Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 18, 2011, 11:27 AM   #76
xchaotic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Can anyone tell me which 2x 4GB sticks should I order and where given that I want to buy in UK and have it delivered in mainland EU? Ebay? Which seller?
xchaotic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2011, 11:48 AM   #77
edifyingGerbil
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonH42 View Post
CAS is the access time. The Kingston (KHX1600C9S3K2/8G) or Patriot will be fine, they benchmark the same. I wouldn't recommend the UK company I bought the RAM from, but LambdaTek stock it also although incorrectly it states 240pin (its 204pin): http://www.lambda-tek.com/components...prodID=2172333

XMP is Intel eXtreme Memory Profile - I believe it means the speed can be switched via the BIOS which we don't have access to on the MBP.
Which company did you buy it from?

I just purchased the KHX1600C9S3K2/8G from this company:

http://store.cbccomputers.com/produc...600C9S3K2%2F8G

They're the cheapest I found and you get free shipping until 30th of April. I got it with me but I need to take it into the Apple Store to have it installed so I can't benchmark it, alas.
edifyingGerbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2011, 03:05 PM   #78
JasonH42
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xchaotic View Post
Can anyone tell me which 2x 4GB sticks should I order and where given that I want to buy in UK and have it delivered in mainland EU? Ebay? Which seller?
Avoid micomonline

Lambdatek is fine, wish I'd bought there.

http://www.lambda-tek.com/components...prodID=2172333
JasonH42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2011, 03:21 PM   #79
dime21
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
intel sandy bridge chipset says 1600 mhz support in the specifications. this is nothing new. 1600 mhz so-dimms were not available back in january when the mbp was refreshed however, i know because i checked newegg and other online retailers the same day the new mbp was released and no 1600 mhz so-dimms were available anywhere. now they are. i suspect we'll see the mbp ship with 1600 mhz memory when it gets a slight refresh towards the end of the year.
__________________
B.O. Stinks! Prevent embarrassing B.O. problems- Vote Republican!
dime21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2011, 04:29 PM   #80
drambuie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macsavvytech View Post

im confused, what models do work i know how to install RAM what RAM frequencies are but not much of an expert in the brand names (XMP etc).
XMP means Extreme Memory Profile. It's a feature built into Intel Core i CPUs.
IF the RAM has an XMP entry in its header, the CPU's on-board memory controller reads the header and sets the memory speed accordingly. It's usually the higher spec'd oveclockable RAM that is XMP enabled. At 1666MHz, the RAM is being overclocked, but within defined parameters. Also, the RAM voltage is adjusted for stability at the higher speed.
drambuie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2011, 10:21 AM   #81
altecXP
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Newegg has it back in stock, for $99 I ordered a pair. :-)
__________________
Home - 13in MacBook Air: 1.7GHz i5, 4GB DDR3, 128GB SSD
Work - (not in use)2011 15in MacBook Pro: 2.2GHz i7, 8GB DDR3, 500GB HDD
(in use) 2008 15in MacBook Pro: 2.5GHz Core2Duo, 4GB DDR2, 160GB HDD
altecXP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2011, 03:00 PM   #82
ecstacy2012
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Can anyone please tell me another brand that works?? I looked everywhere for the kingston but everywhere sold out. will this work??>Patriot PSD38G1600SK Signature DDR3 8GB (2 x 4GB) CL11 PC3-12800 (1600MHz

or can someone tell me another brand and/or where it's in stock would be much appreciated!!
ecstacy2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2011, 03:13 PM   #83
squeakr
macrumors 68000
 
squeakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
The Patriot should work. I have their 1333Mhz stuff and works great (as per their website the 1333Mhz is Apple certified, whatever that means as I don't think they have submitted it to Apple for testing).
squeakr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2011, 05:36 PM   #84
GaresTaylan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I have a 13" i5 MBP - will 1600MHz ram work at 1600 and not 1333 on my model?
__________________
2012 Mac Mini - 2.3GHz i7, 8GB, 180GB SSD/320GB HDD | 2011 MBA 13" - 1.7GHz i5, 4GB, 128GB SSD
2010 Apple TV
16GB iPhone 5S (Black) | 32GB WiFi iPad Air
GaresTaylan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2011, 05:37 PM   #85
adrian1480
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
1600MHz HyperX ram here.

smooth sailing.
adrian1480 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2011, 05:48 PM   #86
GaresTaylan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrian1480 View Post
1600MHz HyperX ram here.

smooth sailing.
On which machine??
__________________
2012 Mac Mini - 2.3GHz i7, 8GB, 180GB SSD/320GB HDD | 2011 MBA 13" - 1.7GHz i5, 4GB, 128GB SSD
2010 Apple TV
16GB iPhone 5S (Black) | 32GB WiFi iPad Air
GaresTaylan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2011, 05:51 PM   #87
altecXP
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Just put 1600 in my 2011 not even 3minutes ago.

Running full speed.
__________________
Home - 13in MacBook Air: 1.7GHz i5, 4GB DDR3, 128GB SSD
Work - (not in use)2011 15in MacBook Pro: 2.2GHz i7, 8GB DDR3, 500GB HDD
(in use) 2008 15in MacBook Pro: 2.5GHz Core2Duo, 4GB DDR2, 160GB HDD
altecXP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2011, 05:53 PM   #88
lavrishevo
macrumors 65816
 
lavrishevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Georgia
Just to reiterate as so many people are spec crazy and have unrealistic expectations:

Quote:

Quote:
Conclusions
Even before we consider the results of our performance testing, it's interesting to note that Sandy Bridge makes higher-speed memory more and less appealing. On one hand, the unlocked memory multiplier present in K-series CPUs makes setting a higher memory frequency almost as trivial as changing any other BIOS setting. At the same time, the fact that base-clock overclocking is essentially a dead end for Sandy Bridge CPUs means that faster memory isn't required to keep up with higher base clock frequencies. The only reason to buy faster memory for a Sandy Bridge rig is if it's going to improve performance.

So, is it?

That depends. If you're running memory benchmarks all day long, then yes, faster memory will improve bandwidth and access latencies substantially. In fact, Sandy Bridge CPUs extract more performance from the same memory configuration than their Lynnfield- and Clarkdale-based counterparts. However, as we learned when exploring the affect of memory speed on the performance of Intel's first Core i7 processors, finding games and applications that make effective use of the extra memory bandwidth and faster access latencies can be difficult.

Among the tests we ran, only the Euler3d fluid dynamics simulation enjoyed a substantial benefit from faster memory configurations. Video encoding and file compression ran a little bit quicker with higher memory frequencies and tighter timings, but most of our application tests showed little or no improvement in performance. Neither did the games, which only managed to squeeze a few extra FPS out of our fastest memory configuration.

Although there are certainly cases where pairing Sandy Bridge processors with low-latency or high-frequency memory can yield impressive gains, it's hard to find a common desktop application or game whose performance improves enough to justify the additional expense. If you're looking to set benchmarking records or to compensate for personal shortcomings, K-series Sandy Bridge CPUs at least make it easy to run exotic DIMMs at blistering speeds. Everyone else can rest assured that using relatively inexpensive DDR3-1333 memory won't cost them much performance in the real world.
http://techreport.com/articles.x/20377/4
lavrishevo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2011, 01:58 AM   #89
ngletu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
can any body help me??
I wonder will those memory fit my MBP 13" 2011? and in addition, I live in New Zealand, where can i buy this?
Thank you for any advice!!!
ngletu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2011, 02:53 AM   #90
SpitUK
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lavrishevo View Post
Just to reiterate as so many people are spec crazy and have unrealistic expectations:

Quote:



http://techreport.com/articles.x/20377/4
But if the 1600 is the same price then why not?
__________________
15" Haswell Retina MacBook Pro, 2.0GHz, 8Gb Ram, 256Gb SSD, 16Gb Space Grey iPhone 5s, 16Gb Space Grey Retina iPad Mini, Xbox One
SpitUK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2011, 03:32 AM   #91
lavrishevo
macrumors 65816
 
lavrishevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Georgia
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpitUK View Post
But if the 1600 is the same price then why not?
I agree. Why not. I just wanted to inform everyone of the realistic differences between the two.
lavrishevo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2011, 04:05 AM   #92
adrian1480
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaresTaylan View Post
On which machine??
2011 i7 2720 17".
adrian1480 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2011, 10:16 PM   #93
anonymouse99
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
What are good sources for the 1600 8GB DDR3 - newegg does not have any in stock! Thanks
anonymouse99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2011, 09:30 AM   #94
altecXP
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by anonymouse99 View Post
What are good sources for the 1600 8GB DDR3 - newegg does not have any in stock! Thanks
Amazon has it, it's about $10 more though.
__________________
Home - 13in MacBook Air: 1.7GHz i5, 4GB DDR3, 128GB SSD
Work - (not in use)2011 15in MacBook Pro: 2.2GHz i7, 8GB DDR3, 500GB HDD
(in use) 2008 15in MacBook Pro: 2.5GHz Core2Duo, 4GB DDR2, 160GB HDD
altecXP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 08:14 AM   #95
loserpro2
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Hi all,

I will be purchasing my macbook pro 15" early 2011 version as stated here with the sandy bridge 2.3mhz cpu soon, and want to do a RAM upgrade myself. I read, as with this thread the Kingston Hyper X 8gb model serial KHX1600C9S3K2/8G proved to work, but everywhere I look on the internet, the stock for this ram module seems to have run out. are there places that still have it and are willing to ship international? I am stationed at australia and newegg doesn't seem to ship international and they have no stock on the mentioned model as well.

also, kingston released a replacement module i presume? which is the kingston KHX1600C9S3P1K2/8G. I'm not exactly sure if this will bolt up just as smooth as the older module, but it seems like this module is in limited stock as well and I can't find this module in many places. so I was wondering if anyone knew places that have good rep and are still selling either the kingston KHX1600C9S3K2/8G or KHX1600C9S3P1K2/8G model and are willing to ship international.

many many thanks. ><"
loserpro2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2011, 01:06 PM   #96
anonymouse99
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Thanks to this thread Memory is finally back in stock at Newegg, managed to snag some, for $10 more though
anonymouse99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2011, 10:29 PM   #97
lauph
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 30 mins from Cupertino
Aww... 1600 is not enough.

Here came 1866 a few weeks ago.
lauph is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2011, 01:57 AM   #98
Macsavvytech
macrumors 6502a
 
Macsavvytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lauph View Post
Aww... 1600 is not enough.

Here came 1866 a few weeks ago.
Does that work!! In the MBP that is? I mean what is the max the Sandy Bridge i7 in the MBP supports?
__________________
Sarcasm is my middle name.
Macsavvytech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2011, 02:06 AM   #99
m4rk0
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
guys fyi the kingston ram KHX1600C9S3P1K2/8G works flawlessly as the KHX1600C9S3K2/8G does, it seems kingston just replaced the heat spreader in favor of a less obtrusive one, maybe to facilitate the installation; ram chips have exactly the same spd timings.

Last edited by m4rk0; May 10, 2011 at 02:11 AM. Reason: changed small to obtrusive :D
m4rk0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2011, 02:26 AM   #100
dlimes13
macrumors 6502a
 
dlimes13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perrysburg, OH
 
Send a message via Skype™ to dlimes13
Anybody have these: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820220577

No reviews, but only one in stock on Newegg. I get a 30% discount if I buy from Newegg, so I rather stick with them. If these register at 1600, I will get these.
__________________
15" rMBP (Late 2013), i7-4960HQ/16GB/1TB
iPhone 5S/16GB/SG/VZW | iPod/160GB/B
TV 3/Rev. A | AEBS AC
Custom Server, i7-4770K/32GB/512GB/18TB
dlimes13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does my Macbook Pro 13" i5 Early 2011 works with 16gb 1600mhz of ram? y1ruma1 MacBook Pro 5 May 22, 2014 03:30 PM
MacBook Pro 16GB RAM 1600Mhz ThomasLentati MacBook Pro 141 Dec 3, 2013 08:49 AM
can macbook pro early 2011 handle 16Gigs and 1600Mhz? ajcrewmisfit MacBook Pro 5 Sep 21, 2012 11:22 AM
Kingston hyper X 1600Mhz in Early-2011 Macbook Pro jayleongwk MacBook Pro 5 Sep 5, 2012 09:05 AM
MacBook Pro i5 1600MHz RAM ThomasLentati MacBook Pro 8 Jun 24, 2012 01:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC