Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 28, 2005, 09:33 AM   #1
Omad0n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Signal not strong enough?

okay so here's another WiFi question. I've found that while at work, there is WiFi access, but the problem is I barely get a signal in the office I've got. At least it would seem that i'm barely getting it. Upon looking in internet connect I find that i do have a signal, and while it's low 2 to 1 bars, it's there. THe issue is that other peopel at work, with windows machines, can access the web just fine, and with just as low of a signal. How come my powerbook can't? Also, why bother having those last 2 bars there if you can't get the net even if you have them? Is there anything that I can do so the mac will still access the net? Like I said it sees a signal, even says I've got one, but it wont let me actually use any web apps. Any thoguhts would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Curious about a mans hunt for love? Come check out my blog Steveabroad.wordpress.com Updated twice weekly.
Omad0n is offline   0
Old Feb 28, 2005, 10:03 AM   #2
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
I use the wireless net at campus of UiB and rarely get more than 2 bars. Works fine, even dipping into 1 bar occasionly in some lecture halls. Don't loose the internet connection before it goes down to zero bars (at which point I lose whatever base I'm hanging on, anyway...)
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0
Old Mar 1, 2005, 12:44 AM   #3
Omad0n
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
So are you saying that something is wrong with my mac then? Cause I def. have the bars but it's not doing me a lick of good.
__________________
Curious about a mans hunt for love? Come check out my blog Steveabroad.wordpress.com Updated twice weekly.
Omad0n is offline   0
Old Mar 1, 2005, 12:55 AM   #4
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
For better or worse, the Aluminum PowerBooks suck for WiFi reception compared to almost any other laptop. I have a client with 2 PowerBooks, line of sight 20 feet from an Airport Express as a repeater (installed because the Airport Extreme B.S. couldn't go 30 feet and through one wall ) and one machine will be stable while the other machine goes from 2 bars to zero.
CanadaRAM is offline   0
Old Mar 1, 2005, 01:02 AM   #5
broken_keyboard
Banned
 
broken_keyboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Secret Moon base
I wouldn't necessarily assume the web access thing is related to the weak signal. Maybe check that you have your company proxy set in the network settings.
broken_keyboard is offline   0
Old Mar 1, 2005, 01:06 AM   #6
ham_man
macrumors 68020
 
ham_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Though I have heard that the PBs do have worse reception than the iBooks, I think that the problem may lie in the internet or the router, ie not playing well with your Mac.

If you really think about it, even if your wireless connection is going at a *measly* 1 mbps, that is still more than enough to surf the net, assuming that your net is fine.
ham_man is offline   0
Old Mar 1, 2005, 05:02 AM   #7
Omad0n
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Right, all the more reason I'm curious as to what the problem is, and how I might go abotu fixing it. Cause I don't wanna go complain to apple if it's not the computers fault. Like I said, I havea signal, albeit a weak 2 ro 1 bars at work, it's just that it doesn't let me surf the net, while other (windows) computers can with the same weak signal, and they've not had naything done to them other then turning on and connceting.
__________________
Curious about a mans hunt for love? Come check out my blog Steveabroad.wordpress.com Updated twice weekly.
Omad0n is offline   0
Old Mar 1, 2005, 11:25 AM   #8
plinden
macrumors 68040
 
plinden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omad0n
Right, all the more reason I'm curious as to what the problem is, and how I might go abotu fixing it. Cause I don't wanna go complain to apple if it's not the computers fault. Like I said, I havea signal, albeit a weak 2 ro 1 bars at work, it's just that it doesn't let me surf the net, while other (windows) computers can with the same weak signal, and they've not had naything done to them other then turning on and connceting.
Are there any other coworkers with Macs you could compare with?

Is your PB is your own? Are the PC users using computers provided by your employer? If so, perhaps the access point has been restricted by MAC address. You should check with your IT department or whoever set up the network. (I had the same problem when adding a PC to my home network - I pissed around for a couple of hours, unable to connect to my own router even though I could see it and I could connect to a neighbor's unsecured AP, before I remembered I had access restricted by MAC address)

Also, take a look at the wireless setup on a couple of the PCs. You may find something that's configured differently from your own.

Anyway, it seems that getting a wireless setup working is still very much a hit-or-miss affair. If you look up reviews of wireless products, there's always 50% really bad and 50% really good because it works immediately for some people but never works for others. Also, it seems to be easier to connect if the access point and the computer wireless card are from the same manufacturer.
plinden is offline   0
Old Mar 2, 2005, 03:49 AM   #9
Omad0n
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Fantastic information on the post before mine, I'll take a look at things like mac addresses and such the next time I go in, which will be friday. THanks for giving me some ideas, it's much appreciated.
__________________
Curious about a mans hunt for love? Come check out my blog Steveabroad.wordpress.com Updated twice weekly.
Omad0n is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weak wifi signal/signal loss with U-Verse rpearlberg Mac Peripherals 9 Aug 9, 2013 05:41 PM
Ipod touch 4 losing web but wifi signal strong Ipod touch4user iPod touch 4 Jul 2, 2013 09:35 PM
Strong 3G signal vs weak LTE signal? Faize iPhone 9 Feb 10, 2013 10:54 PM
iPhone: Wifi signal and carrier signal keep lost elisa2012 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Dec 25, 2012 05:39 AM
LTE signal available but poor 3G signal--no help for voice calls? citivolus iPhone 2 Sep 14, 2012 09:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC