Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 3, 2005, 06:19 PM   #1
kjdenison
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Send a message via AIM to kjdenison
MEDIUM RARE!!

I just posted about the DVD+RW drive and I have some EXTREME news. I had installed the new pioneer 109 drive and taken the old sony drive out and I decided to take apart the sony just to see what it looked like. THERE WAS A PIECE OF PAPER STUCK INSIDE! It was a ripped off little piece of yellow notebook paper that said medium rare, and not my handwriting what so ever, nor would it ever have gotten in there. I am willing to bet a lot of money it came shipped that way, and it was causing the laser not to be able to read any of the discs, and that explains the loud noises. WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO NOW?!?!?! I have a new Pioneer 16x drive that i got for about 100 bucks after shipping and everything, and a Superdrive that is slower. The Pioneer drive doesn't fit correctly but i can make it work kinda. Should I send back the Pioneer and just stick the Sony back in? ANY ADVICE?? This is really really bizarre, and my jaw is dropped.
kjdenison is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 06:37 PM   #2
Mr. Durden
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Colorado


Whenever I have a piece of useless equipment laying around, I just throw it on eBay. Even if you just get a little bit for it, its better than just sitting around gathering dust. Plus the faster drive is much nicer anyway.

Weird story though.
Mr. Durden is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 06:54 PM   #3
Abulia
macrumors 68000
 
Abulia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kushiel's Scion
Send a message via AIM to Abulia
You should start another thread using ALL CAPS in the title, cause this is a pretty serious issue, man.

Well, that's what I'd do.
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 (flashed 5,1) 6x3.33 GHz | 12 GB | 256 GB SSD RAID 0 | ATI 5870 | 27" Cinema Display
Abulia is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 06:59 PM   #4
kjdenison
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Send a message via AIM to kjdenison
Alright so newegg wont accept a return. That's crap. Sorry about all caps, i had a lot of adreniline from this whole situation, I wouldn't make a big deal about that. ha ha.
kjdenison is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 07:04 PM   #5
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjdenison
ANY ADVICE??
There are two keys on the keyboard that you should learn how to use.

1. "return" key -- use this to put some line breaks into your post.

2. "shift" key -- use this to stop SHOUTING at everyone.

---

Also telling people what computer you are talking about helps.

Because the advice you'd get for a iMac G4, eMac, PowerMac, etc. would vary.

For instance, there are a couple of different installation kits for the PowerMac G5 (which shifts installation height) -- plus removing the door bezel is almost a must.
__________________
On the seat back in front of you, you will find a “Panic Button”
If you press this button, we will ignore you, and work on saving the passengers who can calmly follow directions.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 07:29 PM   #6
evilernie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
EXTREME

Sorry, but this doesn't qualify as EXTREME news.

Maybe odd, but that's about it.
__________________
PowerBook G4 15" (Rev. D) 1.67GHz 2GB RAM 100GB HD 128MB VRAM
Dell 2005FPW Monitor
15GB iPod
evilernie is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 07:34 PM   #7
Anarchy99
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjdenison
The Pioneer drive doesn't fit correctly but i can make it work kinda.
i was told the pioneer dvr 109 and others worked fine in the g5 and fit right also i was told they use a dvr 106 stock in g5s
i wanna know cause im buying a g5 soon and was planning on the 109
Anarchy99 is offline   0
Old Mar 3, 2005, 07:48 PM   #8
howard
macrumors 68020
 
howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
i opened up my computer once and there were ewoks making egg salad sandwiches.


but seriously, thats not cool, if the sony one works fine now i'd try and take back the new one..otherwise through it on ebay.
howard is offline   0
Old Mar 4, 2005, 05:12 AM   #9
simie
macrumors 6502a
 
simie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sitting
You will have to take the front off of the 109 to get it to fit in a G5 Powermac - and you may have to in other Mac's as well.

What you can do, is to unlock the 109 and make it RPC 1 and then do the same with the Sony. The Sony is probably a Lite-On Drive rebadged so that would be easy to change.

I would get a external firwire box and stick the Sony in it - It's handy to have to a second drive when copying from one disc to another.

What you do with the drive depends in wether you can make use of it - don't forget if you have a PC as well as your Mac then you could put it in the PC.

Else sell the drive.
simie is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac Medium koulmj iMac 5 Apr 22, 2013 02:56 PM
i5 or i7 for medium user? theanimala Mac mini 13 Oct 24, 2012 05:07 PM
Medium write error?? WilliamBos Mac mini 2 Aug 19, 2012 08:11 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC