Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 19, 2011, 03:49 AM   #1
ngeharley
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Macbook Air 2011 flash memory for Windows

Just installed Windows 7 using parallels desktop 6, however the avaliable flash memory in Windows is only 64 GB, under Leopard I have the full 256 GB avaliable.
How can I get the full flash memory of 256 GB valiable also for Windows?
ngeharley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2011, 03:50 AM   #2
Legion93
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Death Star, Rishi Maze
Send a message via MSN to Legion93 Send a message via Skype™ to Legion93
Did you try going to disk utility and select the drive and partition it?
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" 2011 iPod nano 7th Gen iPhone 5 iPad 3
Legion93 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2011, 03:57 AM   #3
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by ngeharley View Post
Just installed Windows 7 using parallels desktop 6, however the avaliable flash memory in Windows is only 64 GB, under Leopard I have the full 256 GB avaliable.
How can I get the full flash memory of 256 GB valiable also for Windows?
Why do you need that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Legion93 View Post
Did you try going to disk utility and select the drive and partition it?
No, Disk Utility can't help with VM disk space assignments.
Disk Utility is for the disks you use, HDDs, SSDs, USB flash memory thumb drives and ODs.


As Windows is installed via VM, it gets a certain amount of disk space assigned from Parallels Desktop (or the amount you chose), and it can't be the entire capacity your SSD has, as VMs are stored in a file or several files (accumulating to 64GB in your case), thus having a Windows VM with 256GB would mean, the file(s) could be 256GB in size.

Again, why do you need the VM to have 256GB of disk space capacity?
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2011, 11:29 AM   #4
SR71
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Why do you need that?


No, Disk Utility can't help with VM disk space assignments.
Disk Utility is for the disks you use, HDDs, SSDs, USB flash memory thumb drives and ODs.


As Windows is installed via VM, it gets a certain amount of disk space assigned from Parallels Desktop (or the amount you chose), and it can't be the entire capacity your SSD has, as VMs are stored in a file or several files (accumulating to 64GB in your case), thus having a Windows VM with 256GB would mean, the file(s) could be 256GB in size.

Again, why do you need the VM to have 256GB of disk space capacity?
I too am wondering why you'd need all 256GB in a VM.
SR71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Air 2011 is the best Windows Notebook I've ever had kis Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 10 May 23, 2012 10:26 AM
Macbook Air or Mac Mini for home use Syvere Buying Tips and Advice 3 Aug 31, 2011 02:07 PM
10.7.1 Mac App Store - Does it work on 2011 MacBook Airs? gspannu Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 7 Aug 24, 2011 12:14 AM
MacBook Air 2011 Glitch/Bugs Thread KPOM MacBook Air 1 Jul 23, 2011 01:24 PM
Retina MacBook Airs -BigMac- MacBook Air 11 May 2, 2011 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC