Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2005, 11:05 AM   #1
y0zza
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
iMac G3 (CRT) display resolution above 1024*768?

Hi,

I have an old iMac G3 500 that I've picked up for free to play around with. Unfortunately, the display tops out at 1024*768, which is like a severe case of tunnel vision to me --- my main desktop is at 1920*1440.

Is there any way to boost this max resolution? I know that the 8MB ATI Rage Pro inside can do higher than this, although the built-in CRT itself may not be happy at 1280*1024. As long as it can do 1280*1024 though, it doesn't matter about the refresh rate as I tend to use the machine via VNC anyway.

I've tried SwitchResX but it doesn't seem to do anything, even after a reboot, despite saying "settings will apply after reboot" or words to that effect. Anyone else here have any tips?

The main thing preventing me from tinkering with the iMac is its screen resolution. It's just too frustrating to use at 1024*768.
y0zza is offline   0
Old Mar 10, 2005, 01:55 PM   #2
Jigglelicious
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NYC
No, 1024x768 is the max resolution of the 15" display in the iMacs. It cannot be raised, although you can go lower to 800x600 and 640x480.
__________________
Powermac G4 Cube: 600MHz G4, 60GB Seagate Barracuda V, 1.5GB RAM, Pioneer DVR-K05 8x DVD-RW/DL, ATI Radeon 9200 128mb, SGI 1600SW 17" Widescreen
Jigglelicious is offline   0
Old Mar 10, 2005, 02:16 PM   #3
neoelectronaut
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
Care to share where and how you managed to get a free iMac?
neoelectronaut is offline   0
Old Mar 10, 2005, 02:58 PM   #4
y0zza
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Oh, that's a bummer..... Oh well, the main use for the machine is to sync up my iPod with iTunes anyway --- my main desktop runs GNU/Linux and iPod support on Linux is rather lacking at the moment.

I picked the iMac up from a pile of unwanted computer hardware at the university (Cambridge Uni). It's very old and slow, but works well enough apart from a dead hard disk, which I replaced with an old 120GB as well as bumping the RAM up to 512MB with some old PC133 sticks lying around.

I'll most likely be buying a Mac mini in the next month or two to tide me over until the PowerMacs are updated, whenever that will be.
y0zza is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac Thunderbolt Target display mode tanker5 iMac 2 Jul 3, 2011 06:25 PM
Screen Flickering on iMac G3 DV after upgrade to Mac OS X Coolmatt49 PowerPC Macs 3 Jun 19, 2011 02:43 AM
Imac as external display for MBP w/ Henge dock? meulemaster iMac 0 Jan 6, 2011 01:31 AM
2010 13" MBP and 24" LED Cinema Display resolution won't go above 1280x800 ratboy90 Mac Peripherals 1 Dec 11, 2010 04:29 PM
iMac 27" doesn't display full resolution on Apple Cinema Display El Jack iMac 2 Dec 24, 2009 09:51 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC