Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 29, 2011, 07:14 PM   #1
RICARDOVASCO
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
How to check Iphone 4(locked) firmware version

Hi there. I got an Iphone 4 from AT&T but its lokced. I need to buy a turbo SIM to unlock it once Apple has cancelled the regular unlocking by mobile companies in Brazil. Let me know how to check the firmware version on it because I can only do emergency calls. I've tried the same trick from the old Iphone like *#3001...etc... but I doesn't work. Let me know if I can find out the firmware because I need to know which turbo SIM works with my Iphone.
Thank you all!

Ricardo
RICARDOVASCO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2011, 07:56 PM   #2
scirica
macrumors 68020
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Open the phone and go to settings/general/about...
__________________
- iPhone 5s 64GB Space Gray iOS 8.1 Pangu 1.2 jb
- iPad "3" 32GB ATT/LTE Black iOS 8.1 Stock
scirica is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2011, 08:08 PM   #3
eastercat
macrumors 68040
 
eastercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX
If you order an AT&T sim off ebay, inactive or not, you should be able to get to the main screen.
__________________
64 GB space grey iPhone 5S (AT&T); 16 GB space grey iPad retina mini (Verizon with T-Mobile sim); 2014 rMBP 2.8 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Nvidia GeForce GT 750M
eastercat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2011, 08:09 PM   #4
RICARDOVASCO
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post
Open the phone and go to settings/general/about...
I can only make emergency call. Is it possible to acess settings..etc.. plugging the Iphone on computer ( itunes) even its locked?
RICARDOVASCO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2011, 08:28 PM   #5
Crystal-RX
macrumors 68030
 
Crystal-RX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by RICARDOVASCO View Post
I can only make emergency call. Is it possible to acess settings..etc.. plugging the Iphone on computer ( itunes) even its locked?
No. There are few options that you can do;

1. order an AT&T micro sim off ebay so you can insert into your phone, then hook it to itunes and it will bring your phone to home screen (As per eastercat indicated above). (Doesn't matter if it is active or inactive sim as long as it is AT&T, it is okay)
2. Hook it to itunes and hit restore, Itunes will restore your iphone to 4.3.2 firmware, you will then use redsn0w to jailbreak & hactivate it and it will bring your phone to home screen. By doing so, you know that your iphone has a 4.3.2 firmware on it.
Crystal-RX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2011, 08:36 PM   #6
RICARDOVASCO
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crystal-RX View Post
No. There are few options that you can do;

1. order an AT&T micro sim off ebay so you can insert into your phone, then hook it to itunes and it will bring your phone to home screen (As per eastercat indicated above). (Doesn't matter if it is active or inactive sim as long as it is AT&T, it is okay)
2. Hook it to itunes and hit restore, Itunes will restore your iphone to 4.3.2 firmware, you will then use redsn0w to jailbreak & hactivate it and it will bring your phone to home screen. By doing so, you know that your iphone has a 4.3.2 firmware on it.
Thanks! Actualy its my GF's mobile. Im not sure but I think it came with an At&T sim. I will confirm. Do you guys recommend any turbo sim to unlock it?

Regards
RICARDOVASCO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2011, 08:48 PM   #7
Crystal-RX
macrumors 68030
 
Crystal-RX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by RICARDOVASCO View Post
Thanks! Actualy its my GF's mobile. Im not sure but I think it came with an At&T sim. I will confirm. Do you guys recommend any turbo sim to unlock it?

Regards
I bought my from Sunsky and it work fine. At the time, I paid about $20 bucks/pc. If you go on Ebay and put in "Gevey", it will show you tons of this turbo sim. You can get it for under $13/pc including shipping.
Crystal-RX is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems finding firmware version on a locked iPhone 4 vincewentwrong iPhone 10 Oct 3, 2012 07:40 PM
how to check whether you iphone 5 is locked or not? Hpye iPhone 12 Sep 26, 2012 09:22 AM
Check what network iPhone is locked to without inserting SIM ? rak007 iPhone 10 Sep 19, 2012 01:48 PM
Determining what version of IOS firmware is installed on a passcode locked iPhone 4 h4lp m3 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Jun 7, 2012 02:32 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC