Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 12, 2011, 03:47 AM   #1
Eva123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
i think my Imac was compromised, window pop-up disabled me to shut down!

Hello all,

I just ran into something that I never experienced on my iMac Intel while on the internet. I forgot what link i clicked but when i did it closed my Firefox and a window popped up saying that a website, unfamiliar to me, requires a scan. The message was formatted this way:

(..............firefox says: scanat......com requires a scan.

I do not remember the full site or most of the message because I was too much in a hurry to get out of it. I could not get a screen cap. because it would not let me click on any applications. I tried to force quit Firefox but it wouldn't let me. Then I tried to shut down and it told me that Firefox canceled the shut down until i presses "OK" for the scan! So then I just unplugged it.

I have restarted my computer and nothing seems off, but then again i wouldn't know.

Has this ever happened to anyone? Should I be concerned, maybe consider getting a spyware, malware, and virus scan? I appreciate any constructive feedback.

p.s. the link was not porn or anything compromising at least not intentional.
Eva123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 04:06 AM   #2
Don Kosak
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hilo, Hawaii
Well, if you didn't hit OK, you're probably fine.

I'm surprised it wouldn't let you "Force Quit"... Did you use the one under the menu?
__________________
iMac, MacBook, MacMini, iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, AppleTV
Developer of Wiki Edit - the MediaWiki Editor for iPad
Don Kosak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 04:07 AM   #3
eawmp1
macrumors 601
 
eawmp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: FL
This message is not from Mozilla and is a common phishing way to get people to download Trojans. If you didn't click it it doesn't open. And odds are it would be a Windows Trojan.

Steps in future:

Close window
Quit Firefox
Force quit (command option escape)
Hold power button down for 5 secs to restart computer

Cut power as last resort.



No to antivirus software.
eawmp1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 09:15 AM   #4
JeepGuy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Barrie
if you are running firefox, I would install noscript, for when you are visiting questionable sites.
JeepGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 10:35 AM   #5
Eva123
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Kosak View Post
I'm surprised it wouldn't let you "Force Quit"... Did you use the one under the menu?

Yeah, me too. That's what worried me the most because I have been on sites that have those Trojan phishing scam things but they're always easy to just x out of, but this one was evil!,lol. It really took control over my computer because it didn't let me click anywhere.

i did try to exit firstly by the upper x but it didn't have the option and by then my Firefox window had been minimized on its own. Then I tried force quit on the desktop menu icon, and then the Apple menu, nothing.

@eawmp1, Thanks, but I did try those steps but it wouldn't allow me to. Like I couldn't close the message window because it only had a mini or max option and the top Firefox menu only had the "Firefox" part, none of the other options like tools, view, etc. The only thing i didn't try was the keyboard shortcut to force quit. I'll keep that in mind if it happens again.

@JeepGuy- thanks, i will look into that.
Eva123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 10:48 AM   #6
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eva123 View Post
Yeah, me too. That's what worried me the most because I have been on sites that have those Trojan phishing scam things but they're always easy to just x out of, but this one was evil!,lol. It really took control over my computer because it didn't let me click anywhere.

i did try to exit firstly by the upper x but it didn't have the option and by then my Firefox window had been minimized on its own. Then I tried force quit on the desktop menu icon, and then the Apple menu, nothing.

@eawmp1, Thanks, but I did try those steps but it wouldn't allow me to. Like I couldn't close the message window because it only had a mini or max option and the top Firefox menu only had the "Firefox" part, none of the other options like tools, view, etc. The only thing i didn't try was the keyboard shortcut to force quit. I'll keep that in mind if it happens again.

@JeepGuy- thanks, i will look into that.
you should have activity monitor in your dock. then do these four steps.

first thumbnail click on act mon


second thumb click on the dead app

third thumb double click on quit "the dead app"


last thumb click on force quit "the dead app"



this tends to work better then the force quit that comes up with the upper left apple menu. you can do this with any beachball app or in your case the virus
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	act mon one.png
Views:	79
Size:	536.2 KB
ID:	280969   Click image for larger version

Name:	act mon two.png
Views:	67
Size:	685.9 KB
ID:	280970   Click image for larger version

Name:	act mon three.png
Views:	50
Size:	482.5 KB
ID:	280971  

Click image for larger version

Name:	act mon four.png
Views:	49
Size:	730.6 KB
ID:	280972  
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 10:57 AM   #7
JeepGuy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Barrie
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Kosak View Post
I'm surprised it wouldn't let you "Force Quit"...
it's a common trick, they disable the close buttons on the browser through scripts. These shanagans usually work better on PC's, and in some case completely hi-jack them.
JeepGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 02:06 PM   #8
Behemecoatyl
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
You NEED to get a virus scanner asap.
Behemecoatyl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 02:27 PM   #9
drambuie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
It's a well known scam in the Windows world. A script runs to make it look like your computer is compromised, then they offer a half-baked application to clean it, usually for around $40.
drambuie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 02:27 PM   #10
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
That's just a plain browser pop up, due to you visiting shady sites.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemecoatyl View Post
You NEED to get a virus scanner asap.
There are no viruses on Mac OS X. None.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 04:16 PM   #11
Badger^2
macrumors 68000
 
Badger^2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sacramento
Quote:
Originally Posted by Consultant View Post
That's just a plain browser pop up, due to you visiting shady sites.
There are no viruses on Mac OS X. None.
Exactly.

Just a simple silly pop up.

Close, move on, forget about it.

Virus software is not necessary.
__________________
27" 2.93 iMac/24 gigs/1 TB+24" Dell 2405
24" 2.4 iMac/4 gigs/640 gig+20" Dell 2405
20" 2.4 iMac/4 gigs/320 gig+20" Dell 2001
20" 2.13 iMac/3 gigs/320 gig+20" Dell 2007
Badger^2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 04:25 PM   #12
dime21
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
This was caused by javascript foolishness. NoScript would have prevented it. A virus scanner would not have helped, and is not necessary.
__________________
B.O. Stinks! Prevent embarrassing B.O. problems- Vote Republican!
dime21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 04:57 PM   #13
Vylen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Yep, it's just annoying javascript.

It's possible in Javascript for a page to open up a pop-up when it detects that you're leaving a page (or closing firefox).

And then that pop-up can push annoying message boxes that stop Firefox from closing.

It's not a virus, it's just stuff to scare you into buying stuff - stuff for Windows.
__________________
Mac Pro 2010: 3.33Ghz Hexacore + 24GB RAM + PNY GTX 760 2GB OC + Dell U2711 + 2xDell U2311H

Vylen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 06:36 PM   #14
Eva123
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Ok, thanks to all of your inputs. Again I was only really concerned because I have never met a pop-up that prohibited me from clicking on other applications or from even shutting down my computer.

As Badger^2 said, I will close, move on, and forget about it.

And I gotta say, thanks all for being so civil and informative. I gotta admit I was a bit hesitant to post because some forums I visited can get so nasty and condescending if you post something that is so obvious to them. I do usually research previous threads before posting but I couldn't find anything that resembled my issue because none of them mentioned that the pop up prevented them from shutting down or clicking on apps.

Anyways Thanks!
Eva123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 10:56 PM   #15
BigRedOne
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I clicked on an Image Shack Picture twice now and some "macClean" program pop's up and I ether push on on the pop up to clean my computer or I have to shut it down. I always shut it down, but no shady websites involved, infact one of the times I had to do this was when I clicked on an Image Shack Picture on MacRumors thread yesterday. It is really annoying when it happens, force quit doesn't work so the only option I know of is to shut it down, a real pain in the butt.
BigRedOne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2011, 12:37 AM   #16
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eva123 View Post
I just ran into something that I never experienced on my iMac Intel while on the internet. I forgot what link i clicked but when i did it closed my Firefox and a window popped up saying that a website, unfamiliar to me, requires a scan.
Read the scareware information in the following link:
Mac Virus/Malware Info
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2011, 11:37 AM   #17
Choctaw
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eva123 View Post
And I gotta say, thanks all for being so civil and informative. I gotta admit I was a bit hesitant to post because some forums I visited can get so nasty and condescending if you post something that is so obvious to them. Thanks!
Yes I know what you are talking about, i have been on both sides of that subject. It can and does happen here but mostly it is rare. It is much nicer when members understand that we are not perfect and don't always phrase our comments and questions like others think they should be. Nobody should receive a harsh reprimanding when they are just trying to communicate their views and needs. This forum is a great place for information and friendship. Good luck on keeping your iMac up and running.
Choctaw

Last edited by Choctaw; Apr 17, 2011 at 12:00 PM.
Choctaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make pop up window in browser appear on same external monitor ddublu OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Mar 20, 2014 12:21 PM
"USB Devices Disabled" Message Pop-Up fDelta MacBook Pro 0 Feb 12, 2014 06:44 AM
Safari AutoFill Pop-Up Window Stuck Pixelmage Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Dec 1, 2013 11:18 PM
pop up window freezes KDM76 iOS 6 0 Nov 7, 2012 12:52 PM
imessage window pop up! mikejd1 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Oct 3, 2012 08:56 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC