Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 3, 2005, 02:44 PM   #1
mcmike100
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Why Black Bars When Connect PowerBook to Monitor?

I just connected my 15" PowerBook to an external LCD (native resolution 1280x1024) for the first time and there are black bars on the top and bottom of the screen. I have the correct resolutions set for both devices in the Display area of System Preferences.

What's the problem?

Thanks
mcmike100 is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 03:01 PM   #2
superbovine
macrumors 68030
 
superbovine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmike100
I just connected my 15" PowerBook to an external LCD (native resolution 1280x1024) for the first time and there are black bars on the top and bottom of the screen. I have the correct resolutions set for both devices in the Display area of System Preferences.

What's the problem?

Thanks
You probably are connecting while your PB is own. That is normally what happens because the video card doesn't always know what is going on when you plug it in while it is one.
superbovine is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 03:05 PM   #3
Rod Rod
macrumors 68020
 
Rod Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Do you have spanning or mirroring on?

Did you click "Detect Displays"?
__________________
the year of HD
Rod Rod is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 03:10 PM   #4
mcmike100
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Yes, I hit Detect Displays. I have mirroring on. With spanning there are no black bars.

Superbovine, did you mean I have to connect the monitor with the PB off? I'd really rather not since I never shut it down, just sleep. I connect the monitor when it's asleep though.
mcmike100 is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 03:23 PM   #5
Rod Rod
macrumors 68020
 
Rod Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmike100
Yes, I hit Detect Displays. I have mirroring on. With spanning there are no black bars.

Superbovine, did you mean I have to connect the monitor with the PB off? I'd really rather not since I never shut it down, just sleep. I connect the monitor when it's asleep though.
In that case everything's fine. Your native resolution is 1280x854, so it's better that you have black bars for 85 lines above and 85 lines below when mirroring to your 1280x1024 screen, rather than having those 854 lines "stretched" artificially to 1024.

If you prefer those pixels to be filled up, either run your PowerBook with the lid closed or span.
__________________
the year of HD
Rod Rod is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 03:31 PM   #6
howard
macrumors 68020
 
howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
when i first read the title i thought it said black bears... hehe

terribly sorry for the useless post...
howard is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 04:57 PM   #7
therevolution
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2003
What you are experiencing is normal. Mirroring means exactly copying what is showing on your PowerBook to the external monitor, including resolution. If your PowerBook's resolution is 1280x854, then that's what you get on your external monitor. Since you cannot set the PowerBook's display resolution to 1280x1024, you will never be able to use all of the screen space on your external monitor when mirroring. As others have suggested, you can do spanning instead, or close the lid. Hope that helps.
therevolution is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 05:06 PM   #8
Rod Rod
macrumors 68020
 
Rod Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
There's an echo in here.
__________________
the year of HD
Rod Rod is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 06:27 PM   #9
Mavimao
macrumors 6502a
 
Mavimao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lyon, France
Uhh...yeah, so basically what's going on is that your external monitor is more square shaped than, like, your PB screen...so it's like watching a letterbox film...

Whoa...did like, someone already say this?

(PS: I couldn't help it...I had to!)
__________________
2.4 Macbook Pro, 200 HD. My last mac was a sawtooth...
Mavimao is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 08:59 PM   #10
mcmike100
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Thanks. I guess that makes sense but it's still pretty weird. So you're saying if I close my PB lid then it'll stretch to 1280x1024 on the monitor? Hmm, I guess I'll have to get a new keyboard then since mine is PS/2
mcmike100 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBP External Monitor Black Bars hammerklavier MacBook Pro 0 Apr 18, 2013 04:31 AM
Mac Mini with 16:9 monitor reverted to 4:3 (black bars) srs5694 Mac mini 0 Jan 9, 2013 06:18 PM
iphone white bars/black bars? duhyes iPhone 7 Jan 7, 2013 06:07 AM
iPhone: Black bars on folder bg JRDrew0309 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Oct 27, 2012 11:34 PM
Those two freaking black bars... tobiasfunke iPhone 82 Oct 9, 2012 12:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC