Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 12, 2011, 03:23 AM   #1
pmll
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Adobe Photoshop CS5 scratch disk full

Hi, so yesterday when I was using Photoshop CS5 something popped up saying that my scratch disk is full. And now, Photoshop wouldn't open at all saying the scratch disk is full.

I'm using a MacBook Pro 7,1 version 10.6.7 .
pmll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 03:27 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Do you have set up a "scratch disk" in PS? How much free HDD storage capacity do you have left on your internal HDD or the scratch disk you set up?
Did a restart fix the issue?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 03:39 AM   #3
pmll
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Do you have set up a "scratch disk" in PS? How much free HDD storage capacity do you have left on your internal HDD or the scratch disk you set up?
Did a restart fix the issue?
I don't know where or if i have a scratch disk set up. I have 10.76 GB available.
pmll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 03:46 AM   #4
MacBoobsPro
macrumors 603
 
MacBoobsPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to MacBoobsPro
Free up some HD space or specify an external drive as a scratch disk in PS preferences. For better performance use your internal drive.

Photoshop is using your HD for memory purposes and it seems you dont have much HD space left.

You can also 'Purge' the memory by going to Edit > Purge > All. This will clear the stored info on the scratch disk but it will soon fill up again if youre using big images and have little HD space left.
MacBoobsPro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 03:53 AM   #5
romeo26
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
iam having this same problem. except i have 119gb free. what is going on?

all iam trying to do is crop a image from my 7d.
romeo26 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 06:07 AM   #6
chrono1081
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
Quote:
Originally Posted by romeo26 View Post
iam having this same problem. except i have 119gb free. what is going on?

all iam trying to do is crop a image from my 7d.
Did you make sure your crop settings are in pixels not inches? (Type px after your number if it shows in inches).

Yesterday I went to crop a picture and didn't catch that it was in inches. I realized my mistake when my file size jumped to 25 GB.
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Tags
photoshop, scratch disk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adobe PhotoShop CS5 compatibility? Sanchez25 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Oct 17, 2014 11:27 AM
My photoshop CS5 can't detect my external drive scratch disk? Smash87 Mac Basics and Help 4 Apr 12, 2013 01:48 PM
Should I set an external scratch disk for use with Photoshop? Siderz Design and Graphics 5 Apr 6, 2013 06:47 AM
Can I use a 3 Drive internal RAID as a Photoshop scratch disk? sngraphics Mac Pro 36 Feb 7, 2013 01:38 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC