Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 5, 2011, 03:05 AM   #1
janitorC7
macrumors 6502a
 
janitorC7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Send a message via AIM to janitorC7 Send a message via Skype™ to janitorC7
Network Set Up Help

Hey guys,

Iím in a shared living environment at the moment where we are sharing a business class internet connection. All of the rooms are wired for internet and there are usually about 60 connections to the internet.

Hardware:
Modem
AirPort Extreme
2 Switches
7 Air Port Expresses

With this information, what would be the ideal set-up? If I want to preserve mostly internet speed and local transfers. Also, would I see any benefit from installing a gateway server?

I know that this is a lot of ask of you guys but I do really appreciate it.

Thanks
__________________
15" MacBookPro, 2.4 GHz, 2GB RAM, 500GB HD; 160 GB iPod Classic; 32 GB 3G S⃣
"The products suck! There's no sex in them anymore!"
steve jobs
janitorC7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2011, 07:35 AM   #2
Les Kern
macrumors 68030
 
Les Kern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Alabama
May need more info? It's almost like you're asking "I have eight fenders, a bumper, 6 sets of tires, three engines and a can of paint. What kind of car should I build and where should I park it?".
Les Kern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2011, 07:44 AM   #3
Darwin
macrumors 65816
 
Darwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: round the corner
Agreed, a little more detail would help.

I can only assume that a setup is already in place which would preserve the internet speed and local transfers. That setup is mostly wired from what I read and you possibly want to make use of Wifi. I'm also guessing that those 60 connections might be devices or services?
Darwin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2011, 05:08 PM   #4
janitorC7
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
janitorC7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Send a message via AIM to janitorC7 Send a message via Skype™ to janitorC7
Sorry I was half asleep when I wrote thisÖ

There is a network in place that looks like it was put together by 8 year olds. We have routers that are somehow being used as switchesÖ itís a mess.

We donít make that much use of the wired network to be honest. I would like to make more use of it, but, that is not really up to me. This was the first time that I had really looked at the network as it stopped functioning and I was asked to take a look at it.

At the moment there really are no services being hosted (unless you want to count a Time Capsule..), I would however like to add some security to the network, also a few services. Its about 30 computers, 20 phones, 10 misc.

I guess my question here is weather or not the AirPort really has the backbone to handle a network this large. When I have done networks this big Iím usually running it though a gateway to distribute DNS and IPís to the network and not making use of dedicated router hardware (So I;m usually using an XServe or Mac Pro in place of a router)Ö

So do you guys think that I need to convince the board here to upgrade to better hardware of should what we have be good?

JC7
__________________
15" MacBookPro, 2.4 GHz, 2GB RAM, 500GB HD; 160 GB iPod Classic; 32 GB 3G S⃣
"The products suck! There's no sex in them anymore!"
steve jobs
janitorC7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2011, 07:44 PM   #5
Coolestdude
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
What is the current utilization?

Typically phones are placed in their own VLAN.

What speed is the Internet connection?

Any connections to remote sites?

What type of loads are the various computers placing on the network?

What type of wiring is in place?

Do the switches/routers have UPS's?

Are there any bottlenecks that devices are currently experiencing?
Coolestdude is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Set Default network connection iFoggy OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jan 29, 2013 10:57 AM
OS X Server Home Network Set up Questions cmclean3 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 4 Jan 25, 2013 01:00 PM
Should I set Airport Express as client or extend the network? radiologyman Mac Peripherals 6 Jan 22, 2013 03:09 PM
New Airport Express set up to extend network but cannot see it Hero887 Mac Peripherals 1 Dec 18, 2012 09:01 AM
Chipset set fail. Network connection avionicsman iPad 0 Jul 24, 2012 10:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC