Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 2, 2005, 09:15 PM   #1
ElectroGeek
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Exclamation help help help!!! my mac is sick

i have a agp gigabit ethernet 400mhz and well, it runs like a pc, a realy sick pc.....
i have tested the ram
i have tested the hard drive
i have tested the board and cpu with the mac test cd and they are fins however

the fault:
it crashes ofthen, after about 15 mins of running, or more usualy wont boot at all! and this is ditressing for me, i bought it because i understand macs dont crash and well, this is the ananim of it. can someone help,

ps if any know is there is a mac users club in hamilton New Zealand i would be most thankful for its details

ElectroGeek

Last edited by Nermal; Mar 4, 2005 at 05:16 AM. Reason: it's a GigE (Mystic) not a Sawtooth
ElectroGeek is offline   0
Old Mar 2, 2005, 09:23 PM   #2
Lacero
macrumors 601
 
Lacero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Bad RAM is the usual culprit. Try swapping for new RAM, or try re-seating them. Reset the PMU by pressing the little black button on the mobo that is next to the battery.
Lacero is offline   0
Old Mar 2, 2005, 09:30 PM   #3
LeeTom
macrumors 65816
 
LeeTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
OS X? OS 9?
What version?
LeeTom is offline   0
Old Mar 2, 2005, 09:50 PM   #4
Mechcozmo
macrumors 603
 
Mechcozmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lacero
Reset the PMU by pressing the little black button on the mobo that is next to the battery.
Only press it once or else you can do major damage. Just one press. That's all it takes. Press twice=motherboard crash (open firmware crash in a way I guess)

ONLY PRESS ONCE!
__________________
This is not the signature you're looking for.
This is not the signature we're looking for.
You can scroll down now.
You can scroll down now.
Mechcozmo is offline   0
Old Mar 2, 2005, 10:31 PM   #5
vieoray
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechcozmo
ONLY PRESS ONCE!
heh, that's funny. apple support once told me to reset the PMU, so i did. then they had me reset it again, and one more time for good measure. it didnt fix the problem i was having (display went bad in an eMac) but once i had the display fixed everything was fine, pressing the PMU button once, twice, or thrice.

(still though you're not supposed to press it but once)
vieoray is offline   0
Old Mar 2, 2005, 10:53 PM   #6
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Having physically seen this computer myself I can answer a few questions about it

It's running 9.2.2, but reinstalling it didn't help. Tried swapping memory and video card, and I think we tried a different hard drive too. Tried disconnecting the CD drive. I think we narrowed it down to either the CPU, logic board, or power supply. My guess is that the logic board is dead

Edit: Attempted to install OS 10.3.5 but I don't recall whether it succeeded.

Edit 2: Moved to hardware forum.

Last edited by Nermal; Mar 4, 2005 at 01:24 AM.
Nermal is offline   0
Old Mar 4, 2005, 01:29 AM   #7
ElectroGeek
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Exclamation it goes on

ok i have tested all sujestion with no sucsess, i saw somewhere online the gigabit eithernet modle should have a cooling block on the north bridge, would that do it?
ElectroGeek is offline   0
Old Mar 4, 2005, 05:20 AM   #8
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Just to clarify the previous post: A couple of years ago I remember reading that the Philips chip on the back of the logic board should be cooled with a heatsink (as stated on the build your own Mac page).

Quote:
Word of caution: the back of the logic board contains several chips. One of these chips needs cooling and thus it's recommended that a tiny heat sink be mounted on the large "Philips" chip (lower left in the photo). It's clearly marked, and if you happen to pull the logic board out of your own G4 case, you'll see the small aluminum block on the door of the chassis.
There is no aluminium block on the door, but if I recall correctly there is a little heatsink-sized gap there. Should there be a heatsink there?

Last edited by Nermal; Mar 4, 2005 at 05:23 AM.
Nermal is offline   0
Old Mar 9, 2005, 04:14 AM   #9
ElectroGeek
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Cool Should i give up

should i jsut take it in to the shop and see if they can fix it or does someone out there still have an idea?
ElectroGeek is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my mac is sick fbhump iMac 3 Apr 21, 2011 11:25 PM
My Mac Pro doesn't want to get out of bed in the morning MotleyPete Mac Pro 5 Nov 25, 2010 11:08 AM
My mac disconnects the whole network abdpse MacBook Pro 0 Nov 16, 2010 07:34 AM
My Mac is sick! mcrain General Mac Discussion 2 Apr 8, 2003 03:05 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC