Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 2, 2005, 11:24 PM   #1
mleenyor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
cube hard drive installable in an imac 333?

Does anyone here know whether a hard drive taken out of an Apple cube (40GB) can run in an old generation tray loading imac which came with only 6GB? I would like just a bit more room on the imac for my retired dad who only reads the news on the net, currently the imac is running on OS X.
mleenyor is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 12:47 AM   #2
wrc fan
macrumors 65816
 
wrc fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a world where LPs are made like pancakes
Yes it can, they both use the standard 3.5 inch IDE hard drive
wrc fan is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 10:38 AM   #3
mleenyor
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Thanks, Oaklandbum!
mleenyor is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 11:41 AM   #4
strider42
macrumors 65816
 
strider42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
One note though. The tray loading iMacs have a limitation with odler drives. The OS must be installed on a partition wholly contained within the first 8 gigs of the drive. It can be smaller, but it has to be fully contained within the first 8 gigs. So you might consider moving some default folder locations ot the other partition so space doesn't get limited in the default locations on the partition where the OS is installed.
__________________
It's these little things, they can pull you under.
Live your life filled with joy and thunder.
strider42 is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 12:06 PM   #5
mleenyor
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
When I reboot a clean install after the hard drive switch, the first thing I plan to install is the OS X. Will that do in terms of allocating all of OS X into the first 8 GB?
mleenyor is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 12:25 PM   #6
Wyvernspirit
macrumors 6502a
 
Wyvernspirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Send a message via AIM to Wyvernspirit
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by mleenyor
When I reboot a clean install after the hard drive switch, the first thing I plan to install is the OS X. Will that do in terms of allocating all of OS X into the first 8 GB?
Actually you will want to reformat the drive into two partitions. The first partition will need to be about 8 gigs, the second everything else. Install the OS on that first partition. You acn install software, documants on the second partition, but it is important to have the first partition set up for the OS X install, that way there is no chance it will end up after that first 8.
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac 2.4GHz
White iPhone 5 [16GB]
Space Gray iPad Mini with retina[32GB]
iPad (3rd Gen), iPhone (4,3G S⃣, and Classic) ($SOLD$)
Wyvernspirit is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 12:43 PM   #7
strider42
macrumors 65816
 
strider42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyvernspirit
it is important to have the first partition set up for the OS X install, that way there is no chance it will end up after that first 8.
On a tray loading iMac, it won't even let you try to install Os X unless the partition meets the requirements.

OS 9 was a bit different in that regard. It would let you install on any partition, and it would work on larger partitions, but the moment fragmentation caused system files to move outside those first 8 gigs, it would stop booting. So OS X is a bit smarter about thsi limitation.
__________________
It's these little things, they can pull you under.
Live your life filled with joy and thunder.
strider42 is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 01:45 PM   #8
Wyvernspirit
macrumors 6502a
 
Wyvernspirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Send a message via AIM to Wyvernspirit
Quote:
Originally Posted by strider42
On a tray loading iMac, it won't even let you try to install Os X unless the partition meets the requirements.

OS 9 was a bit different in that regard. It would let you install on any partition, and it would work on larger partitions, but the moment fragmentation caused system files to move outside those first 8 gigs, it would stop booting. So OS X is a bit smarter about thsi limitation.
I wouldn't call that "smarter." The suggestion I made was to make sure there is no boot up problem later (as quaoted: system files to move outside those first 8 gigs, it would stop booting).

I had a Beige G3 I had to do this to in order to get it to work. and OS 9 did not have this limitation, suggesting that, in fact, it was smarter. OS 9 may have had a lot bad about it, but it had a lot of good to. There are times I miss it, but not for long as I think we gained a lot more then we lost.

My two cents.
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac 2.4GHz
White iPhone 5 [16GB]
Space Gray iPad Mini with retina[32GB]
iPad (3rd Gen), iPhone (4,3G S⃣, and Classic) ($SOLD$)
Wyvernspirit is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 iMac, Will I still have fan issues if I get a hard drive from another iMac? fendert iMac 2 May 18, 2014 10:04 PM
iMac no longer sees fusion drive after hard drive replacement cole01 iMac 6 Jul 21, 2013 11:44 AM
Where is imac hard drive? MVWP iMac 10 Jan 6, 2013 04:16 PM
Drive enclosure for old iMac hard drive Simonmiller iMac 3 Dec 4, 2012 09:01 AM
need hard drive for my iMac 24 please help! ngraysva Mac Basics and Help 1 Oct 31, 2012 11:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC