Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 8, 2005, 03:39 AM   #1
nagromme
macrumors G5
 
nagromme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Thumbs up Hack: Upgrade your old V.90 Mac to V.92 (Modem-on-Hold) for free?

Maybe this is old news, but...

I had always thought that Macs with V.90 modems--like my 1st-gen eMac--were stuck with it. Newer Macs have V.92 modems, and they offer Modem-on-Hold, which is GREAT! With only ONE phone line, you can still get calls while online, and you can MAKE outgoing calls while online too. All you need is Call Waiting, which is cheaper than two lines. (If you also have Caller ID, a V.92 modem will even show the ID on screen.) I think V.92 has other advantages too--maybe connecting faster?

Anyway, I accidentally upgraded my eMac modem to V.92! I was online, got a call, and window popped up asking me if I wanted to take the call. While I was talking, it hit me: "my PowerBook can do this... but my eMac can't!"

Well, now it can Maybe someone knows exactly how to make it happen, but here's what did it for me:

My 15" Al PBG4 is my main system, and when I work on my eMac I like to use an exact copy of my PB: system, settings, home folder, everything. So I sometimes boot from my iPod Photo.

A few months ago (10.3.5 maybe?) I simply dragged my PB's System, Library and Users folders onto the iPod, hooked it up to the eMac, and it booted just great! Not just on the eMac but on several Macs while I was traveling. My PowerBook just got pocket-sized!

But THIS time (10.3.7) I tried the same and it would NOT boot. So I did the copy with Carbon Copy Cloner instead of just dragging (and let it copy all the invisible files), and I repaired Permissions on the iPod before booting from it. Now it does boot the eMac.

It also gives a couple warnings about kernel extensions when I log in, and a couple more when I dial the modem. That never happened last time--but that's OK, everything seems to work anyway.

And by booting from the PowerBook's copy of 10.3.7, the eMac now has V.92 Modem-on-Hold! (The eMac by itself is also running 10.3.7, but does NOT have Modem-on-Hold unless I boot from the iPod.)

So, something in my PB's system--maybe something new with 10.3.6 or 10.3.7--enabled V.92 on my eMac. I don't know what, and upgrading the eMac itself to 10.3.7 id NOT do the trick. But maybe it's a lead someone wants to pursue. Maybe there's some simple plist hack waiting to be found! Modem-on-hold really IS very handy.

Or maybe I'm just the last person to know that older Macs CAN be hacked to V.92

Last edited by nagromme; Mar 8, 2005 at 03:50 AM.
nagromme is offline   0
Old Mar 8, 2005, 01:23 PM   #2
Hemingray
macrumors 68030
 
Hemingray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ha ha haaa!
Very interesting! I wonder how the heck that's possible? Surely Apple wouldn't have crippled a MODEM of all things. I mean, a processor is one thing, but a MODEM? Too weird...
Hemingray is offline   0
Old Mar 8, 2005, 01:38 PM   #3
nagromme
Thread Starter
macrumors G5
 
nagromme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Perhaps V.92 hardware was ready before the software? Or I've managed some non-standard Frankenstein combination of V.90 and V.92?
nagromme is offline   0
Old Mar 8, 2005, 02:07 PM   #4
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
I was once told by an Apple technician that the iMac modem was unlike the PowerMac modem in that it was as much software as it was hardware. The eMac modem is probably like that too and just needed to be updated to a different protocol.

Too bad we can't update the earlier hardware in PowerMacs, too.
bousozoku is offline   0
Old Mar 8, 2005, 02:15 PM   #5
ravenvii
macrumors 604
 
ravenvii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Melenkurion Skyweir
Heh, modems. I went broadband back in 1998, and now can't imagine ever going back.
__________________
59 6F 75 20 73 70 6F 6F 6E 79 20 62 61 72 64 21
ravenvii is offline   0
Old Mar 8, 2005, 02:20 PM   #6
nagromme
Thread Starter
macrumors G5
 
nagromme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
True. But $10/month for dialup vs. $30 minimum for broadband comes to at LEAST $240 per year I can spend on other stuff That really adds up, year after year! I've easily saved thousands of dollars.

But one day I'll get sick of doing my downloads overnight, and I'll pay those thousands!
nagromme is offline   0
Old Mar 8, 2005, 03:07 PM   #7
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagromme
True. But $10/month for dialup vs. $30 minimum for broadband comes to at LEAST $240 per year I can spend on other stuff That really adds up, year after year! I've easily saved thousands of dollars.
If you only have one phone line, you're correct, but some people have a second phone line for dialup and fail to add the cost of the phone line to the ISP charges when comparing it to broadband.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0
Old Mar 8, 2005, 03:09 PM   #8
nagromme
Thread Starter
macrumors G5
 
nagromme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Correct. That's why this Modem-on-Hold thing is so nice!
nagromme is offline   0
Old Mar 8, 2005, 05:23 PM   #9
Hemingray
macrumors 68030
 
Hemingray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ha ha haaa!
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagromme
True. But $10/month for dialup vs. $30 minimum for broadband comes to at LEAST $240 per year I can spend on other stuff That really adds up, year after year! I've easily saved thousands of dollars.
Ahh yes, but at the cost of how much of your time? Overnight downloads aside, think of how many more web sites you could visit in the same amount of time with broadband!

Yes, I suppose I am addicted to the internet...
Hemingray is offline   0
Old Mar 9, 2005, 12:18 AM   #10
nagromme
Thread Starter
macrumors G5
 
nagromme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Thanks to tabbed browsing, the extra time I waste due to dialup is only valued at $17 per year
nagromme is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does preorder hold your upgrade? blackjackmark iPhone 10 Sep 14, 2013 03:51 PM
Texas Hold'em King [Free] James.Wilcox iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Aug 1, 2013 12:02 PM
Texas Hold'em King [Free] James.Wilcox iPad Apps 0 Aug 1, 2013 12:01 PM
Will I get a free upgrade if I buy a Mac now? Applefanboy8153 Buying Tips and Advice 2 Jun 11, 2013 01:24 PM
Hold on tight because the next iMac upgrade will be godly Puevlo iMac 37 Sep 2, 2012 03:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC