There is NO reason the 1,1 can't run Mountain Lion. However it seems the 7300GT is no longer supported.
Ok, notice when I made this post. It was a year ago. Before Lion was even released. And I was just commenting on speculation, not making a statement about what would and wouldn't work.
bozz2006 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2012, 10:08 AM   #15
slughead
macrumors 68030
 
slughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by bozz2006 View Post
Ok, notice when I made this post. It was a year ago. Before Lion was even released. And I was just commenting on speculation, not making a statement about what would and wouldn't work.
LOL I totally missed that and the fact you weren't talking about mountain lion.
slughead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2012, 02:46 AM   #16
cryingrobot
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by green86 View Post
Hey all.

The Mac Pro 1,1 seems to be getting a bad rap these days, but I picked one up a month ago and have enjoyed it since. It came with a 4870 (now a 6870 though) & 4 GB of ram. It was originally a 4 x 2.66 GHz model, but I picked up two 4 x 1.86 ($200 on eBay, effectively making it an 8-Core), which I have successfully overclocked to 2.33 GHz using the BSEL mod... for an astonishing (IMHO) 8900 GeekBench result. When I run Geekbench on the stock system, it returned a 6100 result. A pretty nice increase. (I'll post screenshots tomorrow)

A few notes:

1. Quad channel does make a difference in 1,1's, by a couple hundred points in GeekBench. (This means 4 matching FB-DIMMs in the first upper and lower two slots)

2. Windows 7 64-bit installation was tricky, but not impossible.

3. I have successfully used the 6870 just using the drivers avail for download.

4. I can't find a way (other then looking at the Geekbench results) to show that the chips were overclocked to 1.86 GHz in Mac OS X, but it is easy to verify in Windows.

Overall, I find it to be a pretty high performance machine. Does anyone know if Lion drops (official) support for the 1,1s?

Yes, I did the 266 octo upgrade and my geekbench score nearly doubled...something like 6000 to 10,000 roughly. I also added SSD system disk and doubled my ram though.
cryingrobot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2012, 08:55 AM   #17
macpro2000
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Wirelessly posted

Mine roughly doubled too...to about 9500. Too bad we can't easily run Mountain Lion though now, even though our MPs scream.
__________________
nMP Hex 3.5/D500/1TB/32GB with 5x30" ACD, iPhone 6 128GB
macpro2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2012, 02:25 PM   #18
Lesser Evets
macrumors 68030
 
Lesser Evets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
OK, guys. I just did the BESL mod update with a 2x2.66 4-cores to 2x1.86 8-cores on my MacPro 1,1.

Sorry to provide mere anecdotal evidence, but 32-bit went on Geekbench from 5100+ to 7300+, and the 64-bit I didn't check originally (wtf?) and ended up 8000+ when done. SMOKING.

Now, this is the killer bit.... cost me $40. Ebay used processors in good shape: $35; heat sink goop: $5; time: $0; result: priceless. I took a chance on some used jobs a week or two back because $35 for a 50% increase in speed seemed too-good-to-be-true, and it wasn't too good to be true, but it is too good period.

Video processing (I'm processing video from mkv to mpeg to compressed mpeg-4 in batch) has sped up 2x. Can't beat it.

I figure I prolonged the life of this computer 3 more years. Maybe 2. There are still faster processors I can install when they get cheaper in a few years. Lovely.

Anyone wanting to do it, just beware that fan housing, because that was the only painful bit. Reinstalling sucked. The rest was effortless.

EDIT: Don;t forget to use the fan control to wham up those fans. My computer went from 97 to 127 on the default fan settings. I'm getting it down, now.
__________________
2x1.86 BSEL Pro 1,1; 5770; 16GB RAM
Lesser Evets is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 03:42 PM   #19
Tucom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Sorry to revive an old thread, but are the Intel Xeon E5345 processors compatible with the 1,1 Mac Pro? And how much of a performance hit (or increase) would I notice going to the 2.33GHz Clovertown processors from the 2.66Ghz Woodcrest CPUs?


And how do I get the About This Mac to show the correct CPU's?


I had another thread just started about this, but no replies yet (I know I'm in a hurry) and this one has useful info for other people looking to do this upgrade.
Tucom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 06:13 PM   #20
nilk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Florida, U.S.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tucom View Post
Sorry to revive an old thread, but are the Intel Xeon E5345 processors compatible with the 1,1 Mac Pro? And how much of a performance hit (or increase) would I notice going to the 2.33GHz Clovertown processors from the 2.66Ghz Woodcrest CPUs?
I just installed a pair of E5345's stepping SL9YL last month and it has worked great (Edit: to be clear, this was on a Mac Pro 2,1). I don't know about the 2.66Ghz, but I upgraded from 2.0 GHz (5130's) and it doubled my Geekbench score. 64-bit Geekbench score went from 4463 to 9018. I bought the pair of used E5345's for $18 and was nervous it was too good to be true, but it all worked fine; can't complain.

One recommendation when doing the installation: make sure you have a good tool for the hex bit to unlock the heatsinks. My hex bit kept getting stuck when I tried to pull it out (would detach from the screwdriver); I ended up having to tape it together for the spots where fishing it out would be challenging, and even then I ran the risk of the tape getting shredded (which it did for one of the ones where I luckily could fish it out). I wished that I had one of those tools I've seen in one of the videos where it just one long hex tool (no detachable pieces), but I don't know where to get that.

Edit: Not sure if you need to upgrade firmware or not for these, may want to check that. It's a pretty simple process to upgrade the 1,1 to the 2,1 firmware, and I believe once done your machine will be no different than a 2,1 (firmware is the only difference -- correct me if I'm wrong here). I already had a 2,1, so didn't have to do this.
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ Xeon E5345's & ATI 5770 / Early '09 17" MBP / Early '08 15" MBP / 2012 15" rMBP / SG iP6 128GB

Last edited by nilk; Jan 9, 2013 at 11:56 AM.
nilk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 06:27 PM   #21
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tucom View Post
Sorry to revive an old thread, but are the Intel Xeon E5345 processors compatible with the 1,1 Mac Pro? And how much of a performance hit (or increase) would I notice going to the 2.33GHz Clovertown processors from the 2.66Ghz Woodcrest CPUs?


And how do I get the About This Mac to show the correct CPU's?


I had another thread just started about this, but no replies yet (I know I'm in a hurry) and this one has useful info for other people looking to do this upgrade.
Flash to 2,1 firmware will get the CPU's to show correctly..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2013-01-09 at 12.26.57 AM.png
Views:	12
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	388856  
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 06:33 PM   #22
Tucom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
Flash to 2,1 firmware will get the CPU's to show correctly..
But I don't think that would work for the E5345's, no?


Thanks for the info nilk!

I think I'm going to stick with the 5160's I purchased to upgrade for it and get the X5365's when the price drops (if it does)
Tucom is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 01:42 AM   #23
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tucom View Post
But I don't think that would work for the E5345's, no?


Thanks for the info nilk!

I think I'm going to stick with the 5160's I purchased to upgrade for it and get the X5365's when the price drops (if it does)
to the best of my knowledge it does. Neither your nor my processors were ever factory options.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 04:51 AM   #24
fiatlux
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
to the best of my knowledge it does. Neither your nor my processors were ever factory options.
My 5340 Engineering Sample CPUs do not show up correctly in the About this Mac details, with 1,1 or 2,1 firmware. Not that it matters, though. It has no impact on performance.
__________________
TV1; MacBook3,1; MacPro4,1->5,1; MacMini4,1; 2009 AEBS; 1GB iPod shuffle; 80 GB iPod Classic; 16 GB iPhone 4s; 64GB 3G iPad
fiatlux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 04:56 AM   #25
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiatlux View Post
My 5340 Engineering Sample CPUs do not show up correctly in the About this Mac details, with 1,1 or 2,1 firmware. Not that it matters, though. It has no impact on performance.
If I had to pluck something out of my 4th point of contact I'd say it's because they are ES's is why they don't read correctly.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro 3,1 CPU Upgrade DawgBone Mac Pro 36 Aug 10, 2014 09:37 PM
MacBook Pro (retina, late 2013) benchmark result!! (both CPU and GPU) yossiri MacBook Pro 3 Oct 31, 2013 02:55 AM
Iphone 5 geekbench result? chriso89 iPhone 10 Nov 4, 2012 09:48 PM
Can I upgrade a Mac Pro 4,1 CPU with a 3,1 CPU? cbt3 Mac Pro 11 Jul 30, 2012 09:54 AM
Mac Pro 1,1 CPU upgrade michael_aos Mac Pro 5 Jun 13, 2012 05:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC