Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 13, 2011, 02:46 PM   #1
desantii
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
450W G5 Power SUpply

Can I use teh 450W supply in a dual 1.8? I will not be adding any extra cards aside form the video card. I know it specs a 600W one but just checking as I will not use any extra cards

thanks
__________________
13" MBP 2.8ghz i7, 16gb ram 160gb Intel 320 ssd
27" 3.4ghz i7 24gb ram 1tb hdd
G5 2.3DC 8gb ram 500gb hdd X1900
G4 MDD 1.5ghz 512mb ram
desantii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 03:04 PM   #2
Behemecoatyl
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
No. The CPUs alone can pull 400watts.
Behemecoatyl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 03:47 PM   #3
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemecoatyl View Post
No. The CPUs alone can pull 400watts.
400W? Where the heck did you get that from?

1.8GHz PowerPC 970 consumes 55W! Check the official IBM data sheet: http://datasheets.chipdb.org/IBM/Pow...erPC-970MP.pdf
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 03:56 PM   #4
Behemecoatyl
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
IBM's data has nothing in common with Apple's applications. All of Apple's G5 CPUs are overclocked beyond stock specs, this is especially true of every G5 over 2.0ghz.
Behemecoatyl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 03:59 PM   #5
Behemecoatyl
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=32486

Power Consumption
Idle 140w
Max 604w
Behemecoatyl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 04:01 PM   #6
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemecoatyl View Post
IBM's data has nothing in common with Apple's applications. All of Apple's G5 CPUs are overclocked beyond stock specs, this is especially true of every G5 over 2.0ghz.
1.8GHz is stock spec, no need to over-clock anything with this machine.
And even with over-clocking, 200W per CPU sounds completely unreasonable even for the 2.7GHz units.

I don't say it is not possible or that you're lying, I'd just like to see any reference for that.

Edit: There we go. Holy crap, that is pure insanity. I had a 2GHz dual myself and I never noticed that it was that bad!
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 04:03 PM   #7
superfula
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemecoatyl View Post
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=32486

Power Consumption
Idle 140w
Max 604w
The power consumption is for the entire computer. The processors still only pull 55W per, as Transporteur showed.
superfula is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 04:06 PM   #8
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by superfula View Post
The power consumption is for the entire computer. The processors still only pull 55W per, as Transporteur showed.
Can't be. If idle is 140 and 600 with maximum load, the CPUs alone can't only consume 110W. The 350 remaining watts can not be consumed by the ATI 9600. RAM, logic board and hard drives pretty much consume the same for load and idle, give or take.
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 04:12 PM   #9
Behemecoatyl
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Incorrect. Clearly you lack basic knowledge of logicboard operation so there is no point continuing to argue with you.
Behemecoatyl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 04:19 PM   #10
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemecoatyl View Post
Incorrect. Clearly you lack basic knowledge of logicboard operation so there is no point continuing to argue with you.
Why exactly do I smell 300D again? Came back for another ban?
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 04:22 PM   #11
desantii
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Well I for one decided to hunt for a 600W one I guess. ANyone have one?
__________________
13" MBP 2.8ghz i7, 16gb ram 160gb Intel 320 ssd
27" 3.4ghz i7 24gb ram 1tb hdd
G5 2.3DC 8gb ram 500gb hdd X1900
G4 MDD 1.5ghz 512mb ram

Last edited by desantii; Apr 13, 2011 at 04:31 PM.
desantii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 05:28 PM   #12
Behemecoatyl
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Smart move.
Behemecoatyl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 02:21 AM   #13
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by desantii View Post
Can I use teh 450W supply in a dual 1.8? I will not be adding any extra cards aside form the video card
450W will work fine. I've used 450W in 1.8, 2.0 and 2.3 Duals. Only avoid 6800 Ultra DDL. Any other graphics card will be OK.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G5 Power supply mark8 PowerPC Macs 8 May 17, 2014 01:20 PM
Going To The UK Need Power Supply Help nim6us MacBook Pro 2 Jan 3, 2014 12:24 PM
Can't power on early 2006 intel iMac, bad power supply or inverter? asterjj iMac 5 Feb 8, 2013 05:59 PM
MDD power supply G5 tower power supply? havokalien PowerPC Macs 7 Aug 12, 2012 02:46 AM
Power supply macjolt MacBook Pro 3 Aug 11, 2012 09:05 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC